We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unusual, historic property with loads of space.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Tower
Thorpeness Meare
Thorpeness beach
Scallop Shell Sculpture
Aldeburgh
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blackwate...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In need of TLC”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Tower is a fantastic building, quirky and interesting. As newcomers to Suffolk we had a great family holiday, 3 generations in one holiday home. The area is somewhere we will come back to and highly recommend. Whilst we had a good time, there are some points that the letting agent should address.

Things that should be clear in the property description.
The parking whilst not in front of The Towers is more suited for average sized cars, anything like a people carrier or 4 x 4 will struggle to fit in the allocated space. Solution is to park close to The Towers (within 50m’s) on a side road. Garden is to the front of the property and quite small and to be honest difficult in terms of proximity to the kitchen, nor has the garden any lounging chairs. Wooden benches and tables provided, but no umbrella.

Issues to address
Kitchen, a little tired around the edges, kitchen chairs uncomfortable, and the table a little tight for a full house.
Frying pans need replacing, and were unusable.
Ironing board uncovered in one ground floor bedroom, along with the highchair and drying rack in a wardrobe, no instructions on where these were in the welcome book. Fridge door does not close properly so the inside of the fridge quickly freezes, as does your food.

Washer and dryer, in a dirty damp basement accessed from the opposite side of the building. Both machines raised so you cannot see where you are putting conditioner etc.

Beds on floors 2,3, and 4, mattresses well and truly worn out. Sofas and chairs in the sitting room, as per the mattress, springs and foam seen much better days.
Bathroom on 2nd floor for all bedrooms on 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors:- toilet kept breaking and then broke completely, meaning use of that toilet was either impossible or required a bucket of water to flush through.
The shower in that bathroom is over the bath only, therefore not a shower – solution for bedrooms on floors 2, 3 and 4, walk down spiral stairs to use one of the downstairs showers. Insufficient towel rails in bedrooms or 2nd floor bathroom for number of guests.

Sitting room on 2nd floor, all chairs padding/springs etc are well and truly worn out. One guest commented is there a comfy chair in this house. TV small for the size of the room, therefore sound from TV compromised

We left on Friday evening, as we couldn’t face another night on poor mattresses, with no toilet on 2nd floor and uncomfortable seating in the sitting room. I think that says it all really

How would I describe this house, so much potential but not quite there, we would not book this property again, but will come back to the area again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower. We appreciate feedback that enables us to improve things to ensure we get things right for our guests.

We were pleased to hear that you liked the setting and the surroundings. Unfortunately, parking during the peak holiday season is always a problem throughout Thorpeness. However, The Tower does provide some dedicated parking, this is off-road, for one large (eg estate or 4x4) car or for 2 small cars, and there is also the possibility of off-road space for one further car. As you mention there is usually space 50 m or so further down the road.

With regards to the garden we have had no previous expressions of concern about the garden. I am sorry you found this area quite small. The Tower is in a relatively open space and sunshades are at risk of being either ‘borrowed’ or blown away by a gust of wind.

The issue with the fridge door, this does in fact shut properly. It is just that the panel holding the door itself is very slightly warped and gives the impression of it remaining open.

We have taken on board your concerns about the relative comfort of chairs and beds. Several of these have been already replaced with new items where needed and there will be more space around the kitchen table.

Regarding the bathroom on the first floor, the description of the property states there is a shower attachment – there is nothing to indicate that this is a separate shower in this bathroom. Given the fact that there are already two showers elsewhere in the property there is no need for this.

We were very sorry that one of the toilets broke during your stay. Our maintenance team attended to this as soon as we were informed about it, but as you know, there was a need for a spare part to be obtained and this was not available locally. We kept you in touch with the progress of this but there was nothing more that we could of done until the replacement part arrived.

Your feedback is very important to us and we take all matters very seriously to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. If you should be thinking of returning to Suffolk we look forward to hearing from you at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingertig...
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual, historic property with loads of space.”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Helpful and attentive host, although we never met her. Unusual but interesting property with plenty of space. Kitchen well supplied with equipment and utensils. Clean but could have done with a lick of paint in places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Dear Jo
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Tower in Thorpeness. We are pleased you found the property interesting and unique from most properties. We are aware the property is in need of repainting in places, the owners are planning to undertake this after the busy summer season.
We do hope you will return to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch with us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf1908
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Such an interesting place to stay and so close to the beach and the lovely Meare. Couldn't have asked for more (apart from maybe some toilet paper as there was none, an oversight I'm sure) beautifully clean, generously equipped and very welcoming and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuffolkCl...
Suffolk, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Girls weekend away”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at The Tower in Thorpeness (Fri-Sun). There was nine of us in total. The house was fantastic. Very well equipped. Very clean and with a friendly touch such as towels and soap for us to use. I would thoroughly recommend this for anyone looking for a stay in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Hi Claire

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Tower in Thorpeness and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do get in touch if you are ever looking to stay in the area again.

Best regards
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing