We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family break & baby's first holiday!”
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Private secluded garden to enjoy
beautiful field views over farm land
private enclosed garden
south facing private gardens
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
dining to seat 10
covered out door hot tub
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
beautiful sunsets from balcony
open all year round
large bright rooms
large wide corridors
tastefully decorated
large spacious bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
89KB89
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful family break & baby's first holiday!”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful week stay at this fabulous property. We stayed as a family group of 8 (+2 dogs), with ages ranging from 5 months to 82. Although we are very local to the area, we decided on this property as we knew we would have a new addition to the family & didn't want to travel abroad or too far, to celebrate a very special 50th Birthday! Once we drove through the gates we could have been anywhere so it still felt like a real holiday for us, with the added ease of having home not too far away should there have been any issues with the baby.

Chris & Wendy were very welcoming from the start, with email enquiries & questions before our stay always answered quickly. One of the perks of being local also meant that a couple of us were able to pop by before check in to decorate with a few birthday balloons & banners. We were greeted with such a warm welcome & given a small tour at this time by Wendy & Chris, before the full tour when the rest of the family arrived. We loved the property from the moment we stepped in the front door & were then excited for the rest of the family to arrive as we knew they would love it too.

The house is fantastic & really seems to have it all. Another bonus (in our eyes) to being local meant we didn’t want to rush out during the day to visit any local attractions & instead just wanted to enjoy the relaxing break while utilizing all that Walnut House had to offer. Our days were spent enjoying leisurely swims, relaxing chats sat in the warmth of the hot tub, attempting to play pool, darts & table tennis (yes I know, I am awful at all 3 at these – my technique is more “hit it & hope” than skill!), sitting in the garden with our dogs lapping up the lovely sun we were very lucky to have & just enjoying taking it slow away from all the “jobs” we all had to do in our own homes. My little boy turned 5 months old while at the house & it was his very first holiday, he loved it & being able to take him swimming every day was so lovely. Chris even turned the pool temperature up a few degrees for us to make it that bit warmer for the baby.

The facilities at the house are plentiful & the kitchen is well stocked with everything you may need from frying pans to champagne glasses. We were delighted with our welcome hamper, which included butter, bread & other lovely goodies. The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean & light, with lovely en-suite bathrooms & comfy beds. The lounge diner was a great area to gather as a group & enjoy evening meals, all sat at the big table. The upstairs balcony was a wonderful sun trap & a great place to spot wildlife. The downstairs area was a great entertainment hub, with enough space for everyone to do their own thing if wanted.

We thoroughly enjoyed our family break here & im sure we will be back. What stood out over & above everything else was how welcoming & kind Chris & Wendy were, you only have to scan through the guestbook in the house to see this is a common theme to everyones stay. Good customer service goes an awful long way & we really felt as if nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for helping 4 generations enjoy a wonderful family break together. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyY5616...
Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful all round holiday accommodation”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners, Chris and Wendy, gave us a great welcome and had even decked out the downstairs room to reflect a birthday that we were celebrating. Throughout our stay they were very helpful but totally unobtrusive.

The property is exactly as advertised. The bedrooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The first floor living/dining area provides plenty of space and leads to a terrace overlooking open countryside. The lift makes it easily accessible for those with mobility problems.

The ground floor is excellent housing the games room (with Sky TV), swimming pool and hot tub. All of these facilities were well used during our stay.

Overall, this is an excellent property for groups and is well situated to access what the wider area has to offer. We will be looking to re-book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and extent of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0bbie78
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED>>>5 STARS!”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from our Family weekend at Walnut House and it was amazing. They have a Gold Star award from the English Tourist Board and it is richly deserved. The hosts, Chris & Wendy French are friendly, amiable and always at the end of the phone if you need any help. The indoor pool is perfect for adults and kids alike being roughly 4 ft deep all over; the hot tub is sheltered and well maintained and the bedrooms are tastefully decorated to an individual 'Boutique Hotel' style. If you are looking for a large 5 bed house with indoor pool, games room and hot-tub then look no further than Walnut House. You will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very high Standards
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haze537
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

This was the third time our group of five couples, not so young, had stayed at Walnut House. Wonderful holiday home. The place has always been very clean and the kitchen well equipped, with a welcome pack of bread etc. awaiting us on our arrival, sometimes some fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden. The owners are lovely people and always very helpful but very unobtrusive. We make good use of the pool table and have great fun in the swimming pool and the hot tub. Being able to listen to the music from the CD player whilst in the swimming pool is an added bonus. With a lounge upstairs as well as downstairs, there is plenty of room for everyone to have their own space if they want it. The lift between floors is a useful. And, lucky us, we are booked in for later this year for our fourth visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and the hot tub - but it was all great
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna139
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect Christmas!! ”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Wow!!! What a perfect place to spend Christmas with our family......8 adults,2 teenagers,1 14month old and a dog. Starting off with a very Christmasey welcome by Wendy and Chris with the house lite up with Christmas lights outside and beautifully decorated trees inside. A very generous welcome hamper and everything we could possibly need to make our stay a perfect and memorable one. We will definitely be returning to this absolutely beautiful house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy-Moo...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Me, my partner and my daughter (12) and son (18) and my brother, sister in law and their two sons all came to stay for 4 nights to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. We were warmly greeted by Wendy and Chris on arrival, and given a tour of the house. I was absolutely impressed with the house and it's beautiful decor and features, it felt very homely and relaxing. Wendy kindly decorated the function room with balloons and banners for my son's 18th birthday, what a lovely thing for Wendy to do, I will never forget the kind gesture. We also had a lovely hamper from Chris and Wendy with tea, bread,biscuits and various other things so we were able to relax with a cup of tea and sandwich before unpacking our suitcases. The children never got bored, having the swimming pool, pool table, darts, table tennis and hot tub.. as well as two tv's dvd player, freeview, there was plenty to do in the house. We definitely want to come back again without a doubt. Amazing house, lovely hosts and great location. Also, my son had a lovely birthday card, present and champagne from Wendy and Chris, I can't thank them enough for their hospitality and kindness.. absolutely wonderful! Best holiday ever! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Linda...
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ourselves, 2 daughters & their families stayed here for a week to celebrate our 70th birthdays.
The house & garden were even better than we expected. Wendy & Chris are the most delightful & hospitable owners. As many other guests have said, the facilities are superb, with spacious, beautifully decorated rooms & large gardens.
The indoor pool, hot tub & games room were particular highlights. From the balcony we enjoyed wonderful views & sunsets.
We had the most happy & memorable of holidays here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub & pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing