We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lazy,hazy,happy days,in a Perfect place....”
Walnut House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walnut House
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Walnut House
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Hot Tub
Private gardens
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Spacious bedrooms
Tastefully decorated
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Plenty of room to enjoy outside living
Private secluded garden to enjoy
private secluded gardens
beautiful field views over farm land
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
david b
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lazy,hazy,happy days,in a Perfect place....”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

.
April 27th, 2014 at 9:11 am
Being a lazy boy,i had not read the owners review for their property,and trusted in my son in laws good judgement of the holiday destination!I need not of worried, for as the private gates lazily swung open ,allowing us entry,my mouth fell open at the spectacular first impression of the luxurious place we,(nine adults and two children)were to stay in for that week.Chris ,the owner ,greeted us warmly,gave us advice for this and that around the house,(its not,its a mansion!),then lazily wandered of,in other words trusting us entirely,for us to unpack,hurriedly,of course!,and then unwind with a few chilled beers from the fridge,that hides underneath the curved,old-style bar nestled in the corner of the multi-function room,(for want of a better expression!)the week which persued was one of activity,then laziness,laziness back to activity,usually ended watching a burning sun dipping down into a hazy, misty, green horizon whilst sat upon the verandah,sipping tea,or usually something stronger!but the evening view is one to die for,quite beautiful.,ive holidayed at home,and abroad,as we all have,and to a man,and woman,of course!,we agreed that that weeks holiday,when it ended,to hurriedly of course!,was up there with the BEST we had ever had.we are already planning our next return,it cannot come soon enough….The property ,and the effort that Chris and his wife Wendy have put into it,to ensure their guests stay is a good one it is a credit to them.Dave Brown.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: upon wakening,wondering
Liked least: going to sleep!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaisyMayE...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation with excellent facilities”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed as a family group ranging from toddler to grandparents and this house is perfect, with lots of space for everybody. The whole house is immaculate, and the bedrooms are en suite, and are very comfortable. There are two large lounges, one upstairs which is open plan with a large kitchen and 10 seater dining table, and has a large wrap-round balcony with lots of comfortable seating and loungers. The second lounge is on the ground floor with pool table, darts, large TV/DVD system, and with entrance to the fabulous indoor pool with changing rooms/showers. There is a pretty garden with outdoor seating, and also a hot tub, much used and enjoyed, as was the pool which was spotlessly clean and very warm. There are two kitchens, one on each level so you don't even have to go upstairs to make a cup of tea, or indeed to pour a glass of wine. There is also a lift, which would make this property accessible to anybody with mobility problems, but is also very handy for luggage and shopping!
We have stayed in many holiday homes as a family but this one is outstanding, and the owners who live in a neighbouring property are extremely welcoming and friendly, and provide a welcome pack which includes fresh eggs from their own chickens.
We plan to return to this lovely house in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Poor wi-fi access
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hjc08
hjc08
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Have just returned from a lovely week with all the family at Walnut House for my mother-in-laws 50th - everyone really enjoyed it. It is a lovely house and very spacious (could easily sleep way more than 10 people), really well equipped and the facilities such as pool with shower rooms, hot tub, pool table, table tennis etc are great and mean there's always something to do if the weather is bad. The kids were in the pool every day and also loved watching all the wildlife in the field behind. Also cater very well for babies with good travel cot, stair gate and highchair which we made use of.

Owners are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. They also provided free eggs from their free range chickens as well as a selection of biscuits, tea, coffee, bottle of wine, cheese, bread, tomatoes and cucumber etc.

Ideal location for days out, places to eat and shops etc. Some lovely beaches and towns/villages not far away and tons of leaflets at the house for ideas.

Really easy to book and contact the owners by email in the run up to the holiday.

Would definitely recommend.

The only thing we would suggest to improve it is better wifi connection (we could only get on it while sitting at the bar) but this wouldn't bother some people.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Heated pool
Liked least: Poor wifi signal
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan P
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Place to stay with friend's and family”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we had a fantastic week staying in this great place with plenty to do every day and we are talking about booking it again next year if we can. We spent alot of time swimming in the pool or lounging in the the Hot Tub or playing on the pool table which was used everyday.
The beds were really comfortable and there was everything you could need in the Kitchen. Wendy & Chris have thought of everything and were great hosts, there was a welcome pack for making cups of tea and stuff in the fridge to make sandwichs on arrival, as our friends were celebrating their 25th Wedding anniversary they even brought over a bottle of champagne for them which was a lovely touch. We would recommend this property as it has everything you could possibly want for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A H
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Walnut House after a particularly hard year - it was just what the Doctor ordered!
Everything was perfect. We'd picked it, because we needed somewhere that was big enough to stay in for a week, without getting bored!
Wendy and Chris were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
We went with two children, one of whom was a powered chair user, my wife and I and my mother in law. There was plenty of space and fantastic facilities.
And attention to detail was amazing - everything was thought of - from a nice bottle of fizz on arrival, to a plentiful wood store for the roaring log fire - from fresh free range eggs to a massive jacuzzi.
Walnut House is perfect and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina2312
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Looking to go back! Still talking about our stay one year on!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed with my friends for my 40th birthday. Wendy and Chris the hosts could not have done more for us, always on hand. The cleanliness of the house was second to none and there was even welcome pack of food when we arrived! Really can't fault our stay. Highly recommended .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$465
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing