We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding accommodation with excellent...”
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Private secluded garden to enjoy
beautiful field views over farm land
private enclosed garden
south facing private gardens
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
dining to seat 10
covered out door hot tub
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
beautiful sunsets from balcony
open all year round
large bright rooms
large wide corridors
tastefully decorated
large spacious bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaisyMayE...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation with excellent facilities”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed as a family group ranging from toddler to grandparents and this house is perfect, with lots of space for everybody. The whole house is immaculate, and the bedrooms are en suite, and are very comfortable. There are two large lounges, one upstairs which is open plan with a large kitchen and 10 seater dining table, and has a large wrap-round balcony with lots of comfortable seating and loungers. The second lounge is on the ground floor with pool table, darts, large TV/DVD system, and with entrance to the fabulous indoor pool with changing rooms/showers. There is a pretty garden with outdoor seating, and also a hot tub, much used and enjoyed, as was the pool which was spotlessly clean and very warm. There are two kitchens, one on each level so you don't even have to go upstairs to make a cup of tea, or indeed to pour a glass of wine. There is also a lift, which would make this property accessible to anybody with mobility problems, but is also very handy for luggage and shopping!
We have stayed in many holiday homes as a family but this one is outstanding, and the owners who live in a neighbouring property are extremely welcoming and friendly, and provide a welcome pack which includes fresh eggs from their own chickens.
We plan to return to this lovely house in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Poor wi-fi access
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hjc08
hjc08
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Have just returned from a lovely week with all the family at Walnut House for my mother-in-laws 50th - everyone really enjoyed it. It is a lovely house and very spacious (could easily sleep way more than 10 people), really well equipped and the facilities such as pool with shower rooms, hot tub, pool table, table tennis etc are great and mean there's always something to do if the weather is bad. The kids were in the pool every day and also loved watching all the wildlife in the field behind. Also cater very well for babies with good travel cot, stair gate and highchair which we made use of.

Owners are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. They also provided free eggs from their free range chickens as well as a selection of biscuits, tea, coffee, bottle of wine, cheese, bread, tomatoes and cucumber etc.

Ideal location for days out, places to eat and shops etc. Some lovely beaches and towns/villages not far away and tons of leaflets at the house for ideas.

Really easy to book and contact the owners by email in the run up to the holiday.

Would definitely recommend.

The only thing we would suggest to improve it is better wifi connection (we could only get on it while sitting at the bar) but this wouldn't bother some people.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Heated pool
Liked least: Poor wifi signal
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan P
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Place to stay with friend's and family”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we had a fantastic week staying in this great place with plenty to do every day and we are talking about booking it again next year if we can. We spent alot of time swimming in the pool or lounging in the the Hot Tub or playing on the pool table which was used everyday.
The beds were really comfortable and there was everything you could need in the Kitchen. Wendy & Chris have thought of everything and were great hosts, there was a welcome pack for making cups of tea and stuff in the fridge to make sandwichs on arrival, as our friends were celebrating their 25th Wedding anniversary they even brought over a bottle of champagne for them which was a lovely touch. We would recommend this property as it has everything you could possibly want for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A H
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Walnut House after a particularly hard year - it was just what the Doctor ordered!
Everything was perfect. We'd picked it, because we needed somewhere that was big enough to stay in for a week, without getting bored!
Wendy and Chris were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
We went with two children, one of whom was a powered chair user, my wife and I and my mother in law. There was plenty of space and fantastic facilities.
And attention to detail was amazing - everything was thought of - from a nice bottle of fizz on arrival, to a plentiful wood store for the roaring log fire - from fresh free range eggs to a massive jacuzzi.
Walnut House is perfect and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina2312
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Looking to go back! Still talking about our stay one year on!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed with my friends for my 40th birthday. Wendy and Chris the hosts could not have done more for us, always on hand. The cleanliness of the house was second to none and there was even welcome pack of food when we arrived! Really can't fault our stay. Highly recommended .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0bbie78
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended 5 Bedroom House”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

So many positive reviews for Chris and Wendy and their fabulous Walnut House and I endorse them all!

They are a lovely couple who welcome you so warmly to the house and show you round, pointing out the many features with obvious pride. Their Gold Award confirms the outstanding effort they put in to presenting this property.You will find it hard to find something better!

Our use of the house involved my immediate family, 9 adults and 2 new grandchildren for our annual post Christmas get together. For this weekend we are only concerned with spending time together, cooking, eating,drinking, playing and relaxing and for this Walnut House was perfect.

To make use of the fabulous facilities I devised several competitions involving Pool, The Swimming pool, Quizzes etc all to be completed during the course of the weekend with individual trophies and an overall Winners Trophy .Walnut House was perfect for this.

We made full use of the 2 immaculately presented and equipped kitchens, cooking lasagna and salad Friday night, a BBQ Saturday night and a lovely Sunday lunch of roast lamb with all the trimmings. To have the space for all the family to eat together in such comfortable surroundings is a real pleasure.

And so to bed, to the individually styled, 4 en- suite bedrooms and 1 next to the family bathroom. Once again, large comfortable, warm and oozing style. Views from the bedrooms and outside Balcony are stunning.

Chris & Wendy French have put so much effort into this house, so that we can enjoy a taste of luxury......and it works! Thank you both very much.
Highly Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size and luxury of Walnut House
Liked least: there is nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing