We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views.”
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was a sad occasion that brought us to Suffolk. We stayed for two nights at this hotel, picked for its location to cemetery we were to attend.
On arrival the receptionist was cheerful, helpful and did not rush us, even though I did ask for two key cards, which she had to redo as most customers only have one.
Also we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was very spacious and a nice surprise. The bathroom was roomy with a shower over the bath, nice towels, a towel warmer that worked and the usual shampoo, shower gel, soap, shower cap and hair drier etc. Everything was clean & tidy which is an important thing to me.
The room was warm and inviting, the bed and pillows were comfy and the tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits were replenished each day.
The television had a good reception and the usual free view channels, also wifi was available.
The views from our room were spectacular and in the summer this would be a superb place to stay.
May I add that the signs on the hotel coming from the direction we were travelling need to be illuminated and made more visible. It is very easy to miss, even with a sat nav.
The breakfast was varied and very nice, the usual choices for an full English breakfast. Fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and toast were also available.
The evening meals need to be ordered early as we dined at 7.30 pm and most favourite choices were unavailable, as was the treacle sponge pudding on both days.
The Bar and restaurant staff were friendly and very helpful.
All in all a very pleasant stay brought about by a very sad event.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    147
    97
    38
    29
See reviews for
116
202
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for a Friday night a few weeks ago. Room was a good size, bed was comfortable, pillows were great!!
Bathroom was a good size ,loads of hot water and a shower that worked well.
Room overlooked the car park and road/footpath. I am sure though you can book a "room with a view".
We wanted to book a table for dinner, so emailed the hotel. Had a very quick reply to say that it was done, and it was.
No internet that evening or following morning. Reception told us it was because of all the rain and someone was coming to fix it.
That was the only let down.
Breakfast was fine, all the usual items, well cooked and well presented.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great views of The Boards from some of the rooms, no doubt you have to pay for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The major selling point for this hotel is its location on Oulton Broad. The views are fantastic. We booked a suite with view as there were three of us and we had plenty of room and a balcony. We ate in the restaurant and the food is pretty bulk standard pub fare but the breakfast buffet is nice. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently held my wedding reception there and the whole experience was amazing. The staff, especially the function coordinators lindsay and oli were brilliant and very professonal. The whole atmosphere in the brown boat suite was fantastic, I highly recommend the wherry hotel for any event or stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmicash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very friendly reception. Upgraded to a very spacious and comfortable room but the noise from the hotel's ventilation system was very intrusive late at night. Didn't eat in the restaurant as it was very busy and noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor after looking for a business stop for myself and a colleague. Although only booking standard doubles, the receptionist gave us lake-view rooms which were excellent, with their own balconies looking straight over the Broad and the boats. Great running routes from the hotel round the small park and out into the fens, along marked trials. The food is decent pub grub rather than haute cuisine, but it hits the spot for a night's stay, and is very popular with locals and visitors alike. Pretty good breakfast too... we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely location right on the water front. Very friendly helpful staff and the large accessible room had a wet room - some don't. Breakfast was excellent and so was the carvery. A walk round the Broad gives lovely views and there's a cafe for a drink or ice cream. Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opera-lover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
36 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Property: Wherry Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing