We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely carvery”
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Reviewed August 17, 2013

lucky enough to get the last mooring which cost a tenner but 5 pound refund on food that evening. booked for a party of 9 and glad we did as it was very busy, however the staff were friendly and the carvery was well stocked even though we were eating towards the end of service. others in the party chose dished from the menu other than carvery and also enjoyed. power boat racing on the night we were there. choice of 4 meats on the carvery, 2 potatoes abd 5 or 6 veg, along with yorkshire pudds and sausages - good value and very tasty. pudds were on display in a chilled cabinet - hot pudds also available. all in all a good night

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asmababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 513 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We didn't use the hotel as such but did have a drink in the bar as we moored our boat up overnight. The mooring fees are £10 a night but if you plan to eat there you will get £5 off your meal. You can top up your water here free and just over the other side of the bay there is a Pump out facility. The staff seemed quite cheery and there is a nice park for the kids not to far away from there which will keep them occupied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall hotel was very good , and clean. Our room could have been better as we were over the kitchen and had noisy fans right outside, the room was clean and nicely furnished, the big downfall with room was no air conditiioning or fan, it had a big velux window but it let all the noise in from fans. the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant at night, the carvery was absolutely lovely, my husband and son both ordered of the main menu the food was nice but the portions could have been better, we had breakfast in the morning which we could not fault, very nice all fresh and hot. Would stay here again but would pay that bit extra to get a better room. The location of hotel is lovely, on a sunny day it is great sitting outside looking at the boats.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My Wife and I booked a 5 night stay using the online offer and were very impressed by the quality of this hotel. We were greeted cheerily and given a very clean and spacious room overlooking the broad. The evening meals, lunches and breakfasts were all fine and we think this is very well-run hotel which makes a good base for exploring the area or just relaxing watching the boats.We will be returning.

Room Tip: Waterfront room is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

When you arrive at the hotel it is right on the broads & near the local railway station & appears very well presented outside. The lady at reception was very happy, positive & helpful & the checking in process went seamlessly. We arrived in our room which was a double room which they'd put a put up bed in for my daughter. It was a well decorated & maintained room with what appeared to be a recently refurbished bathroom with a shower.
It was nice & quiet had all the usual tv & tea/coffee facilities.
The only problem that we experienced was the free wifi available to all guests was unobtainable I suspect due to not being able to cope with demand which they could do well addressing.
We had a good nights sleep on a comfy bed.
The next morning we went for the included breakfast which had a wife choice of cereals, croissants, fruits, yoghurt & the obligatory cooked breakfast. All of which were quite nice. Although they may wish to change sausages which tasted quite fatty & "catering" style bland ones.
When we were ready to check out it again went seamlessly & we felt valued.
Overall it was a good experience & I would stay there again:-)

Room Tip: I phoned / emailed the hotel direct and received a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We are here for a week for the fourth year running. Hotel had a major upgrade about 2 years ago. Rooms are great. Very light ans spacious. Get one with a view and you will not regret it. Every thursday in the summer you can sit on your balcony and watch powerboat racing!!!!

Food excellent quality.


As a family hotel it is hard to beat.

The Milfords.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambinoantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel overlooking Oulton Broad. My wife and I often cruise on the broads and we would have tried this hotel as stopping place but always had problems mooring. On this occasion we went by car, and what a great two nights it was. Room was clean, food was very good and the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Compared to the facilities and service you get with the so-called budget hotels, such as Premier Inns, for the money this hotel is in a different league. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilpshireRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range: $64 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing