We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food”
Review of Wherry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wherry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped briefly for some food and had starters of nachos and mushroom and we both had cod and chips.

All food was fantastic, nice and fresh, hot and served on hot plates, the fish was exceptionally good.

Drink prices are a little steep but food priced very reasonable for the portions supplied.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank royaldaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    147
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
117
202
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION. AN Impressive looking building with a good view over oulton broard.
Check in went smooth and a warm welcome from the receptionist, I was allocated a room on the second flooor, which over looked another building a car park and part view of Oulto Broard.
The room was bright and airy exceptionally clean apart from a blonde hair on the over sheet, i would say the room was slightly cramped, as there was not a lot of room to place my travel bag it was too big to fit in the small wardrobe, so it had to be left across the door when i was in the room,
as there was not a lot of floor space left.
tea and coffee facilities in the room also biscuits, a desk and chair hairdryer in the drawer of the desk, the bathroom was also bright and airy, with complementry toileteries small as they were.
there is a towel rail in the bathroom which you have to be a contortionist to set the temparature, having to kneel down with your head almost in the toilet that is, there was a long black hair on the bathroom floor the day i arrived, it was still there the day i left along with the blonde hair on the bed. I am bald so neither one of them was mine, which leaves the question ? how well are the rooms cleaned on a dayley basis.
Iate in the hotel 3 nights the restaraunt is very busy especially for the carvery, which i ate on 2 occasions on the first night i had beef and the chef gave me a more than generous portion may i add the veg is fresh and crisp and does not stand long as it is refreshed regularly because of the amount of people eating there.
oh i have to add that the walls must be very thin as you hear everything from the corridor also doors banging and other rooms showers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The bar in this hotel used to be my watering hole when I lived in Lowestoft up to 35 years ago, and my wife and I have since stayed at the Wherry when visiting our friends in Oulton Broad town.
This time our stay was even better. The rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard for a three-star hotel. We had a corner room with views looking towards Lake Lothing and of the Oulton Broad itself - wonderful!
See:
http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?hl=en-GB&rlz=1T4GGNI_en-GBGB449GB449&q=Lake+Lothing&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=0x47da1a55d7b0f19f:0x2a0e1ca91c12f860,Lake+Lothing&gl=uk&sa=X&ei=_HeWUZ62HcaM0AXEvIGoCQ&ved=0CK4BELYD
and:
http://www.wherryhotel.com/
There was a very good selection of dishes for breakfast. Also the carvery lunch and evening meals are excellent.
All the staff were first class, from Bob in maintenance (who helped us to clean up a travel disaster we had!) to Sally and her colleagues in reception.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A front-facing room is well worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After a hectic Friday had a walk into Oulton Broad to grab something to eat and tried the Wherry. The atmosphere was different due to the open plan nature of the bar come restaurant .People walking passed with plates full of food while standing at the bar was something I have not experienced before.
The staff took our order and we found a seat in the big restaurant which was clean and tidy and serviced by enough staff. Carvery look usual fair and tasted good but vegetables were watery.
Whole experience was enjoyable and would go back but there are better in area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have just been for a carvery which for £7-99 for 2 courses was worth every penny ! and the stunning views of the broads are a must to go and walk around as well as eating at the wherry the service was also exelent by the lunch time staff friendly and quick x

Room Tip: we never stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

on a are evening we thought we would dine out and what a great choice we made,this carvery is excellent,so good infact we have been back several times since,great value for money and scrummy food,desserts are to die for also,well done the wherry,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossyHalesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to enable us to meet with some of his family and not put anyone's nose out of place by not staying with them. Our room was lovely, clean and fresh although the hotel has within the year had a good refurb. The decor in the bedroom was plain but tasteful with a couple of pictures and a very comfy bed. We had the most amazing view from our room over looking the wonderful Broads. We ate in the main restaurant with the family but no one had the carvey only ordering from the main menu. We had one or two small issues but upon speaking with the manager these were soon rectified. The location is wonderful with plenty of wine bars, pubs and restaurants/snack places to eat at and all within a short walking distance. Just a short drive from the Lowestoft beach with Gt Yarmouth to the north and Southwold to the south and Norwich City centre only a 25-30mins drive away. This was excellent value for money with a full English breakfast included. Wouldn't hesitate to book and stay here again

Room Tip: Pay just a little more to have a room with a view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1964_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulton Broad
0.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
37 reviews
9.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherry Hotel

Property: Wherry Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Oulton Broad NR32 3LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Broad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton Broad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wherry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Oulton Broad, the Wherry Hotel offers comfort, friendly service and exceptional views over the Broad. As a business venue, or a place to enjoy a relaxing stay, the Wherry Hotel offers traditional hospitalilty and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wherry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wherry Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing