We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class!”

Review of Camps Heath Barn

Camps Heath Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Camps Heath Barn
The entrance hall.  The entrance hall has comfy sofa's and chairs and a working wood burner. Entrance Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Camps Heath Barn
The entrance hall.  The entrance hall has comfy sofa's and chairs and a working wood burner.
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Kitchen Dining area. The table is large and cab seat 12. There's also a breakfast bar and bench/sofa
Dining Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Outside
Front Garden
Entrance
View of Barn. The Barn is surrounded by Suffolk Wildlife Trust marshland
Balcony with seating which overlooks the marshes
Balcony. The Balcony is west facing and catches the sun most of the day with spectacular sunsets too
Twin room
Attic Room
Family Room 1st floor a 2nd bed pulls out to sleep 2 and stairs lead up to a double bedroom in attic
Family Room
Ground floor wetroom
Surrounding area
Surrounding area
Surrounding area
The Barn at night
Winter at the Barn
Entrance in the winter
Lounge area
Lounge TV area
Lounge dining
Mezzanine Lounge
Double Bedroom
View from Balcony
Attic room
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denisedow...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top class!”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just spent a wonderful weekend here for a family birthday. The barn was amazing & the photos do not do it justice!
All of the bedrooms were spacious & ensuite facilities fab.
The kitchen is so well equipped & the large table comfortably sat the 10 of us. The large lounge upstairs was equally comfortable with more settees in top lounge! The entire conversion has been so well done & so much attention to detail.
There's seating outside & on the upstairs balcony where we could watch the horses, sunset, soooo many stars & even a fly-by from a local owl!
We had caters provide a buffet on the Sunday that were recommended by the owners & the food was great.
All in all a great place to explore the area or simply stay there to enjoy the company with a drink or too!
Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Many thanks for your review Denise - so glad you and your family had such a nice weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Exceeded Our Expectations - Can't Wait to Return”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a wonderful weekend at Camps Heath Barn. A great place for all ages. Our party was aged between 1 and 78 years with two dogs. The Barn is very well equipped and cosy. Lots of nice touches, a cupboard full of games, good range of DVDs, books and even musical instruments. TV in lounge and kitchen dining area. Lovely outside space, one garden area is enclosed and the other open with a BBQ area. Kitchen has dishwasher and large fridge plus dining area seating 12. There is a fully equipped utility room with washing machine, dryer etc. and lots of cleaning materials are supplied. The Barn is in a great location if you want to get to the beach, Oulton Broad, explore further a field, restaurants etc. Lots of lovely countryside for walks. The owners are extremely helpful and nearby if help is required. The Barn felt like a much loved home and we all loved staying there. So much so that we hope to return next year - can't wait!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing New Year Retreat”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

After months of searching for the perfect location for 6 adults, 5 kids and 4 dogs, we eventually stumbled on this barn and I am so glad we did. We were the first to arrive and we were greeted by Jan, who made us feel very welcome and gave us the guided tour. Where do I start, the location is short drive from Lowestoft and Hopton-on-Sea beaches, were we had a fabulous time, despite the weather, added to that, it is situated on Oulton Broads which is a widlife trust reserve, so there are some great walks on your doorstep. There are convenience stores within a 5 minute drive and some great pubs and diners (recommend The Commodore) good food and child friendly. The barn has everything from lots of rooms and hideaways so everyone could have their own space when required, a nice balcony, great log burner with an endless supply of logs, good kitchen area with a huge dining table, wash rooms, games cupboards and equipment, everything you need for a perfect retreat. We would definitely book again, good value for money. Dog owners please be aware there are a few rules to follow, we were a little ignorant to these and were reminded, otherwise a big well done to Jan for creating such a great holiday retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2017
Many thanks for the review and feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Camps Heath Barn. We are dog friendly but we do have house rules for dog owners and we always ask guests if they will be bringing dogs as part of the booking process. If dogs will be staying we always confirm agreement of the house rules upfront at the time of booking and prior to the stay. We will request in future that the person making the booking needs to pass on and agree the rules with any other members of the group bringing dogs also to ensure that all are aware.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurelhei...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Camps Heath is just wonderful. Especially for family groups.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

All 10 of us agreed that this was one of the nicest places we had all met. There was room for all of us to feel uncrowded. With the three seated areas we all seemed to melt away when we felt like it and yet enjoy time together in small and full groups. There were plenty of games in the cupboard to keep us entertained. The only thing I can think of that we had to do for ourselves was use a laptop in order to run a DVD on the upstairs TV.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property
Liked least: Having to clean up the kitchen after a meal for 10
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferray
1 review
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a long weekend away at Camps Heath Barn. In our group was 11 adults (majority 30s) and 5 young children (1 x 3 months, 1 x 18 months, 2 x 4 years, 1 x 8 years).
This was a fantastic trip, and a real escape from the reality of daily life.
The barn itself was immaculate, and so much had been thought about. The kitchen was full of utensils, pots and pans etc. The decor was lovely, and the sofas in the lounge and the second floor lounge were all very comfortable. The barn was big enough so that nobody was under anyone's feet. There was plenty of space if you fancied quiet time, and then plenty of space for us all to gather and eat dinner in the kitchen, or socialise in the lounge.
The bedrooms were all great, especially the family rooms that have two floors to them.
It has the best of both worlds; it's in the middle of nowhere which gives that complete escape to the country feel (long walks, peace and quiet etc) but also only 10 minute drive from a hub of activity.
The views from the balcony were stunning too!
Would 100% visit again and recommend this as a retreat

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space it offers (and also the balcony views)
Liked least: When we had to leave and return to normality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stunning barn in a beautiful location.
Owners very welcoming and nothing too much trouble! Spent the weekend at the barn with extended family to celebrate our mums 70th birthday! Kitchen was very well equipped and enjoyed our meals round the large table. Lovely wood burner in the hall which was very cosy. Musical instruments a big hit with the children young and old! Plenty of games, books, DVDs and playing cards to keep the whole family amused. Stunning nearby walks which was a big hit for Bisto the dog. Enjoyed a visit to Lowestoft beach for picnic, sand castles and kite flying and a river cruise on oulton broads, must say we were very lucky with the weather!!
A fantastic weekend enjoyed by all an will hopefully find an excuse to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunseeker...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect place to gather together”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After a warm and friendly meet and greet with the owner my family began the weekend celebration for my sister's 60th birthday. The barn is ideal - the rooms are spacious and very comfortable and the entire barn well equipped, including games, books,musical instruments, DVDs. The kitchen was one of our favourite gathering places with its huge long table and sofa.
The barn is ideally placed for lovely walks along the Broads and although we intended using the local pubs, we were so happy and cosy in the barn that I'm unable to give an opinion on them. A gem of a find. We'd all love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed attitude of the owner put us at ease
Liked least: WIFI reception wasn't great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing