We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit special.treat yourself”
Review of Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Brewood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit special.treat yourself”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A beautifully restored hotel in the centre of Brewood,an award winning best kept village.
We have visited here for birthday celebration meals several times and since the new chef Phil arrived have never been disappointed. An Interesting and varied menu giving plenty of choice with quality locally source ingredients ... Just what we are looking for when out celebrating with friends and family.

Room Tip: Never stayed but set in a charming village with friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfoxall67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
25
69
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been to The Lion a lots of times thought I would write a review.
Had lunch this week with a friend, its was lovely. Fresh, tasty and a good portion.
Service was great and staff very friendly and helpful (as usual).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thanks to all the staff and chefs for making a wonderful occasion for our family birthday. Services was attentive and friendly- super round table just off the main restaurant made us feel very special. We were welcome to bring decorations and balloons. The food was superb- special mentions for the roast beetroot, goats cheese and glazed walnut starter and the delicious potted salmon. Specialist bread from the local bakery with olive oil and balsamic vinegar reduction came to the table first- lovely touch! Mains were generous and delicious too- fish and chips - the stars were the chips- crispy outside, fluffy inside. Those who had steak were more than happy and we were all most complimentary of the level and sophistication of the food and presentation. Chef was happy to serve the birthday cake we had brought with us and went the extra step of presenting it beautifully for us. We could not have asked for more. Big thank you for all yo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs1avocet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming hotel each room is individual. The Bar/restaurant serves simple good locally sourced food. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly making the Lion a relaxing place to stay. I had a minor hitch with wifi access but that was corrected by the staff.
The restaurant has an excellent value early bird menu if ordered before 6:30. The breakfasts have been excellent including all the usual suspects from full Traditional English to continental.
There is no air conditioning however the building is quite airily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorbens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and a friend had a lovely evening at the lion last night. We had the duck starter which was beautifully presented and was delicious. For my main I had the tiger prawn linguine which was the best I have had anywhere. Never seen so many prawns in a linguine, plenty of it and delicious! For our sweet we both had the cheeseboard which was beautifully presented with crackers, celery, a delicious nut crackle and chutney. We enjoyed a couple of bottles of prosecco and the liqueur coffees were beautiful. Will, our waiter was very pleasant and helpful. Lovely restaurant with a lovely atmosphere. We will definitely be returning. My daughter and her boyfriend are off to try the early evening menu in the week. Keep up the good work chefs and staff and thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croyde1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overall presentation wonderful. Staff Lovely. Food bland and tasteless such a shame. Ordered cesar salad to be charged £10.50 for a few lettuce leaves croutons and a very small piece of chicken no parmesan shavings and no cesar dressing!! When asked for cheese and dressing i was bought boxed sprinkles of parmesan. Very dissapointing. Four of us dined here and we were not impressed one bit.

If you want a lovely tasty meal try the littleton at penkridge. Exceeds the Lion in taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on a saturday lunchtime needing refreshments. Headed to the outside courtyard. Smoking area stank of stale cigarettes and nothing was done to cover the refuse bins out if site. Staff used the gate on rear and left open so all passing pedestrians and drivers could view in. Food was lovely. Nothing could have improved quality. Chefs brill. Service was poor. Waitress rather unsuitable for a higher end venue. Would we go again? Not outside for sure......

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank neen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewood
6.4 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
837 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
194 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Featherstone Farm Hotel
Featherstone Farm Hotel
#11 of 21 in Wolverhampton
91 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Property: Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Brewood ST19 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Brewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Hotel, built in the 18th century, was originally two establishments, namely The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion. They continued to have two different proprietors until 1850, when The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion was under a single proprietor and was presumably combined into one establishment. The name seems to have been shortened to The Lion by 1867.It was in The Red Lion that the Hon. John Byng was "put into a white-washed room, and got a miserable, neither hot - nor cold dinner" in 1792.The Giffard Arms was used as a magistrates court and the Magistrates and prisoners would enter by the now blocked off door on the far right of the building.In 1870 and for many years there were many different licensees for The Lion, including E. Bagnall and A. Bourne, and in 1937 the licensee was a Mrs Anne Ball. The combined premises subsequently had a spell as a "posh" Three Star Hotel (AA & RAC).A magnificent staircase was removed from the interior of The Giffard Arms in 1970.At present, The Lion Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Brewood, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing