We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Brewood B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at hotel for five nights when working in the area. Reception was friendly and welcoming and I was pleasantly surprised at the size and decor of the room with its comfy bed, excellent modern ensuite and flat screen tv.....plus the essential fridge for chocolate, beers and milk on a longer stay! The hotel is very modern in design decor but set against the Olde Worlde building itself giving a great finish. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is a crowning feature, with the food being absolutely excellent. The restaurant gets busy of an evening later in the week with locals enjoying it so don't forget to reserve table!
Only downside which is not hotel's fault is that passing traffic can be a bit noisy due to the narrow village streets but this only notices if the windows are open....
Certainly a place I'd stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Wheaton Aston room is fab and adjoins the dining hall so only neighbours on one side :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamski2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    41
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
25
65
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here new years eve- big mistake. This was partly due to error of judgement on my part, as I thought that this hotel was in a quiet location and I really should have done my homework. I imagine the ambience is usually much different, but I advise NOT to stay here at this time of year if you actually want to get away from revelry.It was extremely noisy, both from the party in the restaurant and from fellow guests. I took the decision to leave at 5am- couldn't take much more! Okay, all that aside, here are my thoughts. We are couple who stayed in the Penkridge twin room. There was only one, albeit very comfy, chair. This meant we were unable to properly relax together. I don't think the room is worth £95 as housekeeping standards weren't quite 'up there'. Dust and sticky substance on lamp table, smeary shower,splodges of make up on drawers. We are budget travellers so for this sort of money, I expected more. BUT ,on the positive, we were very warmly welcomed. As explained, couldn't sleep but single bed is comfy with crisp sheets and towels available.Have tried calling hotel to pass on comments with no luck, but will persevere. Please don't let this review deter you , just wisely time your visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clean_cook_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have eaten here on several occasions and none have failed to impress. The decor is light and elegant, and the food is of Michelin star standard at an affordable price. We have not stayed but we have been given the tour of the rooms and they are of Boutique Hotel standard. The Lion sits at the heart of a beautifully quaint Staffordshire village with many boutique stores and homes of both historical and architectural note. It is a true hidden gem, which - if you enjoy fine dining - should be added to your list of must visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_OBrien71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a village pub that is really well managed and provides excellent accommodation. It has been refurbished quite recently by somebody who clearly has a flair for good design. The room we stayed in wasn't particularly big but it was well equipped and comfortable. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful, and the food was good and well prepared.

Brewood isn't a very big place but it is attractive (there's an interesting Gothic folly house on the opposite side of the street) and it is worth looking round. Car parking close to the hotel can be a little difficult - there are no dedicated spaces for guests - but with this reservation, it's a really good place to stay if you need an overnight stop somewhere close to, but not on, the M6.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lochgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Popped in to the Lion after a very arduous xcountry race. Really pleasantly surprised with surroundings, service & quality of food. Took advantage of the 2 courses for £8.99 & was bowled over with what we were served. We both had the penne pasta with feta cheese, tomatoes & pine nuts, which was really fresh & tasty. Finished off with the panna cotta which was really light & served with a selection of fresh berries. The kids meals were also really nice with a good selection & hearty portion sizes. The total bill came to £40 which included a round of drinks. The staff were really attentive even though they were really busy. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I were invited to a wedding in Brewood. And we were very impressed with the hotel facilities with the rooms being very pretty with some original features still included in the recent modern refurbishment.
The breakfast was also very good with a good quality of sausage and bacon in the full english breakfast.

So in all its was fantastic value of money for just £65 a night. Much better than the often sole less travelodge that you will often pay for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTaylor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone (Staffs)
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night just to 'get away' and we had such a lovely relaxing time. The staff were attentive and friendly - the food, simply amazing and top class. The restaurant was busy and had a nice atmosphere, the menu varied and was all reasonably priced.

Husband was impressed with the choice of ale, which like all the food, was locally sourced. The menu even tells you which suppliers are used which is refreshing.

We stayed in the Lapley room, which although not massive, was well furnished, comfortable and spotless with a great shower!

Over all, a lovely little stay in a nice village with lots of beautiful countryside to explore, genuinely great food and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobewan-kenobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewood
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel
4.1 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Featherstone Farm Hotel
Featherstone Farm Hotel
#13 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Property: Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Brewood ST19 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Brewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Hotel, built in the 18th century, was originally two establishments, namely The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion. They continued to have two different proprietors until 1850, when The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion was under a single proprietor and was presumably combined into one establishment. The name seems to have been shortened to The Lion by 1867.It was in The Red Lion that the Hon. John Byng was "put into a white-washed room, and got a miserable, neither hot - nor cold dinner" in 1792.The Giffard Arms was used as a magistrates court and the Magistrates and prisoners would enter by the now blocked off door on the far right of the building.In 1870 and for many years there were many different licensees for The Lion, including E. Bagnall and A. Bourne, and in 1937 the licensee was a Mrs Anne Ball. The combined premises subsequently had a spell as a "posh" Three Star Hotel (AA & RAC).A magnificent staircase was removed from the interior of The Giffard Arms in 1970.At present, The Lion Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Brewood, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing