We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Countrywide Cruisers
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Featherstone Farm Hotel(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
$60
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Farm Hotel(Hatherton)
$82
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
York Hotel(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen Victoria Hotel(Wolverhampton)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
32
8
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
8
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great weekmarket draytoncanal cruiseon arrivalnantwichbruinninaironsidepubsboatyardstove
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 45 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I don't undertand any of the negative reviews as we found the company extremely helpful from our first call, to our booking, to our arrival, to the introduction & operating instructions through our return of the boat at the end of the trip. We didn't want for anything as respects the service.

The boat was A-One - spotless and fully furnished with everything we could possibly have need for. True we didn't watch much TV but that was because in the countryside there wasn't much reception - however, we didn't go on the canal trip to watch TV. There was also a DVD player if wanted and an up to date radio/CD player.

It was true that the bed wasn't very large - but it was a narrow boat so the bed had to be limited in width - no problem with length however.

The canal was wonderful, the pub food was great (especially recommend The Star near Nantwich) and the canal people are so friendly & helpful. This is something we will definitely do again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesliecotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I am writing this review because our experience does not match with a previous review I have read. Yes, there are a few things that could be improved (signage to and on site) but this was our second trip and both times we have been delighted. No, the beds won't be huge - they are narrow boats, but provided you know what to expect we can't find any fault in what this company provides. The introduction to the boat (despite the fact they knew we were returning customers) was comprehensive and friendly. We were told that we should not hesitate to ring them (24 hours a day) if we had any concerns. Our return to the yard was greeted with friendly faces and "did we have a good trip?" "Were there any problems etc." The only thing we can mark down is sleep quality and that is simply because the fridge and water pump can be noisy (there is a remedy - switch them off at night, but this is not always appropriate). If you want to watch TV then probably avoid these boats until they have upgraded to flat screens and new technology but that maybe no guarentee on a canal holiday. We simply went without and life was the better for it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCY56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Found unhelpfull when phoned did not seem to care, told the boat I wanted not advailable did not offer any info on what was.Went back on their internet site found boat that said was advailable for the date I wanted and booked it over internet got e-mail from someone called William next day saying not advailable. No offer of what if any would be advailable.Tried the booking site again found another boat that said it was free that week so booked that one. This time no responce (e-mail or phone) so two days later it still showed advailable so booked it again over intrnet still no responce so have given up and booked with U.K. boat hire. Its a real shame as quality of their boats and prices seemed to be good value for money

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank RichiebAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Just returned home after our first canal boat holiday but it won't be our last.

Countrywide Cruisers is a smallish, very friendly team whose boats are well equipped and comfortable. Yes, it was a bit strange on first arrival to have to go looking for someone to get us sorted out but we found Trevor who showed us our boat and then took us out for half an hour's tuition.

The boat had everything on board that you need for a holiday like this. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen & bathroom modern and well fitted out. If I would have liked to see anything else on the boat it would be a DVD player but, having said that, after a full day of canal boating, an early night is what you want the most!

We had a great week and even with just a 2-person crew, managed the boat and the locks without any problems - even the 21 locks in 3 miles from Wolverhampton down to Aldersley Junction.

We will certainly go back on the canals for another holiday and I am very happy to recommend Countrywide Cruisers. Just don't expect to find big company offices at their base!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This was mine and my husband's first trip in charge of a narrowboat. When we arrived at Countrywide Cruisers we weren't sure we were there as there were no signs at all.
We parked up and wandered around looking for a reception of sorts , not sure if we were in the right place and eventually a lady came out of a building and asked us what we wanted.
After saying we have booked a boat we were not greeted or welcomed in any way. She asked if we had any experience and when informed that we were beginners she made us feel like we were a nuisance.
A man came out eventually when we were on the boat and showed us around the boat. He didn't introduce himself or wish us a good holiday, We didn't feel welcome.

On our return , we weren't sure where to moor up as there was only a small space available with scaffolding next to it that we didn't want to hit. The man who showed us around the boat walked past and we asked him where to moor and he kept on walking and pointed to the small space. He offered no help at all like guiding us in or pulling in on the ropes . Luckily my husband is agile as he had to jump a long way on to the towpath to pull us in so that we didn't hit the scaffolding.
When we moored up and unpacked the boat we didn't know if we should leave the keys anywhere as we had no instructions what to do on return. I wandered around looking for someone but couldn't find anybody.

This lack of customer service and courtesy isn't what you expect .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrow2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews