We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.....Just for the blueberry pancakes”
Review of The Old Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Temple Cloud B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I usually stay in larger chain hotels but fancied a change... and I wont change back.

Nancy (the little southern belle), was fantastic and nothing was a problem. I asked to change rooms as I didnt check what room I had booked upon booking via hotels.com. Then came the breakfast choice for the following morning. Even the ice water was perfect tempreture. I asked for a 9am and went for the American breakfast, I want to go back tomorrow just for the Blueberry pancakes.

The room (Magistrates) was very cosy with a VERY comfortable bed and certainly enough space. The shower was very powerful and clean.

I needed strong wifi for work and it didnt fail unlike some larger hotel chains.

Overall The Old Court was great with a very homly feel. Next time I am in Bristol I am sure to be rebookng with Nancy.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi dont book the Jail but it is certainly a great experience to have a night in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieHerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Having been tasked with organising my sisters hen do we picked the old
Court due to the location, number of rooms and unusual nature. We were not disappointed ! - although quirky, and unusual in its layout - it was the perfect venue ! Loads of space, jacuzzi and sauna, all rooms well appointed, bathrooms all good, living areas spacious. Nancy who we dealt with in booking was incredibly helpful and flexible. We arranged breakfast for Sunday morning to be catered which was great. Also very much recommend the pony & trap pub nearby which was fantastic for dinner, and hamburger hill for activities . All 22 of us loved the old court - and would certainly recommend it for private hire

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Debbie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were given a voucher as a gift and opted to use it on a "unique place to stay". The Old Court certainly is that! - very quirky and interesting. Nancy made us so welcome - nothing was too much trouble & we were able to have a look around all the intriguing rooms, nooks and crannies. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magistrates room - very comfy and although we sleep with windows open and the Old C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 913Bandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for two nights. Nancy was very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Matt was equally attentive in ensuring that our stay was enjoyable. We stayed in the Judge's room, which was very comfortable and quiet. If you like big chain hotels - don't stay here! If you like something a little different, give it a try - we had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased to find that we had been upgraded to a larger room. Nancy, our hostess, was delightful and she immediately made us feel very welcome, with no request being too much trouble.
Breakfast was served in the original courtroom - with high beams, large windows and a stunning grand piano. The food was good and it was nice to chat to other guests around a large dining table. There were copious amounts of tea and coffee and we never felt rushed.

A wander around the building is essential as the house is a wonderful maze of rooms and staircases. All the bedrooms are different, with lots of quirky features from the original court house - so make sure you look in as many of them as you can! An essential walk is from the court room to the cells down a bare stone staircase which readily stimulates images of criminals in manacles! In comparison, the main staircase to the court room in wide, airy and wood panelled - reflecting the extremes between gentry and commoners at that time.

In the garden were two other residents of the Old Court - the most enormous and ridiculously soft dogs that could possibly be imagined! Clearly they were kept outside, away from guests who may have been wary of such big dogs, but I have never before come across more loveable giant teddy bears !

If you are looking for a B+B which is clinically clean and devoid of character, then this is not for you. We were totally bowled over by the atmosphere of the place and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The cells seemed rather small and the novelty may wear off after more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty_Hornchurch_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nancy and John made us very welcome in their lovely, quirky and unique guest house. If you want Holiday Express I suggest go to Holiday Express (=dull). The breakfasts were top quality and the house oozes charm with plenty of unexpected little twists and turns..and a concert grand Steinway to die for in the beautiful victorian courthouse.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character- the ones not facing the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed Sept 2013, we had a voucher to use and decided out of all the available venues this was the place we wanted to stay.

Great hospitality, we were given a choice to upgrade to a bigger room as the room we were due to have had some maintenance requirements. We were informed of this before our visit at no extra charge to us.

We were recommended dinner nearby inside a train carriage, (unfortunately cant remember the name of this now) however location was perfect for us to visit places nearby and it was an area we had not been to before. Food was excellent.

The only downside was the parking, by the time we arrived after visiting places, the spaces had gone in the hotel parking section and we were then parking outside the hotel on a side road which for me wasnt ideal. I like to have my car in a proper parking space but thats me.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court

Address: Temple Cloud, Temple Cloud BS39 5DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Temple Cloud
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Cloud
Price Range: $74 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I can't find any email address to write to you! It is very frustrating.Firstly I have been clicking on Awards and my Award for Excellence 2011 from you all can not be found. I need this by email to send to my advertisers! Pls help. I can not spend more time on this looking and not finding. I find no email to talk to you!Secondly, this is the second time I am saying that I have 4 stars from the Tourist board...not 2 like you are showing! This is awful.Thirdly, your special offer page is non usable....I have 8 different rooms with different prices...and it is sterling based which isn't even an option! What should I do. Please oontactme. thx. Nancy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court Hotel Temple Cloud
The Old Court Temple Cloud, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing