We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quintessentially English”
other travelers have booked this property
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting. The cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting.
The cottage
The view
The luxury kitchen
Sitting room
Spacious entrance hall
Hall way
Twin bedroom
Master bedroom with en-suite
En-suite bathroom
Shower room
Hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ilminster, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie T
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quintessentially English”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We're a party of 2 adults, a one-year-old and a three-year-old we really enjoyed our stay in the cottage it was well equipped, cosy and spacious. One thing to note if you're travelling with young children is that there is no children's cutlery or highchair and no stair gates. The garden was amazing- safe and secudled the play equipment was a lovely addition but could do with updating. My little one loves trampolines but the one in the garden doesn't have a net around so I didn't risk her going on it which was a shame. The goals, footballs and the swing were a hit though. The hot tub was gorgeous especially on a sunny evening but it is not right by the cottage so if you have young children take a monitor if you want to use it in the evenings as we found ours reached. All in all it was a lovely stay in a beautiful part of the country with a very welcoming host and I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Thankyou Louise - it was lovely to meet you all x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
601lynn
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming house with lovely child-friendly garden and hot tub”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owner was lovely and very considerate of our extended family visits during our stay. The garden was a big bonus as we had two young children with us and they loved the trampoline and goal. The area was very peaceful and the house nice and warm and well equipped. The hot tub, which was solely ours to use during our stay, was super fun. We liked the fact that we could book for specific dates rather than a whole week or a weekend, which was really useful for our 4 night stay. Thanks to Helen and Martin for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and the garden
Liked least: Narrow lanes walking to the pub!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy R
1 review
“Lovely place to get away for the weekend!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage was great. I travelled with my wife and 2 kids (4 & 1). We all loved it. The cottage is well furnished and the outside areas are lovely. The kids enjoyed the large garden and trampoline and we all enjoyed the hot tub.

Owners were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainaafr...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my friends stayed here for a weekend. We stayed in the cottage for the entire visit as it was a relaxing/chill weekend. We were lucky to have beautiful weather so spent a lot of time relaxing in the garden!
The hot tub was good but was a shame that it wasn't next to the cottage,there was also no light in the area so was very dark at night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
480bungle
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic! Helen Dogs and Children were most Welcoming! Best Part was sitting within the Garden in Evening awaiting Sound A”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A Bolt hole away from the stresses of Life Tranquil! Very Narrow Lanes regarding Sat Nav went a bit crazy from time to time due to location. Helen the Hostess Lovely Lady Warm. Property a little too Rustic. Best of all The Serenity and of corse the 5 Dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Seclusion
Liked least: Could be made somewhat better i.e. Flora and Fauna around Cottage!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderfully quiet location.”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family consisting of 3 young children had a wonderful stay in July 2015 - our first solo family Holiday. We couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay.. everything was as described, clean and well kept. Cant fault the cottage, location or the owner.. we defiantly stay there again if we are in the area!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing