We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hyde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dillington House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dillington House
Save
You added Dillington House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilminster TA19 9DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Hyde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Like ngeddie 1602, we stayed in the Hyde (same room by the look of it), for one night only, and I can only repeat "The room had great views over fields and was finished to a very high standard with a very good detail on design and look." I can add that the wet-room was also very spacious and well designed, clean, warm, and a nice place to be. I imagine it would be good for disabled visitors - lots of room for a wheelchair (although I am not disabled myself so not really qualified to judge). We didn't have the breakfast because I am dieting, so it was good to have the option to have room only. Overall, very good value indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We would like to say a big thank you to dillington house for providing a wonderful wedding reception.Everything from friday afternoon to sunday morning was carried out with such professionalism.On the big day the transitions from drinks reception to hog roast to evening food went so smoothly we hardly noticed the staff.Kirsty and her team worked so well to look after us all.Our guests had an amazing time enjoying the 'run' of the house and the wonderful gardens.It was so relaxed just what we and the bride and groom wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at Dillington for 6 nights in July whilst doing a residential course. I had room 9 in the House which is a small double. The room was comfortable and clean. The food is good and the staff are lovely.

There are various different rooms in the House, in the Hyde and The Mews. The staff are very helpful when booking accommodation.

The House is very close to the A303 which makes it easy to get from Dillington into the rest of Somerset and Devon.

I have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Have a chat with staff about the rooms when booking. The Hyde is modern whereas the house is older a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A one night business travel stop on the way down to Cornwall. The main house is absolutely stunning and check in was very smooth, initially I was disappointed to be told I was not in a room in the main house but as I walked around the old stable blocks and saw “The Hyde” a ultra-modern design building all changed as it is simply stunning also. The room had great views over fields and was finished to a very high standard with a very good detail on design and look. Although no restaurant on site they supplied a substantial list of restaurants and the Balti house we used was great. Breakfast was buffet style and very nice with views over the main lawn and fields in a grand room. Would without doubt use again a beautiful establishment

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed there for a family wedding on one of the hottest days of the year, so it is always disappointing that they have built a very modern new bedroom block and don't include air conditioning, not even a fan.

Very clean and tidy, staff very helpful and breakfast very good, people will love the surrounds and the grounds, which are kept immaculate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdRees8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in the modern part (the Hyde) and had a fantastic view over the fields & walled garden. The room was fine, the staff friendly and helpful (even though they were dealing with 2 weddings). We had a peaceful night's sleep and a great breakfast. The grounds around Dillington are beautiful and I would certainly stay here again (...and I am very fussy). Very minor niggles could be weak wifi signal in our room, and managing to lock ourselves out as we had only one key, but overall these were nothing compared to the overall positive experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAHN2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the main house for a weekend wedding at he venue. The staff were very friendly and helpful making our stay very relaxin. The great weather meant we able to take full advantage of the beautiful grounds and surrounding views. The large crochet and putting lawn kept the children entertained. The food was of very good quality and good sized portions. Our room in the house was full of character with marble fireplace and iron window frames, en suite small but spotlessly clean and functional. The house was full of history and interesting portraits, decor. This is not all mod cons location but we knew that and the character and setting made it a refreshing change from the somewhat sterile corporate standardisation of so many chain hotels. The heating was on full blast and we needed to open the antiquated windows to make the room a comfortable temperature, I would imagine the winter may bring a significant chill and draught however.
The children were accommodated on blow up beds in our room. We saw a few rooms in the house all different.
Breakfast was again excellent bar. prices reasonable. A very enjoyable weekend and lovely setting for a wedding.

Room Tip: Lord north 6 and 7 very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillington House

Address: Ilminster TA19 9DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Dillington House 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Dillington House Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing