We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, fresh Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo di Piazza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Piccolo di Piazza
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good, fresh Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely friendly service and great food. Impressed at the childrens menu - real Italian options in child sized portions and at child sized costs. Sensibly sized adult meals with great flavour and presentation - nice menu choices and a great "specials" option.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Freshly cooked food, good service and reasonably priced wines. Located in the square, it was within easy reach of my guest house.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chili-spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st austell
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food,good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

For the same cost as a local inn you can enjoy freshly made,locally sourced,free range food. Its a no brainer. Lovely atmosphere, excellent food. Visited twice in our 3 day stay and we both had tasty Italian food each time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbreary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing on the whole...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Situated right on the town square in Ilminster, the Piccolo di Piazza certainly looked like an attractive proposition for a night out and this impression was enhanced by the warm and friendly welcome we received on entry. However, things started to fall apart a little when the food appeared. The menu is quite small and consists of all the things you'd expect to see in an Italian themed restaurant, plus a few that have the potential to be a surprise.

For starters, my wife ordered scallops on a bed of spinnach in a creamy garlic sauce. It looked good when it arrived but the scallops were thought to be somewhat undercooked (even for scallops) and the sauce was a bit too overpowering. I chose the bruschetta. What appeared looked very good but I thought one very small slice of Tuscan bread was a bit meagre for the price.

For mains the Mrs again chose from the specials board - fillet of seabass with a risotto of saffron rice, butternut squash and mascarpone. Again, portions were small and the mascarpone made the dish a little rich.

I went back to basics and chose a Piccante Pizza. I guess I should have checked what type of pizza it would be as I much prefer the thin base type. What arrived was definitely a doughy thick and decidely soggy in the middle pizza. Maybe too much Indian food over the years has dulled my taste, but I really struggled to find anything piccante about this dish at all ! Disappointing. We passed on dessert and had a couple of coffees before heading off into a wet summer's night.

On the plus side this place does have a nice feel to it with crisp, clean modern decor, very friendly staff and a good wine list - the Nero d'Avalo and the Chilean Merlot were excellent.

Maybe we just picked a bad night. We'll try it again sometime but be choosing very different dishes,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheScousegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place sells great Italian food. The place is a bit pricey as far as I am concerned, but very good atmosphere, very good food and friendly service. Not a place to go out and get really drunk, more of a place to enjoy the food and have a few drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 202164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo di Piazza also viewed

Horton, Ilminster
Ilminster, Somerset
 
Ilminster, Somerset
 
Ilminster, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing