We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Christmas Dinner with Elvis.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas Dinner with Elvis.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

On the 21st December 13 went with 7 others to this hotel to an evening of entertainment and a meal. The whole evening was first class. The meal was carvery style and first rate. A choice of meats, the usual Christmas vegetables, followed by about 6 different puddings including Christmas pudding. Followed by coffee with mince pies and/or cheese and biscuits. Drinks with the meal were very reasonable. After this our Elvis started his music so we could work off the huge intake of food. We all had a splendid evening. It was First Class.

First time we have used the hotel since we had our 40th Wedding Anniversary there 8 years ago.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    96
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
115
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is the second time we have had a family lunch at this hotel. Last year it was suggested we all met up somewhere central to where we all live and we chose Ilminster. There were ten of us and again this year. The staff were extremely attentive and the food was excellent and the price was quite reasonable at about £25 per head. We plan to go again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Firstly make sure u come to this the right hotel and not the Shrubbery Shepton Mallet (same county but 40 miles away ) as I stupidly did at cost to me !!!!!! Long story so ill leave it at that......
Anyway I can offer nothing but praise for this hotel :) . We were there Friday and Saturday night for the wedding of our friends and what a great weekend we had. Pretty much all the rooms were taken by guests attending the wedding so it was a real occasion of fun and frolics with lots of friends together:)
The room's are clean and tidy and have what u need to relax for a long weekend. The wedding reception was fantastic, as the bride in previous post has stated the food and service were excellent and made for a truly wonderful weekend :)
If im ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Well done to all from me,my wife and im sure all my other friends in attendance......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loonasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business for one night recently.The room was comfortable enough although I was a little surprised that it was accessed fro outside at the rear of the hotel. It was nice to have free wifi however the strength of the signal was not very good.The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff were all friendly. Overall not a bad place to stay if you were looking for a stopover on your way up or down the A303

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andig36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We held our wedding reception here for 140 guests and everyone stayed 2 nights and they were amazing! The owner, Stuart has been doing weddings for years and knows his stuff.... The reception ran like clockwork and the staff were amazing. We had a full 3 course sit down meal and it was perfect food (we picked our menu) and served quickly, hot and just effect service, evening Buffett of cheese and it was sooooo yummy, everyone loved it. All the rooms were good sized, clean and had plenty of space and we added lots of kids beds in. On the whole they did a wonderful job, brilliant location, amazing food, so friendly, professional and recommended a wedding here for anyone. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loked the fact the hotel was very easy to find.
When we arrived were very impressed with the hotel and found the staff very helpfull.
We ate in the bar and found the food excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Shrubbery Hotel and we found it even more comfortable than our previous visit which was about four years ago.

We had notified the hotel of our late arrival (around 10.30pm) when we booked and we were warned in the booking of the likelihood of functions on Friday and Saturday nights. This was a Saturday night and a wedding was in full swing. We were shown to our room and told that we could be moved if we found the noise to be too much. A tray of coffee was provided. The bed was comfortable and we were tired so we were asleep before the wedding party finished.

We had booked 'room only' and in the morning chose the continental breakfast option as we had a lunch engagement booked. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of it.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 13 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing