We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Shrubbery Hotel and we found it even more comfortable than our previous visit which was about four years ago.

We had notified the hotel of our late arrival (around 10.30pm) when we booked and we were warned in the booking of the likelihood of functions on Friday and Saturday nights. This was a Saturday night and a wedding was in full swing. We were shown to our room and told that we could be moved if we found the noise to be too much. A tray of coffee was provided. The bed was comfortable and we were tired so we were asleep before the wedding party finished.

We had booked 'room only' and in the morning chose the continental breakfast option as we had a lunch engagement booked. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of it.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
32
102
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and we were made to feel very welcome by Ben despite him being very busy with Sunday lunches. Our room which was situated at the front of the hotel was clean and big enough for our needs. One downside was that it was by a busy road and as we like to keep our windows open we had to put up with a lot of noise from traffic. Another small problem was that people who like to smoke congregated under our window and their smoke made it's way into the bedroom.....not nice when you are a non smoker. We stayed for 5 nights and cannot fault the staff especially Ben and Krasi (apologies for the spelling) who had to run the bar, wait at table and man reception. They were so attentive to our needs and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We ate in each evening and ordered from the bar menu which had a wide choice of food to choose from. Every meal was delicious, The restaurant menu is very limited if you are staying for a number of nights. Breakfast was also of a very high standard and we were able to pick and choose what we wanted. The servings were very generous and were were always asked if we wanted anything else.
Having had a lovely week we settled down for our final meal. Our food was ordered and brought out in super quick time, served as usual by a very cheerful Krasi who made time to chat to us. At this point things went down rapidly when it became evident that the owners of the hotel were entertaining friends on the table next to us. The numbers increased and the group spread out getting nearer and nearer to our table. The owners seemed oblivious to the fact that they had paying guests in the room and repeatedly pushed past our table to fetch wine and sort food for their guests. They made no attempt to acknowledge us and didn't seem to realise that they were disturbing our last meal in the hotel. A comment was made about lack of space on their table for food and we noticed glances towards us. We felt quite uncomfortable and decided to go quicker than we would normally.......needless to say our table was moved very quickly to join theirs to create more room. Thankfully it was our last night and this experience didn't spoil our holiday completely. We are very grateful to all the staff for their friendliness over the week....it's a shame that the owners attitude to guests is not of the same high standard as their staff.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chappers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stushep, Owner at BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am really sorry you were disturbed by myself and four other customers. There is no escuse for us to ingnore you.. I can only apologise for not being correct in looking after you and causing young nuisance. It was a prearranged supper for an old colleague who had come from Australia. Please don't judge the hotel on our bad behaviour. I will make sure that Ben and Krasi are congratulated and perhaps after 50 years we shoulld have been more considerate.
Sorry
Stuart Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have had the pleasure of returning to our roots and stayed at The Shrubbery for two nights. I'm pleased to say that it still retains it's comfortable, welcoming atmosphere and the decor has not been messed with. I must admit to first enjoying the hotel in the 1960s when The Shrub held the best dances and discos in the County! We found our rooms spacious, clean and comfortable with nice big, soft towels....no power showers here but then, hey what's the rush! We were actually here for a wedding and they looked after us well. Food was lovely and beautifully prepared, yummy deserts! Breakfast was very good. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Do hope that The Best Western manages to retain the family friendly atmosphere. Incidentally, accessibility is excellent - wheelchair friendly and nice big bathrooms and wheel-in showers. Easy and spacious car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent a short break at this hotel. The hotel has been in the family for over 50 yrs, so there is continuity,and it shows. Everywhere is clean, the staff are great, the room we had was perfect. One point to make was that we thought there should be more choice of food especially if you were staying a few days, anyway the food was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RingwoodSuperbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have seen some reviews that have said "dated" and "tired" and I think people need to consider that this is an old building, as can be seen from the architecture, high ceilings, and Victorian façade. However we have travelled all over the UK and all over the world and can say with all honesty the decoration is in keeping with the building, and it is fresh and perfectly clean. I think a lot of modern hotels could learn a lot from "The Shrubbery" as they give excellent customer service, really deliver on customer care, and have a great restaurant and food. The grounds are very nice, and there is even a large outdoor swimming pool for when the weather gets hot. There is plenty of hotel parking and there is something going on there most days of the week that involves organisations like The Round Table, The Rotary Club, The Fire Service etc. This tells me that it is well supported by local people and that really does say it all. We shall try to return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We have always stayed at the back of the hotel which seem very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The experience was very good, the staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly, the food was excellent (breakfast and dinner). Evening meal was very reasonably priced. Location to ilminster was very good, a short walk to the centre. Very quiet room. Parking was not an issue even when there were functions on which was almost every day of our stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0SuseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and it really hasn't changed. Last time we were upgraded to a lovely large room on the back of the hotel overlooking beautiful countryside. However our sleep was disturbed by the fact that there was a function on in the ballroom, (which we were directly above) so we could hear the music until 1am. This time we were offered a similar room but again there was a function on, so we opted for a smaller room on the front instead. However, as it was a hot July night we had to have the window open and could hear some traffic noise, but it was not too bad. Whereas last time I remember the bed being comfortable, it appears the beds in the cheaper rooms at the front are not so comfortable. Also, I was suprised last time to find no duvet, but sheets and blankets on the bed and this is still the case. Although it is a lovely old hotel, the decor and furnishings are looking tired and dated. The cooked breakfast was good, but the choice of fruit not so good. Please note that this hotel is in Ilminster, not Taunton, which is about 10 miles away. There is not much to do in Ilminster, but it is a good location for touring Somerset.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back for no road noise and a beautiful view, but check to see if there is a fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
4.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
10.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
22.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Restaurant has been completely refurbished and renovation work is well under way in our Sun Lounge and reception areas. In the coming weeks improvements will be made to the Ballroom before work gets underway in the bedrooms. While there are many decorative changes planned, those of you who have visited recently will know that the original team are still very much a part of the hotel. We hope that you will come and experience these improvements soon. Ilminster an attractive market town. The Shrubbery Hotel stands on a site previously occupied by a private house named, 'Crosses' which dated back to the 17th century. Apparently, cloth dyeing took place on the premises. In the 1850s the property was purchased by the local Shepherd family, who built an imposing Victorian house around the original building. The family, allegedly, made their fortune from selling hessian and jute to both sides in the American Civil War and their wealth enabled them to become major landowners and benefactors to the town. The premises were converted into an hotel in 1932. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing