We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and comforting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and comforting!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have had the pleasure of returning to our roots and stayed at The Shrubbery for two nights. I'm pleased to say that it still retains it's comfortable, welcoming atmosphere and the decor has not been messed with. I must admit to first enjoying the hotel in the 1960s when The Shrub held the best dances and discos in the County! We found our rooms spacious, clean and comfortable with nice big, soft towels....no power showers here but then, hey what's the rush! We were actually here for a wedding and they looked after us well. Food was lovely and beautifully prepared, yummy deserts! Breakfast was very good. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Do hope that The Best Western manages to retain the family friendly atmosphere. Incidentally, accessibility is excellent - wheelchair friendly and nice big bathrooms and wheel-in showers. Easy and spacious car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    101
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
41
118
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ringwood
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent a short break at this hotel. The hotel has been in the family for over 50 yrs, so there is continuity,and it shows. Everywhere is clean, the staff are great, the room we had was perfect. One point to make was that we thought there should be more choice of food especially if you were staying a few days, anyway the food was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingwoodSuperbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have seen some reviews that have said "dated" and "tired" and I think people need to consider that this is an old building, as can be seen from the architecture, high ceilings, and Victorian façade. However we have travelled all over the UK and all over the world and can say with all honesty the decoration is in keeping with the building, and it is fresh and perfectly clean. I think a lot of modern hotels could learn a lot from "The Shrubbery" as they give excellent customer service, really deliver on customer care, and have a great restaurant and food. The grounds are very nice, and there is even a large outdoor swimming pool for when the weather gets hot. There is plenty of hotel parking and there is something going on there most days of the week that involves organisations like The Round Table, The Rotary Club, The Fire Service etc. This tells me that it is well supported by local people and that really does say it all. We shall try to return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We have always stayed at the back of the hotel which seem very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The experience was very good, the staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly, the food was excellent (breakfast and dinner). Evening meal was very reasonably priced. Location to ilminster was very good, a short walk to the centre. Very quiet room. Parking was not an issue even when there were functions on which was almost every day of our stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0SuseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and it really hasn't changed. Last time we were upgraded to a lovely large room on the back of the hotel overlooking beautiful countryside. However our sleep was disturbed by the fact that there was a function on in the ballroom, (which we were directly above) so we could hear the music until 1am. This time we were offered a similar room but again there was a function on, so we opted for a smaller room on the front instead. However, as it was a hot July night we had to have the window open and could hear some traffic noise, but it was not too bad. Whereas last time I remember the bed being comfortable, it appears the beds in the cheaper rooms at the front are not so comfortable. Also, I was suprised last time to find no duvet, but sheets and blankets on the bed and this is still the case. Although it is a lovely old hotel, the decor and furnishings are looking tired and dated. The cooked breakfast was good, but the choice of fruit not so good. Please note that this hotel is in Ilminster, not Taunton, which is about 10 miles away. There is not much to do in Ilminster, but it is a good location for touring Somerset.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back for no road noise and a beautiful view, but check to see if there is a fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyDi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel we left disappointed. On checking in we were taken to our room which entailed a trip through a bar, down a corridor, through a meeting room into a type of annex. First impression of the room was clean until I dropped an earring on the floor only to notice the cleaning was not that good, lots of dust and cobwebs!! We were quite surprised to turn the bed clothes to find sheets and blankets!!! On wanting to leave the hotel to go out for the evening and taking the route back the way we were taken, we found there was a meeting in progress in the room we had to go through to get back to reception! Not ideal for guests in a hotel. Fortunately having looked around we found a door which took us in to the car park, no thanks to the hotel staff. Breakfast was average. Service from reception on checkout poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grahams1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stushep, Owner at Best Western Shrubbery Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good Evening, My name is Stuart Shepherd, I am the manager of the Shrubbery Hotel.
I have read your comments, and can only make apologies for any of the problems you had,
The hotel is a converted Victorian house and has difficult areas to get to.

I am sorry about cobwebs or dust , I have a good housekeeping staff, and , and I shall obviously make sure your comments are made to the head housekeeper,

You should have been told about the meeting.
We have a long debate about blankets and duvets,, some like one the other like the other,
Please accept my apologies and I hop you can visit us again when we can show you our full potential,
Regards
Stuart Shepherd
0146052108
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had an executive room for an overnight stay. It was large,bright and spotless with a pleasant view marred by an empty swimming pool in a state of disrepair. There were none of the usual little 'extras' often found in this category of room. The hotel lacked 'atmosphere' and one got the impression that it was struggling. In the evening there were insufficient staff to deal with a wide range of duties and the only two visible, worked extremely hard. Breakfast, served in a very pleasant dining room, was totally satisfactory.
We would need to see some changes, before returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
257 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
335 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
645 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Property: Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ilminster TA19 9AR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Taunton
Taunton Best Western
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing