We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Square & Compass Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dillington House(Ilminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
98
40
18
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
40
18
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnthe pubwet roomstable blockwalk in showerbreakfast was includedowners and staffhuge bedrooms are largewedding venueexcellent musicseparate shower and bathwindmill hillsouth coastturkey and ham pieselection of beersfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 170 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stopped here one evening last week for an Xmas dinner and it was fabulous. The food was great and the portions were huge, I had to be teased into having xmas pudding afterwards even though I wasn't hungry still. The dinner was great and it's a lovely little pub, off the beaten track. Well worth a visit, and they do accommodation too..........lovely

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nismo350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A bit disappointed with this place as felt had spent a long time trying to find a place to stay with good reviews. Overall the room was good - a large comfy bed - comfy seats in a spacious room. with tea and coffee and nice biscuits. The bathroom was large with a shower and bath. On the down side the place was freezing when we arrived even though we were expected and arrived slightly later than planned - the radiators were turned on when we shown in the room. It took a while for the room and especially the bathroom to warm up. The TV was a bit small. The bed linen was clean but of a cheep quality and the towels which again were clean and plentiful were old, white gone grey.
The room also did not feel very private until it got dark and we closed the curtains.
Breakfast was varied - my husband had a full English which he would rate above average - with especially nice sausages. The coffee was of poor quality. I had croissants which were a very cheep variety - not worth eating. Toast was forgotten and the waitress needed a prompt.
They also tried to charge me again for the room and didn't apologise for their mistake

Room Tip: wouldn't stay hear again.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a group of 6 of us going out for a meal, 5 of which having steaks, would not recommend trying one. Two of the steaks were completely overdone even though rare and medium rare was ordered, then when sent back to get them changed they came out the wrong way around still and were all fat and gristle and hardly edible. Very disappointing when the bar staff and waitress are so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PaulF11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Superb meal in pleasant and friendly environment. Helpful restaurant and bar staff,Nice relaxed atmosphere .Good quality well cooked food. Worth the short detour off the A 358.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaF169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for my brother's wedding and they did us proud. All the staff were very friendly and the room was amazing, the bed was so huge I could get lost in it but was very comfortable. The bathroom was a lovely wet room which was decorated nicely.

The buffett was delicious and the only snag was one of the cakes tasted off but this was dealt with straight away and a new one was bought out.

All the guests had a great time and the wedding went without a hitch.

The breakfast in the morning was varied and delicious.

Thanks Janet and Chris!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews