We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Visited for an evening meal with another couple. Very popular spot with great menu including pub staple dishes and a range of specials, delicious food, friendly and efficient service. They have a band on most Friday nights so for dinner I would recommend booking a table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
74
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The service given was excellent and on time, welcoming service always with smiles upon faces of workers. Warming atmosphere and always friendly talkitive customers , would happily recommend it too anyone. The food was spot on and of a very valuable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

On business in Ilminster this place is ideal, just off the M5 with large spacious, well maintained room (#4). Good solid pub menu for food with a no trouble /helpful attitude from the staff. Breakfast options are/good and prepared on request and served fresh.
Only one negative comment is the room got a bit cold in the night, but it was -3 and snow covered outside. This was compensated with the walk-in hot power shower in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Chris and Janet for making my son and daughter in law's wedding special. Food was great and very plentiful, venue good and staff went out of their way to be helpful Would definitely recommend. We stayed in their accommodation overnight which was clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well what can I say. We looked into the square and compass late last year for our wedding venue and after seeing the pictures was egar to view. When we did we were greeted by both Chris and Janet who can across as a relaxed, fun couple who made us feel at ease right away! After our viewing and a chat we decided to book.
And I'm so glad we did!
At no point did we feel pressured into having a full package and had good friendly advice from them both on what to have and not too. Clearly revealing to us that their aim was for us to have a wonderful day and not all about profit!
Our wedding day ....... Simply amazing!
From start to finish the day ran smoothly at no point did we have to concern ourselves with anything other than having a fabulous day! Food was fantastic, so much variety, staff were confident, friendly and our day would not have ran so perfectly without them all! Beautiful countryside setting (we were lucky we had the perfect weather too) and so relaxed!
We stayed in the b&b that night, large spacious room and bathroom, clean, neat and the bed was massive and very comfortable! Breakfast was also lovely and very welcoming staff in the morning!

The only complaint We have is that it all didn't last longer!

So on that note, thank you to all at the square and compass for making our wedding so special and perfect! We couldn't have chosen a better place! And will be seeing you all again soon! Xxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjkneeshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

i was discusted with the state of our room, the sheets had clearly not been changed. The barstaff were friendly, the food was okay but more on the poor side. i would not recomed it here, and my cousin who got married in the bar, was not overall happy with her wedding day due to the tention of the ower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely find; great service and welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. Gorgeous, huge comfy bed and big bathroom with bath and shower. lighting a bit dim though. oh yes, two big mirrors in the bedroom, chest of drawers for foldables and fair amount of hanging space if you're only staying a couple of nights. Hair dryer and bath products provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollergirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilminster hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
257 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Five Dials Inn
The Five Dials Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The George at Donyatt
The George at Donyatt
#9 of 12 in Ilminster
79 reviews
4.7 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 12 in Ilminster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square & Compass Inn

Property: Square & Compass Inn
Address: Windmill Hill | Ashill, Ilminster TA19 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Square & Compass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, PitchUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Square & Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square & Compass Inn Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing