We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I ate an evening meal here while staying at Somerset B&B just down the road.
I never enjoy eating on my own but I had a corner table here which as the tables have panelling behind, made it the perfect little corner to sit and hide away while I enjoyed my meal.
I ordered a mushroom stroganoff which was very rich and simply enormous and far too much for me. The fillet steak also looked delicious.
Excellent value at just over £10 for my meal and drink, very friendly staff and clearly very popular with locals which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We decided to have our daughter's wedding here in August - one of the best decisions we ever made - the personal service & sensible advice offered (& accepted!) was second to none - Chris & Janet Slow were awesome & with their team made it a fantastic day from start to finish - for this review I am concentrating on our stay at The Square & Compass - we arrived a few days before & began to take over the stable bedrooms - delightful - very modern & understated - with all possible amenities - the beds huge & comfortable - the bathroom/wetroom was excellent - breakfast was relaxed & we had several evening meals in the pub - always enjoyable with good quality food well-prepared - I have been told the beer was good as well! I would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area ...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Wonderful service and great value for money. Clean and comfortable. Excellent pub grub; draft Guinness a bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room, the room itself was immaculate, super huge bed which was comfortable, lovely bathroom with bath, walk in shower/wetroom, lots of storage for clothes etc for those staying longer than the one night we stayed for.
Family stayed in 4 of the other 6 rooms and all agreed it was lovely.

We returned to the Pub on Sunday evening by about 11pm and the Landlord had hot food ready and kept the bar open and friendly til we were ready to hit the sack.

Lovely place, would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a overnight stay on our way to Cornwall, on arrival a member of staff ,who was very pleasant, showed us to our room ,which we found spotlessly clean the room
and bathroom were very large and very comfortable,the room also contained two
easy chairs and small table . The night we stayed was a music night in the barn, and i must say no noise was heard by us at all ,and we enjoyed a good nights sleep.
we had our evening meal on the terrace and we found that very enjoyable. The breakfast was what i call a all day breakfast' so much it lasts all day ,overall we can honestly
say we would stay there again, good accommodation, good food,and pleasant staff

just one footnote although the room is wheelchair friendly,the car park is pebbles and there is a step into the bar area which is not good news for wheelchair users,
we were informed we could have had our meals in our room if we wished ,but still great place to stay

Room Tip: wheelchair users please check with the hotel first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
2.9 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
831 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
276 reviews
4.6 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#5 of 11 in Ilminster
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square & Compass Inn

Address: Windmill Hill | Ashill, Ilminster, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: $106 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Square & Compass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, PitchUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Square & Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square & Compass Inn Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing