We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shave farm cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Hot tub
Open plan living area
Kitchen
En suite bedroom with kingsize bed
En suite bedroom with kingsize and single bed
View from the cottage
Shave Farm cottage
Glastonbury tor
West Somerset railway
Local farmers market
Local cider producers
Somerset county cricket
Montacute house
Cheddar caves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ilminster, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham O
1 review
“What an amazing place.”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We found this by reviews on trip advisor. What an amazing farm. The owners were so accommodating and approachable. We were there with our 2 young children and grandparents. The children were entertained by James on many occasion with the tractor and milking of the cows. We will be rebooking as it also such a central location to explore from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Hi Graham, We're really glad you all enjoyed your stay and are always happy to have the children join in. It would be great to welcome you all back to Shave Farm and introduce you all to our new goats!
Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The place was spotless, Kate & farmer aJames were very welcoming with goodies on arrival. The kids got to feed all the new calves. The cottage is very well laid out and a very good size for everybody to move about. Wee said to Kate the tele wasn't tuning in bedroom and there was brand new one next morning put on wall. There is a 15ft trampoline in garden, an amazing set of swings, football goals & frisbee lots for kids to do. The one thing that I was very surprised about was this place is central to everywhere (Lyme Regis, crealy, Exeter, Torquay, bath, Glastonbury, Bristol & the stunning Jurassic coastline DURDLE DOOR). And let's not forget the jacuzzi wow!!!!!! Don't usually go same place 2 years but wee are next year. Also the property has dishwasher and washing machine so wee didn't have to pack loads of clothes this year and wee brought our clothes home clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AimeeM883
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Fab place to stay!!! Decor was amazing and cottage is done to a very high spec throughout!! Hot tub was great! Kate as a host was outstanding. Brought us a DVD player for our lazy Sunday duvet day! Would recommend for families, couples and groups of girls. We were a group of 5 women and had an amazing time! Thank you!!!! We will be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumbawa
1 review
“Lovely cottage run by lovely people.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a fantastic stay at shave farm. Lovely clean cottage, fab hottub and enclosed garden for the kids. Kate and James were great hosts, very friendly. Would absolutely recommend it to a friend and would love to go back and stay again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicheste...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Our family have just returned from our holiday - we had a truly fantastic time and were fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to experience the comfort, luxury, quality and cleanliness of Shave Farm Self Catering.

Shave Farm Self Catering is an exceptional place to stay - not only is it ideally located for touring Somerset, Devon and Dorset, it is definately the cleanest, most comfortable and highly furnished holiday properties we have ever stayed at.

From our initial enquiry, the owners dealt us with in a prompt efficient and friendly manner. The booking process went smoothly; communication prior to our arrival was great and the owners made us feel really welcome when we arrived at the farm (and even allowed us to watch the cows being milked!). There was a good internet facility and even a hot tub and trampoline!. There is ample carparking available.

We visited many places during our stay; perhaps our favourite was Lyme Regis with its wonderful sunny weather and fantastic sandcastle making sand! Another place we enjoyed our visit to was the Haynes International Motor Museum with its fantastic collection of cars and motoring memorabilia.

We would have no hesitation at all in recommending Shave Farm Self Catering - it is definately 5* and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Child...
Essex, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect In Every Way”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We hired the cottage for myself, the wife, our adventuring 2yr old, and the grand parents.

What can I say... As you approach you drive into the perfect Farm setting in an idyllic beautiful location with your own parking. The cottage is gated off and it really makes you fell that you have your own private place of paradise.

We were greeted by a warm welcome from James as Kate was milking the cows James showed us around and he showed us where everything was and even showed me how to use the Hot Tub. I must say the pictures of the accommodation on the web site do not do it justice. And the lovely hamper on arrival was a beautiful touch.

ROOMS:
Two fantastically appointed ensuite bedrooms, tastefully decorated, and very very comfortable beds. We had a travel cot in our room already up for our two year old, and there was also a single bed made. My son rushed into the room and excitedly climbed onto the bed saying "Bed Bed". So for the first time we put the travel cot down and tried him in the bed. He has not been in his cot since. As soon as we got home I had to turn his cot bed into a bed.

ENSUITES:
Perfectly appointed and large rooms with a fantastic hot and powerful shower, with a bathroom cupboard to store all your toiletries. The bath sheets were lovely white and soft.

KITCHEN AREA:
The kitchen has every amenity you need. Cutlery, Plates, Pans, Fridge Freezer, Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Toaster, Kettle etc....

LIVING/DINING AREA:
For all those who like to snuggle there are two large sofas. There is a massive wooden dinner table and comfortable dinning chairs, and of course the large flat screen TV. The views out of the windows across the farm watching the cows grazing are amazing.

OUTSIDE:
You have your own private gated off garden including seats and a table, a slide for the kids, a trampoline that my wife seemed to enjoy more than my two year old and finally the Hot Tub. Which was a fantastic place to spend time every evening with a glass of wine after a day of exploring what the locality has to offers.

LOCATION:
The location is ideal for visiting so many places. 35 mins from Lyme Regis. 45 Mins from Wookey Hole or Longleat. There is a Tesco in Illminster that has everything you need and a few takeaways chinese/indian/fish along the main road if you need a quick meal. There are some lovely pubs a couple minutes drive or 10 minute walk away. Our favourite was The George in Donyatt.

To sum up a lovely location with fantastic hosts who will do anything they can to help. We all enjoyed watching them milk the cows and finding out how a dairy farm is run. It’s amazing what you don’t know about things we take for granted. James took my two year old on the tractor which was fantastic, and he loved. There were 8 day old calves being fed which was an experience. Hens laying Eggs which you could collect.

All in all a fantastic break and we were sad to leave. The place has so much potential for a couple more barn conversions and a little holiday cottage empire.

We will definitely be back with some friends. I can not recommend the place high enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub and Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Reviewed August 31, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing