We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Shave Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shave Farm
Ranked #1 of 12 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had two nights at Shave Farm and thought it was wonderful. The bedroom was large with a very comfortable king size bed with plenty of pillows and the bathroom was good with a powerful shower. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room. Kate was a fantastic host who was interested in how we were going and offered tea when we arrived home from our days out sight-seeing.The guest lounge was comfortable with large sofas and a big T.V. Breakfast, which was excellent and tailored to our needs, was also served here. All in all a delightful placeto stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyboomer12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Shave Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Lovely farm and comfy accomodation to match, all not far from A303. Excellent breakfast choices to last you till mid afternoon. Breakfast room and guest lounge superb. If in area again, will definately want to stay with James and Kate at Shave farm. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We hired the cottage for myself, the wife, our adventuring 2yr old, and the grand parents.

What can I say... As you approach you drive into the perfect Farm setting in an idyllic beautiful location with your own parking. The cottage is gated off and it really makes you fell that you have your own private place of paradise.

We were greeted by a warm welcome from James as Kate was milking the cows James showed us around and he showed us where everything was and even showed me how to use the Hot Tub. I must say the pictures of the accommodation on the web site do not do it justice. And the lovely hamper on arrival was a beautiful touch.

ROOMS:
Two fantastically appointed ensuite bedrooms, tastefully decorated, and very very comfortable beds. We had a travel cot in our room already up for our two year old, and there was also a single bed made. My son rushed into the room and excitedly climbed onto the bed saying "Bed Bed". So for the first time we put the travel cot down and tried him in the bed. He has not been in his cot since. As soon as we got home I had to turn his cot bed into a bed.

ENSUITES:
Perfectly appointed and large rooms with a fantastic hot and powerful shower, with a bathroom cupboard to store all your toiletries. The bath sheets were lovely white and soft.

KITCHEN AREA:
The kitchen has every amenity you need. Cutlery, Plates, Pans, Fridge Freezer, Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Toaster, Kettle etc....

LIVING/DINING AREA:
For all those who like to snuggle there are two large sofas. There is a massive wooden dinner table and comfortable dinning chairs, and of course the large flat screen TV. The views out of the windows across the farm watching the cows grazing are amazing.

OUTSIDE:
You have your own private gated off garden including seats and a table, a slide for the kids, a trampoline that my wife seemed to enjoy more than my two year old and finally the Hot Tub. Which was a fantastic place to spend time every evening with a glass of wine after a day of exploring what the locality has to offers.

LOCATION:
The location is ideal for visiting so many places. 35 mins from Lyme Regis. 45 Mins from Wookey Hole or Longleat. There is a Tesco in Illminster that has everything you need and a few takeaways chinese/indian/fish along the main road if you need a quick meal. There are some lovely pubs a couple minutes drive or 10 minute walk away. Our favourite was The George in Donyatt.

To sum up a lovely location with fantastic hosts who will do anything they can to help. We all enjoyed watching them milk the cows and finding out how a dairy farm is run. It’s amazing what you don’t know about things we take for granted. James took my two year old on the tractor which was fantastic, and he loved. There were 8 day old calves being fed which was an experience. Hens laying Eggs which you could collect.

All in all a fantastic break and we were sad to leave. The place has so much potential for a couple more barn conversions and a little holiday cottage empire.

We will definitely be back with some friends. I can not recommend the place high enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Childs_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a brilliant place to stay....
We couldn't of asked for more - clean, modern, nicely decorated, and everything we needed.
Friendly owners and fantastic breakfast.
We arrived tired after a long journey and a pot of tea was brought to us. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I booked an over-night stop off for my parents, my son (6) and me on the way back from Cornwall. The website was really informative and on speaking to Kate on the phone she was really helpful in describing the set-up so I could decide which rooms to go for. We decided on the king size and twin room. On arrival James came over from the farm to let us know where to go, Kate then greeted us with a very warm welcome. My son spotted the massive trampoline and was itching to have a go. The rooms were fantastic, I shared the twin (zipped together as a super king size) with my son who thought the bed was the best ever, huge and really comfy. Kate was really helpful and suggested places for an evening meal and even phoned up to book for us. James offered for us to collect eggs, which my son enjoyed. We all slept so well that we over slept! The accommodation is quiet, spacious and peaceful. The shared lounge is beautifully decorated and the TV is huge (another winner with my son). Breakfast was amazing and lasted us all until about 4pm when we felt hungry again. We will definitely be returning to the b&b, and hopefully to stay in the self catering cottage too, which looked lovely. My son, being 6, is quiet matter of fact, whether that be positive or less so (which can be embarrassing!), but in this case he couldn't stop saying how great he thought the farm, rooms, breakfast and Kate were....a success! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Shave Farm between 28th April and 2nd May having booked the two storey "Suite". This turned out to be an excellent choice as it allowed us the peace and privacy which we prefer whilst still benefitting from excellent but unobtrusive service from our hosts. We would thoroughly recommend this option for anyone with similar preferences.

We were made to feel very welcome from the start by Kate and were well looked after throughout our stay. According to my husband the cooked breakfast was excellent - especially the home-grown eggs! but there was no shortage of alternatives provided for those with less hearty appetites. On the food front we could not have asked for more.

The suite itself was beautifully decorated, well equipped and comfortable. We especially liked the large bath towels and soft white sheets.

The weather during the first few days of our stay was typical british soak so we were not able to take advantage of the fact that this was a working farm - at least not without taking a daily mud bath - but that was our fault for not having the requisite wellington boots!

We would have no hesitation in returning to Shave Farm should we ever visit the area again and would definitely recommend it to anyone else.

As a p.s. we would also recommend the George pub - just 5 minutes drive away for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the "Shave Farm b+b and found the experience alltogether wonderful. There was a warm welcome upon arrival the owner showed us our room,very comfortable and clean, and then we were offered tea or coffee in the lounge, also very comfortable with a lovely woodburner. We had a great nights sleep in the kingsize bed and were treated to a first class farmhouse full english along with cereals toast fresh fruit juice and sliced pineapple. Without doubt i will be staying there again .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
1.6 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 12 in Ilminster
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shave Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shave Farm

Address: Donyatt, Ilminster TA19 0SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: $95 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Shave Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shave Farm Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing