We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, first class service”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Ilminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here, midweek in April. It is a nice pub, serving very good food. The room was fine, and the service was excellent from the moment we arrived, from the landlord, through to the breakfast lady, and the youngsters behind the bar. Very nice breakfast, but could have done with a little more! Our only criticisms would be that the cleaner turned the heating off, so our towels were not dry for an evening bath, and that the wifi booster was also turned off at inconvenient times. Lovely village too, with the superb Perry's cider farm just down the road. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Mother's day and my mum's birthday. A special day spoilt by poor service. Set 2 courses £12.99 good menu but when it arrived only given 2 small plates of vegetables between 6 of us. Dished up very small portions leaving 2 people with one small potato and one with a teaspoon of cabbage only. Asked for an appropriate amount of vegetables and waited and waited and waited. Asked again to be told that the two plates were enough for 6 and they were very busy. Also sauce missing from the plaice dish apparently i should have asked for it even though it was written on the menu as plaice with tangy tartare sauce. This was by a waitress with pink hair and very little idea of customer service. Waited again. The chef appeared, very apologetic but still no vegetables. By then meal finished eaten cold when gave up waiting. Pudding - not enough chocolate cake so given chocolate sponge and one spare. Meal topped off with cold coffee which we were told was complimentary due to the vegetable situation. Accepted the coffee but on reflection should have refused to accept cold coffee as compensation. Left hungry and fed up. Suggest the waitress receives customer service training and if you book your restaurant full buy enough vegetables and cake!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HEW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Food pretty good. Butter, not butter....please put it in a dish then we can choose whether to use or not. Fire would've been nice, hubby kept his coat on all evening because it was cold. Food was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyfulbichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The pub is very standard serving standard English pub food. We stayed there for one night. The accommodation is average and basic but OK for the price. The breakfast is very good. The staff is very serviceminded and nice. It is located in a very small town and is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ida3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile


We returned to the New Inn 3 months after having Sunday lunch here, we asked if we could have our room a bit earlier, which was not a problem as we has a wedding to attend.
We were shown to our room, although not a huge room, it was cosy, practical & great value for money.
We had breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, which was served with a generous helping of toast & coffee, the breakfast was a full English but not at all greasy.
I would definately stay here again if in the area again, the staff were very helpful & made our stay very worth while.
A credit to the village of Dowlish Wake, which I may add is one of the most enjoyable places I have visited in a long time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way back up North after a week away. We arrived at 17.30 - the pub was closed but the owner let us in and checked us in to our room in the garden. It was lovely - spotlessly clean, double bed and a single for our 2 year old. Very handily right in the garden so we were able to sit outside whilst he let off some steam after a long journey. We ate at the pub that evening. Food was superb, great value (as was the service)! We were made to feel at home with our little one - who can be quite a chatterbox (and not the quietest). We retired early to our room which was very quiet.
Breakfast was also excellent - choice of cereals and juices and a choice of cooked breakfast. I had the smoked haddock and poached egg with toast, whilst hubby had the full english. Again, service was superb!
A lovely end to our week away, great hosts, great food and great value! The village of Dowlish Wake is very pretty and we walked down to the Cider Mill in the morning to stretch our legs.
Can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was a double and single - the shower room was clearly created for those wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just happened upon this lovely pub by accident whilst we were out driving though we are quite local we hade never been in here before.
Food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble.
Staff were friendly and courteous.
We will definitely come again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winshamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilminster
1.8 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
11.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
4.6 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#3 of 11 in Ilminster
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Cudworth Road | Dowlish Wake, Ilminster TA19 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilminster
Price Range: $85 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Dowlish Wake in the heart of picturesque rural Somerset, the New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum.We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking Restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Ilminster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing