We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious - would recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of trattoria le ginestre

trattoria le ginestre
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Radicofani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious - would recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Great little restaurant that my family and I stumbled across when going to dinner in Radicofani. We have visited the town before and have always eaten in the main part of town, but we saw this on the drive in and decided to give it a chance. Great decision! The owner/chef is very friendly and helpful - he speaks almost fluent English. We had the pecorino tempura for an appetizer which was a little bland but good. We each had pasta dishes which were delicious. Amazing tiramisu for dessert! The restaurant was quiet for a Wednesday night but I would recommend anyone in the area to try this place at least once.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    96
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best meal in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely restaurant, beautifully planned and decorated by couple who have eye for detail. Owner is also chef, and takes personal interest in food and wine list recommendations. Had two faultless meals. This couple deserve to be successful - quality is up to the top standards. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“How a trattoria should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were staying in the Radicofani area mid september.I asked in the central bar where was a good place to eat in the village,he said almost everywhere but I was curious about Le Ginestre.
We were due to meet "gourmet friends" for lunch on a very windy,rainy day..when I saw the menu outside the trattoria I knew we'd made the right choice. We were greeted by the chef/owner and as it was a friday, fresh fish/seafood was also on the menu...however the weather did'nt really entice seafood.Our chef/waiter kindly recommended antipasti and a good local Orcia Rosso, we shared crostini and a seafood antipasto(got in the mood anyway!) all very delicous and made with local produce and fantasy.We opted for various pasta's, mainly home made pici the local speciality..which was offered with differant sauces,but also tagliatelle..everything was very good,portions very reasonable and we were tempted to share each others choice. Afterwards a main course was difficult to contemplate,but very tempting,however our friends had to leave Radicofani,so we opted for desserts (a perfect semifreddo)coffee and grappa.All in all a perfect experience,nice atmosphere,charming service,great vino and food.Well recommended,we shall go again when in the Val D'Orcia!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sempreaglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Visiting Val d' Orcia is a treat for the eyes and finding Trattoria La Ginestra on a 102 F day with its air conditioned dining room was a welcome respite from the sun. But the surpise was the full menu and the kind attention of our hosts. The prices are the most reasonable we have found in the 7 years we have visited this region. The portions were moderate and the quality outstanding. This is no ordinary menu. It is a menu that is well thought out to deliver the taste and quality that one would expect from a more mature restaurant. We will be back, for the food, for the friendship and to walk the streets of this beautiful town in the most beautiful part of Tuscany.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed trattoria le ginestre also viewed

Radicofani, Province of Siena
Radicofani, Province of Siena
 
Radicofani, Province of Siena
 
Radicofani, Province of Siena
Piancastagnaio, Province of Siena
 

Been to trattoria le ginestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing