We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good life”
Review of Il Selvino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Selvino
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Where to start: super friendly host, treat yourself to great honest Italian meals prepared by a local (hi Esther!) twice per week, nice surroundings, clean well kept appartments, the pool is quit large and have I mentioned the great vibe of the place? At the top of this accommodation you'll find a prize winning wineproducer... The location is super central, so nothing keeps you from exploring Toscani. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanWicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

me and my husbond have enjoyed one week at Il Selvino. Allessandro have a great hospitallity, and the food and wine was exellent. We had an appartment for two, with a place outside where we enjoyed the nature and sun. The stab asked us if we like a cappucino or esspresso, and we did not pay for it. Il Selvino is placed in an area which is in the middel of everything you like to see i tuscany. Whithin an our you reach the cost, Chianti district, Firenze,.... Allessandro helped us with all we asked for, he was there for us all the time. May is a nice time to visit also, and it suits for couples and families.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank helene sofie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The food was great as was the wine! The staff and Alessandro made us feel at home and treated us so warmly. The rooms were clean and spacious. The grounds were also very nice with a beautiful pool to unwind in at the end of a full day. We were also well located to see the sights in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandsvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our family, two boys 2 and 5 years, spent a week in Il Selvino. Really nice atmosphere and very friendly hosts. Alessandro and his son, and Ester and Michaela were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The food was great, and kids couldn't get enough of the spescially made pasta pomodore. At night the grown-ups were spoiled with a 4 course meal served right outside the appartment, so that we could stay close to sleeping kids.The pool and garden was wonderful for the boys. Il Selvino is close to Lucca, Piza, Firenze etc. We strongly recommend Il Selvino both for families with children as well as couples.
We hope to return to this Tuscan paradise soon!
Jannicke & Bård, Norway

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannicke_ellingsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Great place. In Tuscany, we stopped at two locations, but the real Tuscany and genuine Italian hospitality we met with Alessandro. Wonderful atmosphere, great food (!!!), yet I feel the taste of spaghetti with seafood...crostini...ice cream with strawberries. Everything we ate was excellent. Tipici di Toscana as they say. Bought some olive oil there (3 litres) - very good quality, very tasty. We ate at many places in Tuscany, here was the best food! And we are the fans of great food, in every country we visit. The location is convenient for sightseeing. Close to Florence, Pisa, Lucca, San Gimignano, Volterra, we also visited Siena and the Chianti hills (I recommend not to miss). We were also at the seaside and drove to Bolgheri - tasty food (Tuscan cuisine) and worth visiting. The area of Il Selvino is full of small places worth visiting, depending on whether You are on a romantic trip or a family with small children or with teenagers. In Tuscany you can not get bored, and everyone will find something interesting. Alessandro is really willing to help, advise. He shows on the maps what is worth visiting, including outlets and nice shops (we were at Montevarchi - The Mall is for Prada fans, but there are ony three brands I guess; in Leccio you can also find many luxury brands, and in Berberino di Mugello you'll find not only the most expensive shops, but also tipical Italian medium brands and a lot of popular shops well-known abroad). Agroturismo is in the style of typical Tuscan architecture, the rooms are either recently renovated or very well maintained. It's clean. As we traveled with 2 y.o. daughter we needed hot water for preparing the food. There was no problem with it. And the staff was not bored with giving us boiling water every morning and evening. Children are adored there at every step.
Overall - the atmosphere is as if we came to visit friends, good friends and not be the guest who stayed with strangers. Alessandro, Ester - really take care of this. And once again - the place is really child friendly. There is a small playground, a nice swimming pool with steps, which is a big plus for families with young children. They can go step by step slowly into the pool or play on the steps. Poolside outdoor furnishings are comfortable. There are pine trees near the pool. The different times you can find shade at the pool. I'm pregnant so I did not want to be exposed to the sun. But my husband loves the sun. Great that the pool area is both with sun and shade. Not without any tree that You need to use big umbrellas all the time. Of course umbrellas also are there. But we were not using it. And our daughter sounds really to like it and to be happy at Il Selvino. The farm is very nice, surrounded by olive trees. The owner has a dog named Chello that our daughter still miss. It is so.. like visiting friends. First time to feel so. And we travel a lot. At night, fireflies fly. It's beautiful. Birds sings almost all the time, especially in the morning.You can relax. Really, I strongly recommend this place. There You can feel the real Tuscany, not like in the big hotels without character. But it keeps the standard, is clean and equipped in all You need, not the SPA :) but very ok. Hope to be there next year. With both kids. Regards for owners and the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank justynaiigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Il Selvino,

What a wonderful place to stay in Tuscany, what a beautiful Agriturismo, the host Alessandro and his team Paula and Ester at Il Selvino made me feel so welcome and part of the family, they went out of their way to make my stay to most pleasurable possible in so many ways, it was greatly appreciated. I was booked through Adrianna & Friends agency which included cooking lessons with Ester of home made delicious Tuscan food. This was such a great experience, and now my family are so well feed with home made pizza, bruschetta, chicken caccietore... I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 125Caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Il Selvino, a wonderful warm and hospitabel place to stay......Our appartment Casa Vite in one of the beautiful restaured buildings was downstaires , with a very large,beautiful garden you can use with enough shade from the trees. A simple, but really lovely appartment with peasantstyle furniture.The host, Alessandro, and his team make you feel so welcome, almost like family. In the restaurant you can enjoy lovely meals at some days during the week, and also breakfast. The restaurant is near to the very large nice swimmingpool with chairs, beds and parasols. From here you can easily reach many famous places in Tuscany and even the beach......

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellenastrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terricciola
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 18 in Terricciola
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fattoria Fibbiano
Fattoria Fibbiano
#2 of 18 in Terricciola
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti
Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti
#1 of 3 in Terricciola
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Le Querciole
Le Querciole
#3 of 14 in Casciana Terme
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Dharma
B&B Dharma
#2 of 3 in Terricciola
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Selvino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Selvino

Address: Via Pieve Dei Pitti 1/3 | La Sterza, 56030, Terricciola, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Terricciola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Terricciola
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Il Selvino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing