We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
51
9
1
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
9
1
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting lemon mousse hired a car pasta other guests san gimignano ida sergio hosts chapel villa hospitality land house delight tuscany meats
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 68 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This review is strictly for the wine tasting not for lodging. Sergio was an absolute fantastic host presenting wines with each course. It was like listening to your grandfather telling stories as he waxed on about the wine we were drinking while gazing out at the fields waiting for the wild bores to appear. The food was absolutely fantastic and generously portioned. Sitting in the tasting room overlooking the hillside rounded the experience off well. Price was more than acceptable given the amount of wine we drank, food we ate, and the mini tour we received.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tim141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pievedepitti, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

dear Tim,
it is always a pleasure for us to welcome winelovers to Pieve de' Pitti and to bring the in the vineyards, in the cellar, to tell you more about our wine-pholosopy and the love we have for our lands. And we get satisfaction from reviews expressing such a deep appreciation.
That means that you start to love our lands too! Pisa is a pretty unknown wineregion, but is full of small family-managed wineries, as we are, that are producing great wines, with a traditional tuscan taste. Thanks for spreading it!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As the title suggests I, and my family love staying at Pieve de' Pitti. So much so that we have been there four times over the past ten years. Our last visit was July 2012. We always stay at the big house at the top of the hill (rather than the converted barn with pool half way up the hill). We've stayed in the main apartment at the top of the house and in the two separate double bedrooms. I've travel quite extensively, but this is without doubt the most peaceful, beautiful and relaxing place i've stayed. The house and surroundings are like an arty film set - views that take in the Tuscan landscape for miles, a gorgeous large pool, and lovely gardens. But of equal delight are the family who run the business. They are kind, warm, v trustworthy and generous and we've had some of best home cooked (Italian) food ever. Full stop. You can also buy their excellent wine and olive oil as a reasonable rate. I've stayed their with my wife, with my extended family and with my kids. Every time we want come back for more.
The house is only 45 mins from Pisa (car hire) so it makes an easy short stay as well.
I'm reluctantly writing this review because I don't want too many people to find out about Pieve de' Pitti. But hardly anyone reads Tripadvisor, do they?

Room tip: The three bed apartment at the top of the house has views to die for. Not to mention a gorgeous kitchen. Great for large groups. For couples try the two double bedrooms with bathrooms and a fab/vast terrace overlooking the pool and hills. It can get very hot in the middle of the summer.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3001Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pievedepitti, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

dear Jason,
what I have to say? We miss all of you and we hope to welcome you very very soon.
Maybe in September, during the harvest. Is that an experience that you still miss, right????
We wait for you.
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited Pieve de' Pitti this summer together with my family and some friends, staying in the Il Poggetto apartment.
The house has been nicely renovated few years ago, and we experienced exactly the same feeling we expected looking at the photos on their website.
The place is silent and quite, far enough from the main road and surrounded by woods and hills: the sunset over their vineyards is breathtaking.The apartment was large and really well equipped (a private bathroom in each room!!!) and we also had our private area outside, with a large table, chairs and umbrellas and it was so suggestive having the breakfast close to the grapes or enjoying a barbecue, all together, by night.

In case it's your first visit to Tuscany, as it was of us, that's a very good and central location: we drove to Volterra, San Gimignano, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and spent a day on the beach in Cecina. Roads in the nearby are easy-to-drive and not so busy. We suggest you their winetour. We left our children in the pool and followed the owner into the vineyard for a very interesting and tasting experience. I'm not a sommelier,I just love the wine but the food her mum cooked was delicious. My friends were excited about the wines also, so…even it was a little bit too technical at least for me, being no expert…. it’s been well worthwhile. Do it, if you have time.
Plan a trip to Monteriggioni also. Is a lovely old town close to Siena that the owner suggested us to visit. It's pretty unique. Follow their suggestions in general: they are very willing in introducing you to the hidden gems of the area and gave us really good tips for restaurants! A relaxing experience in a beautiful place managed by exquisite people. We hope to be back very very soon.

Room tip: all apartments have a private outdoor area with tables, chairs and umbrellas and a barbecue!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in Pieve de Pitti in August 2012 ( il pogetto). It  was supposed to be  a great  last week of our summer holidays in Tuscany. It was not!
Firstly the owners made us pay  the whole amount of money at our arrival without even letting us see our apartments.
Also  they informed us „kindly“ that  we have  to pay also 200 euro as a deposit without any advance notice about such requirement ; I and my friend sharing the apartment had to pay this fee (200 each) - and that  it was  impossible to get keys without paying this.
After 7 days spent  in  a nicely equipped villa with cozy rooms (ikea italian style), with a swimming pool inhabited by a swarm of wasps nesting in a wooden deck, and surrounded with an electrical wire  fence separating us from  their vineyard (really kids friendly, huh? ) they have forgotten to give us back our deposit saying they took only 100 euros from each of us! The day before  our departure the owner,  Mr. Sergio, insulting us ,treating as thieves and threatening with  police threw us out of his office without our money. Next morning they come again to il Pogetto keeping  insulting us ,repeating their version and finally we were given only 100 euros back each, instead of 200 euros.
Maybe they just don't know how to run the business and they have a big mess in their papers. But it doesn't justify their rudeness and impudence.
The only thing i can do now  is to write this review to warn people about staying in this place.
And one more thing- don't buy their wine ! bad people can only make bad one!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank szczeblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pievedepitti, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Monika, we are less than happy with words you've written about us and so sorry that you came back home with such a fit of anger. We always pay a lot of attention in clearly writing all the info, terms and conditions of the booking in the email we’re use to send to the clients before they confirm the booking. And details about payment and deposit are neatly listed in it. So you must have read it, before paying the deposit to confirm your booking. Anyway, we gave you a copy at your arrival, together with a receipt of the deposit we pleased you to pay (200€ for each apartment) as caution money. You paid the 400€ (because you booked two apartments for three families) and signed the receipt.
So, you can easily imagine how frustrated and amazed we were, when you arrived, late in the afternoon, on the last day of your stay, pretending 600€ back.
Our documents were in order and your caution money securely kept in our safe. No doubts about it and documents you had in your hand proved it too.
We really hope you can shed light on this issue inside your group because everything originated from the nebulous managing of the balance between different members of your group at arrival, we suppose, because you arrived late in the evening, after a all-day-long travel, and you were maybe tired and you can’t wait to enter in your new house.

Payments have to be set at check-in, as anticipated by email, but we wouldn't have found it difficult showing you the apartments before paying the balance, in case you had asked for it. We have never thought to adopt it as a rule, but it could be a good idea for the future.
In any case, we have been at your disposal all the week long willing to solve any problem you might have during your stay. If you had doubts about the deposit you paid, if you thought it didn't meet the condition you subscribed at the booking and, again at the check-in, we would have been more than helpful to solve this regrettable dispute, instead of having it at the last minute.
Sometimes it's not so easy to think back even to few days, that's the reason why we use to write everything asking our client to subscribe it. Just to avoid discussion as the one we had.

We're so sorry your days at the poolside have been disturbed by the seasonal wasps. We could easily remove the nest if you only had told us.
As regards the electric picket, it is running around the vineyards only, and quite beyond the wooden fencing that surrounds the house, the garden and the pool, it's well indicated and far enough from the play area. It is not harmful for the children, in any case (low voltage).
Anyway, I'm sure that's not the point, and we did our best to pass over your innuendos.
Honestly speaking, we are more than sure that we managed you booking (and your money) in a proper way, and not just because documents you subscribed are supporting our version.
That's simply because we take care to our clients and, whether right or wrong , you know we tried to meet you halfway, despite you didn't mentioned it. We hope that, with a clear mind, you will revalue your experience at Pieve de' Pitti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed the spring in Tuscany so much!!! The weather was incredibly excellent, the food delicious and the wine....oh the wine produced there was great!. And most of all: friendly people. We will definitely come back!

Ulrike und Johannes

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulijak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pievedepitti, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pieve de' Pitti, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Uli and Johannes, many thanks for your review on your stay at Pieve de' Pitti. We really appreciate it and we're so happy to hear that you brought back home good memories of us. Grapes we tasted together during the Winetour have been finally harvested last Friday. We hope you would come back next year to taste the wine we made with!!!!
Ich verspreche mein Deutsch wird im kommenden Jahr ganz besser sein!!!! Liebe Grüße

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews