We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalmunzie Castle
Nearby Hotels
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
227
97
43
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
97
43
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterhunting lodgetower roomsski centrehole golf coursescottish castleposter bedfaded grandeurmoney spentbeautiful locationplay golfcourse dinnersconespublic roomslog firemanor housedining room
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 425 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel sits on fabulous grounds overlooking the golf course. We only had one night, and wish we could have stayed for a number of days. The house is old and nothing flash, but it sits high on the hill and the rooms were great. We had a number of rooms including a turret room which meant we could basically have a couple of interconnecting rooms for the kids. The master bed room was huge. We had a game of golf while we were there, which was great fun and the views back to the hotel with the mountains in the background were fine. The highlight for us was the restaurant, it was small, had a great atmosphere, and the food was spectacular. The hotel is fit for something special and a bit different and less for people wanting something self contained and 24 hour room service. A memorable stay with fond memories.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms that are all a bit different, so best call the hotel and discuss. We loved staying in the turret room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJohnsonSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Dalmunzie, having got married there in 2012. As always, we were made to feel so welcome and at home and were upgraded to one of the best rooms in the hotel. We had such a relaxing time, beautiful food and wine. The new furniture and log burners in the lounge are lovely. You can see that the new owners are making small changes gradually. It really is a very special place and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Stewart room is a four poster room with views to the front and side.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMitchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Been there has been a gorgeous experience. We loved it so much. It made our anniversary such a wonderful magic moment. The dinner has been a wonderful experience and the chef is one of the best we ever tried. We advice it a lot!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ZosoeReadyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here during January and first impression was okay and the location is great if the weather is kind to you. Room was cold and fairly bland and the hotel in general is quite tired. Firstly the manager was verging on rude when we merely asked to reserve a table and in general he seemed to be more in the background rather then welcoming customers. The rest of the staff were very pleasant but the manager needs some training in how to deal with the general public. The food was okay but nothing like as good as we were expecting and had to wait some time to get served and the bar area is small and not very welcoming.
All in all I have stayed in far better country house hotels and this place needs a manager who can actually deal with customers and greatly improve the whole experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are some what mystified that your stay was such a poor one from your review and would be happy to discuss should you wish to. The hotel is going through a plan of refurbishment over the next 12 months and we have already re-carpeted half of the rooms and redecorated them. As for your comments regarding the manager we would like to discuss this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely old shooting lodge in beautiful surroundings. A wee bit tired but the managers were telling us about the refurbishment plans under the new owner, should be great with an orangery log burners and upgraded rooms. We stayed in a oak panelled suite which was comfortable and clean, and our friends in a four poster. The hotel has a 9 hole golf course lovely walks, and a really nice welcome back in from the cold. Scottish cask ale and reasonably priced cocktail bar. Dinner was excellent, relaxed service menu limited but interesting, scallops fois gras and venison loin were the standouts from meal, with a tasty albarino. Breakfasts cooked to order and again very tasty. No doubt the refurbishment will take significant capital and the prices will need to rise, but as it is, theres a charm about these classic Scottish shooting lodges and I just hope that the refurb is sympathetic to its history and charm!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews