We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Dalmunzie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalmunzie Castle
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff at Dalmunzie went above and beyond in order to make our group of 18 feel welcome during our stay. From the bagpiper greeting to afternoon sandwiches and private dinners in the Library, every last detail was perfect! Our dinners were beautifully prepared and served by gracious staff. We were never rushed or made to feel like anything was too much effort. Upon check-in one room was a bit small for two guests, Jennifer and Michael never missed a beat and genorously resolved the issue. Thanks to you and your friendly accommodating staff for a memorable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest spending a bit extra and get one of the larger rooms on the main floor. Some upper r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintziepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    86
    41
    36
    12
See reviews for
74
215
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Forty-five of us - family and friends - had a wonderful time at Dalmunzie last weekend. About a dozen of us stayed, provided with large and very comfortable rooms. Our cocker spaniel was made to feel equally welcome! The new chef, Richard, produced an excellent set menu, carefully chosen to ensure we could enjoy local(ish) fare including delicious smoked trout, pork and crackling, and strawberry sorbet. The service was faultless and we all had a top time. Most important of all, my mother the Birthday Queen, enjoyed seeing friends and relations all celebrating together. Dalmunzie is in good hands!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersieGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a first-class family celebration meal to mark a special birthday; can't fault the cooking, menu, service or general attention to detail. Thank you. As a long-term visitor to the hotel I can't help feeling the fabric of the building needs attention and the interior design seems dated and oddly cramped for the splendour of the building. It's a wonderful place in need of some loving care and attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Dalmunzie Castle is set in a beautiful secluded region with rolling hills and a stream alongside. The house itself is gorgeous - lots of history and rooms with personality, from the billiards room to the dining room, bedrooms and lounge, the whole house was charming and classic. The food was absolutely amazing - we had a 5 star dinner and breakfast which were both absolutely delicious! The service was lovely. The atmosphere was also perfect - very quiet and warm. There's a big golf course for keen golfers, and plenty of space for walking. Everything really was fantastic and in working order, a five star establishment and worth the journey for a quiet and peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fezbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank-you for a great review, We as a team at Dalmunzie were glad to see you have an enjoyable experience at the Castle. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent view and ambience BUT many problems with staff and room preparation. There was broken glass on the floor of our room; there were no extra rolls of toilet tissue and the one roll that was in our bathroom was half empty; one of the bathtowels was so frayed and threadbare that it was only fit for use as a rag; we had to ask twice for an iron and ironing board because "We'll bring it right up" seems to mean "We're likely to forget"; the menu for the dinner included with our room had very few selections. Not a bad experience but not worth the very high price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timinator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank-you for your report and we always take on-board guest’s comments regarding their stay at Dalmunzie Castle.
We were concerned to read your comments and have to say cannot understand were these comments come from.
We find it difficult to see you had broken glass on the floor of your room as all rooms are hovered and checked before arrival. There is always back up toilet rolls in the bathrooms and we as a company who strives to help the environment do not throw away half used toilet paper rolls.
We have only 2 months ago renewed all our linen and this includes our bath towels. So we cannot see how you could have had a thread bare towel.
As for the menu having few choices, We have a minim of 4 choices of starters, main courses and deserts. Our menu ingredients are all locally sourced and as you will see from our previous reports our kitchen brigade are highly recommended.
We will look into all your comments and should you wish to discuss your stay with me I would be only be too happy to take the time to discuss the matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the most wonderful one-night stay on our trip from Northumberland to Ullapool. Yes, the hotel is a bit quirky and the plumbing is not perfect, but who cares. The location is stunning with easy (ie flat!) walks or longer treks straight from the hotel. The staff are efficient, charming and very well turned-out. The food, needless to say, is delicious. Admittedly we were spoiled as we were in an enormous tower room (with a very large, comfortable bed) and it was very hot and sunny so we were able to sit outside on the well-kept lawns, but I think that the hotel would be just as enjoyable in a smaller room in winter with roaring fires and snow on the peaks. I have no hesitation in giving it 5 stars -and we will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Dalmunzie Castle from all the team. We are blessed with great natural beauty around us but we were glad to see you enjoyed the great food and the service we offer here. We look forward to welcoming back to castle. You just may have the snow next time you stay!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for our 1st wedding anniversary and it was the most amazing place to be. Dalmunzie House was lovely, all staff was absolutely more than helpful and nice, the food was incredible and the whole experience there couldn't have been any better. We stayed in the Winton room and I loved that every room had a story why it got the name. We had a dinner bed and breakfast booked and finished the night off with a few dram of whisky (we could choose from a total of about 100-150 whiskies!!). Breakfast was lovely and the salmon the most delicious salmon I've ever had in my life. After checking out we had a walk through the hills and saw a wild deer. It was absolutely brilliant and we can't wait to return at some point in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Dalmunzie Castle from all the team. We were so glad you had a great 1st wedding anniversary with us. As you will know we are blessed with natural beauty around us and we were glad to see you enjoyed our food and service. We look forward to welcoming back to the Castle in the future (maybe for your 2nd anniversary).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal of Glenshee
13.0 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
12.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
275 reviews
12.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmunzie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmunzie Castle

Property: Dalmunzie Castle
Address: Glenshee, Spittal of Glenshee PH10 7QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Spittal of Glenshee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spittal of Glenshee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmunzie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant, turreted castle and former laird's residence dating from 1510, Dalmunzie Castle is a traditional hotel on a 6,500-acre estate with mountain views, and is situated 5.9 miles from the Glenshee Ski Centre and 24.8 miles from Pitlochry train station. The individually designed, antique-furnished rooms all include en suite bathrooms. Complimentary breakfast is served in an expansive, white-tablecloth dining room, which also offers a fine-dining menu of Scottish cuisine made from locally sourced produce. There are wood-panelled lounges, a library and a snug bar, as well as a 9-hole golf course, a tennis court and numerous hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalmunzie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmunzie Hotel Blairgowrie
Dalmunzie Castle Spittal Of Glenshee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing