We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalmunzie Castle
Nearby Hotels
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
$331
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$122
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$83
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
226
97
43
40
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
97
43
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterhunting lodgetower roomsski centrehole golf coursescottish castleposter bedfaded grandeurmoney spentbeautiful locationplay golfcourse dinnersconespublic roomslog firemanor housedining room
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 423 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location for skiing and outdoor pursuits.
Hotel in need of a refurbishment. Rooms tired and cold, which was acknowledged by the temporary manager.
Breakfast was poor, dinner was good but....the whole dinner experience was ruined by an over amorous couple who nobody took the trouble topoint out was wholly ununacceptable in a
supposedly luxury hotel.
Would I stay again. ..absolutely not.Overpriced, poor value , tired and cold...try other places.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatches69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear reviewer we were obviously not what you were expecting. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and rather surprised that you did not say any of the comments you wrote in your review before leaving us, even though we spoke to you the morning of departure. We have taken your comments on boarded and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A stay at Dalmunzie is a special one, an all round experience, the warmth, ambience, quirky architecture and staff are lovely, the food absolutely exceptional.

To start, the hotel prices include a 3 course dinner (with additional pre starter home made bread, olives etc) the current chef (in house since January 2013) has held michelin stars and it shows. An understated menu does not prepare you for the culinary experience, exceptional, to add to this the dining room is beautiful.

Our room (McPherson) was spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable, with a country house feel and a 4-poster bed. A welcome tray with complimentary sherry and water, and an Easter bunny. Wonderful views.

There are some minor quirks, which will either be easily overlooked or a cause for grumpy complaint.

My opinion is a stay at the Dalmunzie is magical, I would go now and overlook any minor detail, if those details are not easily overlooked you can be assured the staff will do everything to try and accommodate you.

If the hotel does acquire new owners or the current owner remains (please take heart) a refurbishment would be marvellous, but would also position this hotel as a perfect 5* country retreat. In doing so it would be most definitely be able to command exclusive and expensive rates, out of reach of most pockets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikecycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dirty, unclean, unkept, poorly maintained, cheap and nasty maintenance. Hotel is up for sale and it is clear the owner is completely disinterested. Got a bad feeling when snow at entrance to driveway was not well cleared - feeling confirmed when visitors carpark was a slushy snowy mess making for unpleasant trudging with luggage. Room originally allocated had a worn stained unvacuumed carpet, badly made single beds with no headboards, polyester night frills with stains, basin in bedroom blocked by dirty chair, tiny dirty tv, black gooey stuff in basin cupboard, bathroom tiles from another century with grout missing, dirty shower curtain, stained towels, and so on and so on. 195 pounds !!!!!!!!!!!! Asked to be moved to a clean room - was better but still revolting. Dirty, dusty, had an old tv with no Freeview, cobwebs all across the walls, view of overflowing rubbish bins, bathroom and shower fittings from post war era, 20 pence plastic bath plug, bathroom mirror was a badly cut mirror tile, basic light fittings. Management said that excellent food and friendly staff should compensate for lack of facilities - at 195 GBP, that is a pathetic argument and everything should be perfect. Shabby chic and quirky does not cut it anymore - the place is disgusting. If this was Four In A Bed programme, I would give 0 for facilities, 0 for cleanliness, pay about 55% of asking price (the dinner is worth it, the rooms should come free), and a definite 'not coming back' recommendation. Stay away until hotel is sold and refurbished, look for good value B&B in the area, and enjoy Dalmunzie as a walker only.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudyGJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here one night just before Easter in 2013, having been here once before in June 2006. I had really fond memories of this stunning property, set amid the hills/mountains of Glenshee and the late winter snows this time provided a really magnificent backdrop, The staff were polite, courteous and helpful and the food is truly exquisite. The atmosphere is really wonderful and I hope to return again to this iconic hotel.
But I have to qualify this otherwise glowing review with some serious concerns. While I understand fully late owner Scott Poole's desire to create an ambience of "jaded grandeur" I do believe there is a world of difference between such an ideal and plain straightforward scruffiness and neglect. The first room that we were shown can only be described as sad and tired. It hadn't been vacuumed, there was dust everywhere and the wash-hand basin surround had large and unsightly stains in it. To the manager's credit, we were given the choice of two other rooms and settled on the Rattray room, which was infinitely better. But even here, the bathroom left a lot to be desired, with no chain on the bathtub plug, no lampshades in the bathroom or toilet and the wardrobe required a high degree of manual dexterity to open and close it. Not a train smash, admittedly but not up to scratch either. The bed was great, however and the room was very quiet and cosy.
If I may be so bold, I would suggest that the new owners and managers take a close look at what is offered in Circa 1905, a boutique hotel in which I stayed in Barcelona late last year. It is also very old but the balance between that essential quirkiness of an old building and functionality is far better than at Dalmunzie, in my humble opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, General Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we were glad to read over all your stay was another memorable one. We have taken all your comments onboard and will look into the matters that arose. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming back to the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend break at Dalmunzie to celebrate a family birthday. On arrival, I have to confess I was a little disappointed by the general air of shabby faded grandeur. Our room was of magnificent scale but I was bemused by the notice in the bathroom informing us that hot water was available only between 6.30 and 8.30 am and for a similar period each evening.

However, we had not been in residence for very long before we were completely won over by the new team of staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Within a few hours we felt totally at home, knew the first names of all the staff, and felt we never wanted to leave.

Both dinners and both breakfasts were truly delightful.

We learnt that the hotel is going through a difficult period of transition and that the whole team of staff have been in post only since November. This team really do know the meaning of 'service' and we felt totally cared-for and utterly relaxed during our stay.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a 'Tower Room'; it was huge. But we were able to view many of the other, 'standard' rooms. They were all beautifully furnished and many people might actually prefer a smaller, cosier room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews