We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel”
Review of Dalmunzie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalmunzie Castle
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel in the middle of Glenshee. The staff were very freindly and the hotel had a nice lounge with a big open fire and a nice bar. We were in the Winton room, Its has a 4 poster bed and has very nice veiws. The bath room was good but I can see why this hotel mite get some negative reveiws, The bathroom could do with abit of modernizing, it looked abit tired in places. If you dont mind little things that need touching up you will love this place, We loved the hotel and the location. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a marvellous old hotel tucked away high up a glen - and it's a pity so few people were staying when we visited. The staff are friendly and attentive, and we had a magnificent old room in a turret, that seemed to be steeped in history. The food was more mixed, unfortunately - we had a fine meal the first evening, but it was less successful on the second night (my duck seemd to have been reheated). I'll allow that as a blip, since overall the experience was extremely positive - and you can go walking straight from the door. It's essence of Scotland!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMartinMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We held our wedding reception at Dalmunzie Castle and couldn't have had chosen better place for it! The hotel staff was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, they took care of everything making our whole experience very relaxed. We stayed at the hotel for the whole weekend and also had 'carriages' book for its duration. Both places are not very modern but that's what make the place so romantic. The scenery surrounding the hotel is mind blowing and the golf course perfect. All together made our wedding an unforgettable experience. Thank you Dalmunzie

Room Tip: Stuart room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_and_D_McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The Staff was wonderful and the food was a culinary delight. The location of Dalmunzie was beautiful.the hotel is very close to great trails for hiking. A great place to stay and explore the highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryB4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you expect modern plumbing and modern finishes then go elsewhere. The Dalmunzie House Hotel has plenty of old-world elegance with a touch of rumpled Scottish charm. My wife and I booked the Birkmyre Tower Room for 2 nights in August 2012 as a celebration of our first wedding anniversary.
Let me start by saying the staff is first-rate; they treated us like royalty during our entire stay. The first night we had the whole place to ourselves so they set our dinner up in the smoking room - candles, fire, dim lights, superb dinner, and great wine. We had such a wonderful experience that we changed our dinner plans for the second evening so as to eat at the hotel again. The next day was a wash-out so we just hung around the hotel reading in front of the fire, napping, drinking tea and eating scones (more on the scones later); my wife was in heaven.
The hotel is located in a quiet and secluded glen surrounded by spectacular scenery. Breakfast was the traditional fare but done very well. I have mobility issues and the second floor rooms (including ours) can be accessed by a lift. The Birkmyre room is huge but comfortable.
Some nit picky things - hot water is on a timer so call if you need it during an off time. The plumbing is not new so be gentle. TV's are small or non-existent but who needs one anyway.
Try the scones - they are the best we have ever had!

Room Tip: Since we had the place to ourselves we got an opportunity to look at most of them - and they all loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. Paid £235 for B&B in the MacKintosh room.
Hugely overpriced. Room was very badly in need of redecoration. Poor, and time restricted, hot water supply. No comfy chairs for sitting. Tiny TV and nowhere to watch it from. Everything "tired".
On the plus side, the hotel has a beautiful setting, everywhere very clean, food excellent, staff attentive but clearly a huge amount of money needs to be invested in bringing the whole building up to scratch. Until that happens the room prices are not value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgowgirl809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed again this year taking friends with us, it was there first experience at Dalmunzie. They were not disappointed. We had 4 fantastic days superb food and the hospitality was perfect. We have been visiting this hotel for some years and it never dissapponts. We just hope the new owners can keep the magic going.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal of Glenshee
12.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,910 reviews
13 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
21.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,114 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmunzie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmunzie Castle

Address: Glenshee, Spittal of Glenshee PH10 7QG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Spittal of Glenshee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spittal of Glenshee
Price Range: $140 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmunzie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant, turreted castle and former laird's residence dating from 1510, Dalmunzie Castle is a traditional hotel on a 6,500-acre estate with mountain views, and is situated 5.9 miles from the Glenshee Ski Centre and 24.8 miles from Pitlochry train station. The individually designed, antique-furnished rooms all include en suite bathrooms. Complimentary breakfast is served in an expansive, white-tablecloth dining room, which also offers a fine-dining menu of Scottish cuisine made from locally sourced produce. There are wood-panelled lounges, a library and a snug bar, as well as a 9-hole golf course, a tennis court and numerous hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalmunzie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmunzie Hotel Blairgowrie
Dalmunzie Castle Spittal Of Glenshee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing