We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Estate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalmunzie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dalmunzie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grand Estate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had obviously unrealistic expectations when we booked this accommodation. We expected a truly Scottish experience in the middle of nowhere. Although everything was quite nice, it lacked much that made us feel like we were in Scotland. Our room was very nice and spacious, the 4 poster bed was comfortable. The countryside was absoloutley beautiful and this is what we will remember. The Hotel had very helpful friendly staff who were sincerely attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Dinner in the restaurant was O.K., the menu said that it would be unrushed but we found quite the opposite, this began when our nuts and olives were removed prior to us finishing and then a very small entree was served (I could have used the nuts). You are advised by the Hotel to book Dinner which we agree with as the Hotel is very remote. Breakfast was very nice and again the staff are very accomodating. Overall very nice experience with great staff, probably more like a guest house than a "castle hotel".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clarence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    83
    40
    28
    7
See reviews for
70
205
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Gorgeous place..beautiful setting..excellent walks from the front door..we had the Birkmyre suite, was HUGE !! Hardly dare put my clothes away in case I lost them !!...great food at both lunch and evening..very nice staff and fab areas for just chilling out in..open fires and comfy sofas..my favourite :-)...

Room Tip: Birkmyre suite huge and bed to match
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBDawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

What a beautiful meal! Two friends and I, ate a superb three course evening meal here. Each course was excellent, the staff extremely helpful and polite, the service second to none.
The beef was to die for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family loved our stay ! Everything from service to food was outstanding!! We love everything Dalmunzie! The staff are so sweet. We had the Birkmyer rooms. It was a bit noisy....the people above us were not rowdy ....it is a old castle...one has to expect this! It is part of the charm. The owner came and greeted us and was lovely.
I am recommending this to everyone I speak with that is looking for an experience.

Room Tip: We had a room with a ghost!!! Snapped a picture and there he was clear as clear could be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cthrn555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Did not stay at the hotel. On a stag weekend and played the 9 holes. Ideal for this, some good fun holes. Bottles of water at £2 a pop too expensive. Would recommend course to anyone who enjoys some challenging par 3's. Great setting, amazing scenery.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent staff, very impressive location, beautiful and charming hotel and room, fantastic dinner and breakfast.
Numerous amenities, whisky bar, snooker, golf, tennis, trekking....
The hotel is well located, close to Balmoral, and it is a very good value for money.
It is a fantastic residence, and worth a detour if you are in Scotland.
They also gave us complimentary cherry/tea/coffee/water in your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tpower06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Dalmunzie at a weekend in May 2012 as a wedding treat from one of our sets of grandparents. And what a treat it was! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the manager who showed us around the castle and also took us to our room (the Winton room). We were just delighted with the room - a big four poster bed with views onto the hills beyond, lots of characterful furniture and a big leather sofa to sit on and enjoy some tea, shortbread and the cupcakes I had ordered in advance for my husband as a surprise. The chocolate cupcakes, exquisitely decorated with piped buttercream, fresh fruit, and a personalised message, were a sign of the delicious food to come. The chefs at Dalmunzie are clearly very talented and prepared a delicious meal with surprise appetisers between courses and the best lamb we have ever tasted. We had dinner in the library, a gorgeous room with lots of candles and atmosphere. We also enjoyed breakfast in the sun room with open views out to the hills - just lovely in the morning sunshine. The homemade granola is also to be recommended!

The staff are a great asset to Dalmunzie and got just the right balance throughout our stay between warmth and a professional touch. We felt welcomed as guests right from start to finish.

Can't wait to come back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_Andrew312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spittal of Glenshee
13.0 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
12.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
23.0 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmunzie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmunzie Castle

Property: Dalmunzie Castle
Address: Glenshee, Spittal of Glenshee PH10 7QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Spittal of Glenshee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spittal of Glenshee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmunzie Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant, turreted castle and former laird's residence dating from 1510, Dalmunzie Castle is a traditional hotel on a 6,500-acre estate with mountain views, and is situated 5.9 miles from the Glenshee Ski Centre and 24.8 miles from Pitlochry train station. The individually designed, antique-furnished rooms all include en suite bathrooms. Complimentary breakfast is served in an expansive, white-tablecloth dining room, which also offers a fine-dining menu of Scottish cuisine made from locally sourced produce. There are wood-panelled lounges, a library and a snug bar, as well as a 9-hole golf course, a tennis court and numerous hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalmunzie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmunzie Hotel Blairgowrie
Dalmunzie Castle Spittal Of Glenshee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing