We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel in beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at Loch Rannoch Hotel. Bedroom clean and well sized with lovely views over loch and to Schiehalliaon, and food was very good. Probably worth ordering extra veg in main restaurant, but plentiful portion size in the bar. Staff were pleasant and explained a delay caused by large number of people being catered for that evening. Our dog was welcome and staff were even able to provided details of several walks in the area. Would like to return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 970Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future...

Kindest regards


The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    459
    189
    67
    19
See reviews for
192
760
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Just back from a two night stay at The Loch Rannoch Hotel, haven't stayed there for about 14 years and was not disappointed. The food was excellent, presentation lovely, staff very helpful. Bedroom very clean, reasonable size.

Views from the hotel are fantastic, sun was shining which was an added bonus, great place for walks and if you want peace to rest or spend time reading then this is the place to be.

All in all a great trip, will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have stunning loch side views, worth the money if you plan to stay in room, if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - I know that they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a wee getaway after having our first baby. We arrived and the lady on reception was lovely, and as per the amazon local deal we had a mini bottle of prosecco and chocolates in our room which was a lovely start!
Our room was beautiful and overlooked the loch (room 213) and the view was stunning. The room itself was a great size which as anyone with a baby knows this is a massive bonus!
Dinner and breakfast both nights were excellent as were the restaurant staff! Special mention to the head waiter (the man who showed us to our seats, apologies if that's not his title!) as everytime we went in the restaurant he would go out of his way to make sure we had a seat where our wee boy in his car seat would be safe :)

The food was excellent and very tasty!

All in all a brilliant stay in a brilliant setting- the hairdryer broke in our room and so before breakfast we told reception ...after breakfast there was a new one delivered to our room by the time we got back :)

All in all excellent service and excellent food! Thanks! Just what we needed with a newborn baby :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future...finger's crossed for better weather.

Kindest regards

The General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely two day stay in the Kinloch Rannoch Hotel, and I have to say it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We had a great deal for two nights with breakfast and three course dinner. Having previously stayed in the MacDonald’s hotel in Aviemore we hoped to have a similar good experience.

Despite not paying the supplement for the Loch view, our Room (219), had a lovely view of the Loch and valley from the side of the hotel. Truly breath-taking.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner in the signature restaurant on the first night. The portions were a good size, the usual smaller fancy restaurant type, which is good for me as I stuggle to eat three courses usually.

We then spent the night in the bar, which has a welcoming atmosphere.

Breakfast was lovely and the selections were great.

For location, you are in a perfect location for the central highlands. Although the road to the hotel is 10 miles of the A9 down narrow and twisty roads, its fine if you take it easy. We spent the day doing the Pass of Killikrankie and some shopping in Pitlochry.

The second night we had dinner in the bar, which is more traditional pub grub, but again it was great food. The soups in the hotel are outstanding, and I recommend the Haggis Balls as a starter.

I must also commend the staff for that night. Not only was there a bus load having dinner in the main restaurant, but another about 12 people turned up un - expectantly for dinner and they bent over backwards to accommodate them all. They were rushed off their feet but still managed and never once did they lose their professionalism.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice relaxing break or to explore the area.

I did notice some previous comments about the decor. It’s worth pointing out, this is not a 5 star city hotel. It’s a traditional Scottish one and keep that character, Its spotless inside and I loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtabbit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - I know that they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is located on the Loch side, but is pretty remote, 15 miles down a winding road. It's a very peaceful spot, but aside from walking, you would be hard pressed to find anything else to do in the vicinity. It is quite close to Blair Castle (25 mins by car) and offered better value than the hotels in Pitlochrie.
The bar food was very good and excellent in the restaurant, although not a huge choice, very well presented. The service was outstanding.
The hotel is old and has some charm but parts could do with tidying up. Our bedroom was very dark and the shower was only lukewarm.

Room Tip: This is an old country house with very squeaky floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our services it is appreciated and of course highlights what we aspire to deliver for each and every guest

It is nice to read your comments about the team and the hotel and of how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us,

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed here for one night with a group setting out on the three peak challenge starting at Ben Nevis the following day. Although the weather was wet, The location is very beautiful overlooking the loch. Considering the large size of our party, the staff (mainly European) coped very well. The hotel is looking a little 'tired' in some respects but the room was comfortable, the evening meal and breakfast were good, the bar staff friendly and the water hot. There is ample parking. Altogether this was a ideal base for our trip as it was only a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_STH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night 10th August on a DBB for a family of four. The location is very remote over looking the Loch which is lovely. The Hotel is old with certain parts in need of some upgrading. Large rip in chair in bedroom, lockers in fitness area damaged etc. Ate in the restaurant for both dinner (set menu) and breakfast which was very nice and had a good children's menu. Staff and service was very good all round, little girl was sick in bed during night, a call to reception and within a few minutes new linen and towels were at our room with the dirty ones removed.Good value for money on the package we were on.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive room and face the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank givemeaclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RannochManager, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our staff, I am happy that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
24.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
17.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing