We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel in October 2012 and again in April 2014. We love it as it is so remote and chilled (Pitlochry is the nearest town and that is 20 miles away) , we had an executive room with a view of the Loch which was beautiful. We used the pool which is very nice. For food we think the Restaurant is a tad pricy so we ate in the bar where there is ample choice and the food and service is very good. One criticism is that if you want wifi , the charge is extremely high and the Hotel told me that I would have to call BT Open Zone and negotiate a price with them direct , which I think isn't good on Macdonald's part.
**TIP** If you want to get on facebook etc , go out into the car park at the front , my signal was perfect (in the Hotel forget it)
All in all a lovely stay again and we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBobJoylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Geust

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay.
In regards to our Wi-Fi, we are currently in the process of installing better Wi-Fi conection
in our hotel

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

My Sister & I stayed in this hotel at Easter & thoroughly enjoyed the short time we had there. The view of Loch Rannoch from room 111 was spectacular & the room itself was very pleasant & comfortable. We had dinner in the bar & enjoyed our choice from the menu. Breakfast was very relaxing with plenty of choice & the waiters on duty were very pleasant & helpful. The lovely weather over the weekend really added to our stay & although we didn't get to use the pool this time we'll definitely be back for another visit

Room Tip: A loch view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Geust

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our second trip to this hotel, and I must admit the room,112, was just perfect. The view of the loch is what sells this hotel as it is just amazing, the weather can change the view on so many levels, sunny, dull, misty, all give a different view. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the hotel restaurant on one of the nights, the meal was booked at the time the hotel was booked and we got a web deal on it, which was very good for what we received, although you have to pay extra for chips, salad etc, the service of the staff is second to none and the lovely Polish waitress in the bar is wonderful, a very friendly girl and nothing too much trouble, the waiter in the restaurant in the evening was exceptional, when asked where his accent was from, it was clear he has been in many countries, Russia, Lithuania but his manners and service exceptional. The down side is the hotel is a wee bit tired in areas and was very quiet when we stayed, it's not in an area where you would just drive by and the only other hotel is closed and up for sale, but for me a very enjoyable visit and definitely will return

Room Tip: Room 112 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fimart1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Geust

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review.
Your comments have been passed onto the rest of our staff, including magda
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Myself and Gavin went away for a long weekend and we decided to stay here.
At first we thought we were on the wrong road as we appeared to be in the middle of nowhere, but then we noticed the white hotel stand out on the side of the loch
The hotel itself is lovely, it is all old style decor, but the room we were in was lovely and we had a great view over the loch.

On our first night we went for a walk around the hotel and into the village (was nothing there....)
On our return we decided to eat within the Hotel bar, we both ordered a CheeseBurger, with fries, the burger was lovely, and the portions were perfect
On our 2nd night we decided to eat within the restaurant, yet again the food was lovely, but there was not much of it, both myself and my partner were hungry within an hour - 2 hours
Although I fully recommend the Sticky toffee Pudding.........it was divine !!!!

The room was lovely and large, and very clean, the bathroom too was clean and tidy and a great size.

Was a great wee getaway hotel, but for us it was a tad too far out, although I imagine there would be a lot more to do come the summer months than there was beginning of April

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBalogh, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Geust

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here on our first night touring the Scottish Lochs.
We booked direct with the hotel to receive a £10 credit towards food & drink but as breakfast was £15.50 each (on a reduced rate!) we used it to buy dinner in the bar instead.
This was nice, off a reasonable bar menu we had burgers which were well cooked.
Our room was large and comfortable, overlooking the loch but the old fashioned TV rather dominated the room, the wardrobe doors didn't shut properly and the decor was very tired. There weren't many guests staying but check in had crammed us all into one corridor so it was a bit noisy, especially when a family with a barking dog came back to their room around 11pm.
Check out was a bit laboured and I'm not sure the dinner bill was correct but it seemed to much trouble to find our tab.
As the leisure facilities were in a different building we didn't use them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a really enjoyable stay at this hotel. Our car broke down 8 miles from the hotel so we were hours later than the 3 o'clock check-in but the warm reception we received when we finally made it there made all the hassle worth it. The lady on reception was just adorable. We instantly felt at home. We were given room 103 and considering we were approx £160 for DBB for both of us we were delighted when we opened the door and saw the size of the room and the incredible view of Loch Rannoch! Absolutely stunning. As others have mentioned the rooms could do with a little TLC but it adds to the quaintness of the place and no way detracts from the setting and wonderful feel the hotel has.
We went down for dinner and liked the cosines of the dining area, all candlelit. The waiting staff were excellent with good knowledge of the dishes. All 3 courses were good although mines was a little over-salted (and I like things very salty). My husband had the Onglet steak which was delicious. My chicken was a wee bit dry and there wasn't an awful lot of it but considering the price we'd paid I was pretty satisfied and really enjoyed the evening. We went for a nice walk after dinner and the surroundings are so peaceful and romantic.
After check-out the next day we discovered our car had broken down again. The receptionist told us we could use the leisure centre to while away our time while we waited for the AA. We had the whole pool to ourselves pretty much the whole time, it was great!
We had lunch in the bar. The barmaid was extremely friendly and helpful. Georgie. We then sat through in the reception reading books they have there and had a very pleasant afternoon waiting for our car to be fixed.
Lovely hotel we'd definitely return to. The winning factor being the exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. They are a credit to the place. Thank you so much to the lovely receptionist.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Poppypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just back from a weekend in the Loch Rannoch Hotel, you could not get better views across the loch. The hotel itself is in need of a little TLC but that said roaring fires and comfy sofas to relax with a coffee or a drink, what else would you want from a relaxing break. The staff were all excellent, could not fault them. The food in the Restaurant was first class, only complaint the cost of the wine!
The only bug bear was the fact that the pool was closed, this the second time this has happened to us, and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere so the pool is definitely a plus.
Many, many thanks to the staff who went above and beyond sending me my bag which I left in the lounge before leaving, in bag was ipad, phone and kindle!! Thank you so much, looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Room looking on to the Loch really makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
210 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
24.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
17.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,631 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing