We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Break”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Myself along with my partner and niece stayed on DBB rate for one night. Family room was spacious and my niece loved the bunk beds. Bathroom was fresh and clean with toiletries provided. We used the pool, which was in a seperate building from the main hotel which on a snowy day in January was not ideal, however we heat up once in the pool. Only thing missing was a jacuzzi. We had a lovely dinner and paid the £10 supplement for a steak. The staff were very professional but the service became a little slow when the restaurant became busy. Usual hotel prices for the drinks which are always over the top but to be expected. Breakfast was lovely, cold buffet and hot food cooked to order, usual toast and tea and coffee brought to your table,I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Scottish lady on reception when we were checking out was very friendly and made us feel like guests! Would definitely recommend this hotel especially on the deal we got. May be back soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    489
    207
    72
    22
See reviews for
210
808
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in January on a Dinner,Bed & Breakfast Deal. This hotel is set in a stunning remote area of scotland. The whole hotel appears to be a little tired, but this was a lovely hotel all in all. The food at dinner and breakfast was superb, as was the staff and the service they provided. January must be a very quiet time for this hotel and it appeared there was only a few other couples/families staying at the hotel which was nice as it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The leisure facilities are perfect, it has everything you could want except maybe a hot tub. We had a fantastic short time at this hotel, and at the price we paid for this winter deal I cannot dwell on any of the negative points too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

First impressions were slightly dissapointing and then we were told there was no haggis on the bar menu! The hotel is tired and needs some TLC and maintenance but the room was warm and comfortable. The staff were delightful and accommodating and the food was excellent. What impressed me was the professional orchestration of a typically Scottish Hogmanay which was just what we wanted. In all, good value for money and the scenery will blow you away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

For years we've said "we should go away for Christmas" but we always wimped out as we were nervous that it might not live up to expectations and might make for a disappointing Christmas. This year we grasped the nettle and went to the Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. It was an excellent choice. The location is beautiful overlooking the loch and with a backdrop of snow covered mountains. The welcome was as warm as the log fire in the lounge. The service from all the staff we encountered was exemplary and as friendly as could be. The facilities have the feel of a country-house hotel and are well kept. Our room was spacious and comfortable. They even arranged a little present under the Christmas tree in the lounge for our little boy who is 7. All in all a great experience that made our Christmas a memorable, fun event.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely views, great food, great location if you like outdoor pursuits. Nice but small leisure facilities. Interesting and inspiring food in restaurant but make sure to book even in quiet season. attention to detail in staff is superb.

Room Tip: rooms at front have stunning views onto mountains and loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The drive of 30 minutes from Pitlochry is so worth it …. directly on the loch edge, this hotel has the wow factor. We were allocated a room in the old house, which was a little tired but comfortable, with a very small bathroom, but just having the view each morning was the bonus. Breakfast was a triumph - lovely buffet to choose from and hot food beautifully presented and freshly cooked to order. The staff were quiet and professional, making both dinner and breakfast an intimate affair, without all the usual noise of kitchen and hurrying personnel to cope with. Didn't have time to use the leisure facilities - with autumn colours and good weather, it allowed us to hire a boat for an hour to sail the loch. To add to the adventure, we drove the 18 miles to Rannock Moor railway, taking the train for the return day-trip to Mallaig - scenery beyond beautiful. A great hotel to explore the area.

Room Tip: The modern extension rooms might prove a little more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night DBB as we had done around this time last year. All staff were brilliant particularly the Barmaid and the server in the restaurant. They are all very polite and friendly. The place could do with an update as I said in my previous review but it really is a charming little stay. Loch views are beautiful. Food is excellent, I recommend the sirloin steak! Drinks are at hotel prices but not over the top. Overall it was another great stay.

Room Tip: Always go for a loch view, the executive rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algothedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
80 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
17.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,572 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing