We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scot in Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a special deal overnight stay here and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel. We had a budget room, but it was clean, comfortable and with terrific views over Loch Rannoch. We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We had a bar meal which was delicious and reasonably priced, and the breakfast was excellent, with the full works, including black pudding.
The hotel is situated in the most beautiful area.
All in all, we were delighted with our experience and thought it was extremely good value.

Room Tip: Room 22 facing Loch Rannoch had a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    489
    207
    72
    22
See reviews for
210
808
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosyth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Do NOT expect a romantic break here - poor cleaning in very small rooms, poor service in bars , poor quality food, with a really small choice on menu. first words from receptionist were you cant park in front of hotel (there's no signs any where ), children toddlers allowed into very expensive dining room after 8 and into Malt bar after 9pm - we dont want to listen to your child in certain places - this turned out to be more like Mcdonalds restaurant (as in Ronald Mcdonald)
we did not pay full price next morning -

Room Tip: ask to check room before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToniA245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

All in all we expected this hotel to be average based on the rate we paid. However, we had expected better quality when it came to food. The fish and chips we ordered were pretty mediocre. We probably wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertson_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel is set in stunning locality which certainly took the edge off of the poor accommodation ( back hanging off wardrobe, damp patch on ceiling, dowdy and worn furnishings, grubby bathroom door,shower screen and toilet DO NOT ACCEPT room 23). This is classed as standard room and is not shown in any of the advertised photos

At first sight, lounge looks inviting until you see the shabby furnishings close up. Bar menu so limited I had a starter only for my main, my partner had One very ordinary burger and one miniscule dessert, adding drinks we Spent over a hundred pounds.

Breakfast good and sufficient as there were cereals and continental breakfast as well as cooked (eating only cooked would have been only one egg ,one small sausage, three mushrooms,half a tomato and half a rasher of bacon AND small fried bread OR one slice black pudding ) price charged £17.50p each person per day!

Staff very friendly and helpful but this did not make up for the deficits. The pool area facilities were small but good but not in hotel, so in winter beware of short walk to and from the leisure centre.

You really are a captured audience here as any alternative dining would require travelling some distance along very narrow and unlit country roads.

Room Tip: Not room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is the worst I have stayed in for years! As part of the Macdonald hotel group, I would have expected better.

The room was in desparate need of refurbishment. The carpet was so old and worn that it was "gathered", and to be honest, I seen it as a health and safety issue.

The lounge bar was pleasant and the bar staff helpful and friendly. Food and drink very expensive (fish and chips over £10 and I've tasted a better frozen meal!) Of course, they have the monoply now as there are no other eateries in the vicinty.

This was a christmas gift to us from my daughter and son-in-law, and they were extremely embarrassed at how bad it was.

The only positive about the place is the pool and sauna - very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent the night in the hotel. We arrived to a stunning loch bathed in sunshine. The hotel staff were friendly. Went up to the room and were greeted to a window full of loch and hill views. The room its self was clean and a good size. It needed a bit of a spruce up as the decor was looking tired but it was spolessly clean. We had dinner in the restaurant. The fish was a bit over cooked but the pork belly was a crispy skin away from perfect. On the whole the hotel makes the most of what it has and we will be returning. MacDonald need to spend a bit of money on the tired areas as the hotel is otherwise a peach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We staryed here with friends nd our 10 year old son on a grouon deal. The location was fantastic and the rooms warm and comfortable with superb views to Schiehallion. Dinner was excellent and staff friendly and effiecient. The small pool is more than adequate with a great steam room and sauna. Hot breakfast service was a little slow but as the ambiance in the restaurant was pleasant with quick service of toast coffee, tea etc. and a substantial cold buffet it dd not detract from the overall experience. Will happily make a return visit.

Room Tip: If the hotel is busy I would ask for a room away from the bar end and definately ask for a loch faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotpilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.5 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
80 reviews
18.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
14.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
17.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,572 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Property: Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing