We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“31 Five Star Ratings - Just gets another one...”
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Spacious and inviting living room, with real fire Reverse view of the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
The impressive Bunrannoch House
Spacious and inviting living room, with real fire
Reverse view of the living room
Looking out from the living room to the hills beyond
Flexible dining table, suitable for up to 16 guests
Perfect for entertaining
Large, well equipped kitchen
Perfect for catering for large groups
Feature staircase
One of the grand bedrooms
Homely touches throughout
A cosy eaves bedroom
En-suite bathroom in the eaves
Reverse view of the same eaves bedroom
Large family room, sleeping four
Highland views!
The ground floor bar and boot room, perfect after a day out
Bunrannoch House from the front
A view from the garden
Looking down beautiful Loch Rannoch
The local village of Kinloch Rannoch
Idyllic rural location
Majestic Schiehallion rises up behind Bunrannoch House
Welcome to Bunrannoch House!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sd_and_e
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“31 Five Star Ratings - Just gets another one - WOW!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We put a pin in the map and found Kinloch Rannoch - and to see such glowing reviews for this guesthouse (31 5* at time of writing), we simply had to check it out. Wow - what a place. Beautifully decorated (they need to put some photos on their website), cosy, super welcoming (pot of tea and delicious home made shortbread), absolutely *incredible* food (at a great price) - Ben and Rita made our stay so wonderful. Travelling with two small kids can always be an adventure, but our two were instantly welcomed into the fold and made feel at home - in fact our toddler didn't want to leave!

A huge THANK YOU. We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servicise...
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Best dinner and value for money in Kinloch Rannoch.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Best dinner and value for money in Kinloch Rannoch.

Bunrannoch House is located on the south side of the village of Kinloch Rannoch. This small relaxing 8 bedroomed hotel (in earlier life a Victorian hunting lodge) is popular with holidaymakers, cyclists and walkers.

Our family twice dined at Bunrannoch House during our recent visit to the area whilst staying at the self catering timeshare lodges on the other side of the loch.

For dinner we each took a sumptuous 3 course meal for just £30.00. The ingredients were fresh; with ample vegetables, many sourced locally, and all cooked to order. The menu included pike and trout pate, pheasant, guinea foul stuffed with haggis, grilled venison, raspberry panna cotta, crème brule, lemon tart, apple and rhubarb crumble with custard or ice cream.

If you are a none resident, it would be sensible to plan your restaurant booking 24 hours in advance. Covers vary between 2 and 18 persons a night, so maybe you will catch a busy or quite evening. After dinner you can take tea or coffee in the residents lounge and maybe sample whisky malt.

Ben and Rita your hosts, will make you very welcomed. Ben for sure has some interesting stories to tell.

Travel. You will need a car in this remote highland location. Make sure you have sufficient fuel! The nearest public fuel pump is 20 miles at Pitlochry or Aberfeldy.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthByNo...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and even better food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had dinner at Bunrannoch House on Wednesday 15th August 2012 as part of a week long stay in Kinloch Rannoch. Ben made us both feel extremely welcome and Rita cooked a magnficent three course dinner - highlights were the home made trout and pike pate, and guinea fowl stuffed with haggis. Easily the best place to eat in the village.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaunt7
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience you will not soon forget--superb!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, in this refurbished Victorian hunting lodge at the base of Schiehallion, to celebrate 45 years together. What a treat. The hosts, Ben and Rita, are the best--they treat you as friends, and are such delightful people in quite opposite ways--Ben the storyteller and jack of all trades, who would drive you where you needed to go for a walk, and pick you up to if you needed it, and lovely Rita, the warm and friendly force behind the best food I've ever had in 25 years of traveling in Scotland, from the afternoon teas with scones or tea cakes fresh from the oven, to the delicious dinner menu which always has options for vegans, to desserts to die for, and of course wonderful breakfasts--they set the tone for a warm and v. comfortable stay in a one-of-a-kind lodging in a remote, quiet, and beautiful area where there are more sheep than people. Daughter Mhairi, who happened to be visiting, is such an upbeat, cheerful presence. And the other guests we met were congenial too.
All this, and a room with a view as well.
What can I say--value for money, and an experience you will not soon forget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in the Bunrannoch House! Great dinner and a very comfortable sleep surrounded by nature! It is a great spot to escape from the stress of the city and relax in the beauty of Scotland. Don't miss it!
Post Scriptum: Also, after staying there, we visited the beautiful Blair Castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mal56b
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bunrannoch”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Ben and Rita have clearly spent a great deal of thought, time and energy investing in the house and their successful business, and it's surely paid off. We stayed in July in a large, airy, immaculate room, with the most comfortable bed we slept in through our entire two week holiday.... I didn't want to get up in the morning! The spec on the bathrooms and bedrooms is great, and they left many creature comforts to make you feel at home and relaxed in the rooms. Rita effortlessly cooks up a storm offering a sophisticated and delicious menu with a huge choice for supper, and breakfast was equally delcious and home-made. The house offers a really chilled tranquil stay, and the tame sheep add an amusing and quirky angle to a hidden gem of Scotland!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krismack1...
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Years later... can't get Ben and Rita off our minds.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We lived in the UK for several years and found that Scotland was our destination getaway from the East Anglian village we were stationed at with the forces. After stumbling upon Bunrannoch by chance while on holiday with some friends- we can say that this is our favorite place in the world to stay at- and we have been literally all over the world. Ben and Rita are host and hostess of a rare kind. We enjoyed swapping stories with both and Rita's food was comparable to any high end Parisian fare. Here we are 5 years later not only missing our beloved Scottish escapades but still telling all our friends who visit to make a special stop in Kinloch- that Ben and Rita create an experience not to be passed over. The estate is lovely, the walk around the lake into the village most peaceful- and there is a fun local on the corner as well. Of all our trips, we will never forget how magical that experience was. Thanks Ben and Rita and much love from Kris and Brian and our border collie Ari.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing