We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fleece(Witney)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
$211
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
1,221
460
204
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
460
204
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminster millthe riverfire pitgarden roomspa treatmentssloe ginthe pubbeautiful surroundingsbeautiful hotelcream tearelaxing weekendboth nightsbreakfast and dinnerlovely touchsuperior roomlittle touchestwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,743 - 1,748 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From our arrival to departure, everything was perfect.
We were given a choice of two rooms, and offered to see both before. We chose our original choice of riverside room.
Wow! Fabulous location away from the main hotel, right next to the river. A cosy room, complete with marshmallows and sloe gin-a nice touch. Very clean room, a comfortable bed, and nice decor. For once a decent sized quilt for the huge bed meant we didnt wrestle for it!
The gym was quite basic, but great for a good workout, and next to the gym were showers, too.
General maintenance of the place was superb-having worked in the industry My eye tends to be drawn to anything 'off', but I had no complaints at all.
We chose dinner in the Old Swan.... Well! Unless you are a total glutton, ignore the starters, no matter how luscious they look! The sausages and mash was enormous, and could have fed two. My husband had the beefburger... Oh my! It was of US standards... Mega size! We were given bread and olive oil dip as an appetiser, not ordered but lovely and welcome whilst awaiting our main courses. The meals were excellent, and could not be faulted. With no room for dessert, it ended up a well priced meal for two with drinks-on initial viewing it looks expensive, but the size and quality were totally excellent.
It was minus 3 or 4 the night we stayed, but the room was warm enough without being stuffy or draughty.
The breakfast the next morning in the Old Swan was amazing!
Everything cooked perfectly, and of fantastic quality, and beautifully presented even for a breakfast.
All the staff at both locations were of the utmost help and very caring. I have not experienced this anywhere else.
The staff were so helpful, even making phone calls on our behalf to see when the snow was due to arrive. As it turned out, we left in the evening and so missed our second night, which we were very upset about. The snow closer to home was quite bad, with some roads already quite impassable near home-we made the right decision. The staff ensured we did not miss out and have banked our second night for us. More than he hoped for!
This was a rare treat, and a child-free night away at such a wonderful location was pure bliss. Highly trained and competant staff who really showed interest and cared made our stay perfect. Nothing was too much trouble.
Well worth a visit, and even if we didnt have another night 'banked' we would still be considering treating oirselves to this luxury. Next time we will book some spa treatments, too, to doubly relax! Thank you to all the staff who made this an awesome experience!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ConeyImagesPhotograp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOldSwanMinsterMill, General Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks for writing such a wonderful review. It's the de Savary family influence, which means that the staff in all of our properties operate with enjoyment, thoughtfulness and are true to the meaning of hospitality. I'm so glad that you experienced this. Added to this is the attention to detail, which ensures such comfortable beds, great linen in our rooms, fantastic grounds and lounges and fabulous local food. We look forward to welcoming you back for part 2 of your stay!

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed on the Sunday night sleepover package and had a fantastic visit! We had a riverside room (river flowing fast because of the recent rain but very beautiful). The food was amazing! Fantastic 3 course meal all included and breakfast was excellent. We were celebrating my birthday and if you want a romantic get away it is perfect. Our room had an outside area where one could sit around a wood burner with candles... and the very .. VERY best thing for me.. the bed was comfortable!! So many hotels get this totally wrong and think your nights sleep isn't important.. this was a great night, a great room and excellent service ... we will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOldSwanMinsterMill, General Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for posting such an excellent review, which epitomises all the romance and uniqueness, which we try to get across in our website and literature too. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful visit and enjoyed one of our river rooms - it's the beauty of the Cotswolds.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I had the great fortune to stay here in September 2012. Our room was the Richard the Third. Everything about the room was perfect. The age of the building required a climb up a steep circular stair, but this added to the quaint atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff worked hard to make sure you are satisfied.

If you are lucky enough to stay here make sure to take the time to walk the grounds and enjoy the beautiful setting. The hall and church down the street from the hotel should not be missed. The Old Swan is the perfect place to be in the Cotswolds.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hank4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOldSwanMinsterMill, General Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Old Swan and Minster Mill. I am sure your recommendations will give many others the confidence to choose our "Inn on the River". As I have only recently been appointed by the de Savary Family, I am both delighted and honoured to manage such a unique and first-class property. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were advised to stay here by the conseirge at the Savoy in London and found that his recommendation was spot on in every detail. We had a quaint room in the old section above the restaurant. The staff,rooms bar and all meals were as you would expect in a 5 star establishment but were not over priced. perfect for young lovers or tourists like us.

Room Tip: try to book in the main (old) section
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guests

We are delighted to read your review. Thank you on behalf of the whole team for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. We're naturally grateful to the Concierge at the Savoy for letting you know about the Old Swan & Minster Mill. This area of the Cotswolds is a well kept secret and deceptively close to both Oxford and London and perfect for visitors looking to explore the areas treasures.

Do let us know when you venture back to our shores, we look forward to welcoming you back. Our sincere thanks.

Best wishes
Ian Solkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the Sunday night sleepover package and had a fantastic visit!lovely staff to check us in to our free upgraded riverside room(river overflowing because of rain but still very beautiful).old swan food was amazing!fantastic 3 course meal and lovely champagne all included!breakfast was great!went to celebrate a anniversary and if you want a romantic get away in a spotless setting stay here!thank you minster mill!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to let us know about your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed it. The "Sunday Sleepover" inclusive packages are very popular for a short getaway and make a great present. On the first Sunday of every month, you can also enjoy live jazz music during dinner too.

Do Register on our web-site to receive other special offers.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes and a very Happy New Year
Ian Solkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews