We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for a VERY small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Property was comfortable and everything was nicely cleaned. Staff very friendly and setting quiet and charming. However, the rooms were incredibly small and poorly laid out. Reaching the electrical outlets required crawling on the floor and reaching blindly behind furniture - unsafe and unacceptable. Small bathroom meant that exiting from the tub was fraught with danger, resulting in bruised knee from hitting vanity top. Would benefit from built in furniture that would increase available space in small footprint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bags Packed to Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest
Whilst we are grateful for your feedback we are of course disappointed that you felt your room small and badly planned. Our smallest rooms “Cosy” offer more or less every amenity of the larger rooms and at a fraction of the cost. We think offer great value for money. There is no reason at all for you to have to scramble around looking behind furniture for electrical sockets as there is a bank of sockets by the desk. I have asked the housekeeper to double-check all rooms to make sure this is the case. Occasionally, guests accidently take these or other room items with them when they’re leaving but our housekeeping staff should replace any missing amenity straight away. I do wish you’d let us know about the problems whilst you were with us as we could easily have offered you a choice of rooms or sorted out the problem with the plug socket. I do hope you will return and let us know so we can show you a selection of our larger rooms for your stay. We do aim for everyone to enjoy their visit so please accept our apologies that you didn’t on this occasion.
Best wishes
Ian Solkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wow. My partner,me and our doggy stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago for some rest and relaxation after an illness.

We couldn't have chosen somewhere more perfect. From the moment we turned up we were treated amazingly, and nothing was to much trouble for us and our dog. It was firework weekend and a number of staff made a point of telling us when the fireworks were going off, so as not to upset our dog. It's these little touches that make this a stand out place to stay, and its normally very difficult to impress me like this.

We stayed in a riverside room, with the River Windrush flowing right outside our patio door. With a fire pit and logs on the patio, we sat every night watching the river, with a roaring fire, roasting complementary marshmallows and sipping complementary Sloe Gin. Mmmmmmmm.

An amazing breakfast the next day, and then it was off for a recommended walk with the dog around beautiful countryside with not a soul in sight. The hotel gave us a proper picnic each day for lunch (enough to feed four!!!), and it was back to the hotel for some chilling out before going back to the pub for dinner!!!!

And for dog lovers out there, our dog was welcomed, fussed, and patted everywhere we went.

We booked through 'Chien Bleu', who recommend dog friendly hotels, and was not disappointed.

Even dog-free, this would be an amazing place to stay and we are definitely coming back next year.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights here and did not want to leave! The setting was absolutely beautiful and the hotel had a warm and friendly atmosphere.

We stayed in one of the old rooms "Early" ad featured on the website with the original beams. It was even more amazing in real life! And the extra touches -including complimentary sloe gin in the room, made our stay real special. We had massaged in the spa - head, neck and back - which are also thoroughly recommended. They also included guides in the room as to walks I'm the area which were well thought out and easy to follow.

Overall a fantastic weekend of gorgeous countryside, food and wine! Looking forward to coming back when the indoor and outdoor pools are built!

Charlotte and Gareth

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked a cosy room and were upgraded to a garden view room. The location is absolutely full of character. The open fires and comfortable chairs lent a cosy feel to the reception and the snug in the pub. This was a bit of a treat to ourselves, so certainly not at the budget end of the market, but we would certainly look to stay there again if we wanted some peace and quiet. Can imagine it would be a lovely place to go walking, our dog (and it is dog friendly although we didn't take him on this ocassion) would have been in his absolute element!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammewolemid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 12 days for a late long overdue holiday & it was everything we hoped for. The hotel manages to find the perfect balance between traditional & contemporary. Beautiful traditional cotswold buildings by a river surrounded by amazing grounds with modcom facilities. The accommodation made us feel like a home away from home- large comfortable bed, big walk-in shower, small library, DVDs, wood log burner on the balcony. The food in the restaurant was tasty & nicely presented. But above all the excellent staff & their customer service skills made our stay memurable.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony in the mill part are great, large & quite with a view over the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here during the last week of October 2012.
Location: You cannot fail to like the location of this hotel - it is idyllic! The Swan Inn in particular personifies a country pub at its best. Roaring fires, toby jugs, clay pipes its all there.
Room: We stayed in room 109 in the Mill part of the complex. The rooms are small but with an enjoyable aspect over the gardens and outdoor chess set. I suspect though that the view over the river would be better from a first floor room. Rooms near 103 are likely to overlook another building and not the gardens. The bathrooms are small but mirrors are used to clever effect.
Housekeeping: No complaints here apart from mould in the overflow pipe of the bathroom sink.
Food: Imaginatively presented but slightly more expensive than normal pub fayre. Expect vegetables to be really al-dente! Afternoon tea comprises of tea & scones, jam & cream. Breakfast was a treat.
Staff: Welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Swan Inn are apparently larger. If staying in the Mill part be careful that your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have plenty of good things to say about this place: it's pretty, the rooms are cosy and the food (particularly the Sunday roast) is delicious. They also give you a little book of local walks to try. We did the first (shortest) one and really enjoyed it.
But, while I would definitely eat there again, I probably wouldn't stay again for a romantic getaway. Mainly because the loo in our room just didn't have enough water pressure to flush properly. It filled with water...but never quite managed to empty... which rather took the romantic edge off things. As did the rather terrifying Sponge Bob Square Pants hot water bottle which appeared in our room each evening. Don't get me wrong, the idea of giving guests a hot water bottle on a chilly Autumn night is lovely - but the choice of cover freaked me out somewhat the first time I saw it!
I think the hotel is probably best suited for families, ramblers and dog owners/lovers. They really are incredibly dog friendly and there were several dogs enjoying dinner with their owners in the restaurant when we were there. Which is all fine, but it didn't necessarily create the romantic atmosphere we were looking for.

So, loads of good points. But not quite what I'd had in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest

We are very grateful for taking the time to write a review and also sorry that you didnt flag up your disappointment whilst staying. Our loos all have water efficient technology as we try to adopt green, energy efficient systems throughout our properties. Having said that, they should all work properly and I can only imagine that someone might have put something they shouldnt have down the loo before your visi. If this does occur, we usually come across this during a guests stay or on departure but I'm sorry if we didnt see this before you arrived and do wish you'd let us know.

The hot water bottles are meant as a bit of fun and a welcome turn-down amenity on cooler nights in the winter. We have a wide variety of characters and we put them in all rooms. I'm not sure if it's the hot water bottle or poor old SpongeBob Square Pants you didn't like but sorry if this cast a shadow over your stay.

We do encourage people to bring their dogs and they can stay in some of the dog-friendly rooms as well as dine in the bar and snug but not in the dining rooms. Dogs are not allowed in any other areas but we find the arrangement tends not to upset other guests and in fact, makes the place less stuffy and quite homey. If you are back with us again in the future, do let us know and we can accommodate you well away as we do appreciate dogs are not for everyone.

Please do get in touch directly on your next vist so I can make your arrangements for you.

Best wishes
Ian Solkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
14.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.8 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
875 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan & Minster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minster Lovell
Price Range: $145 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 miles from Oxford and 11 miles from Blenheim Palace, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is nestled in 65 acres of idyllic grounds in the picturesque village of Minster Lovell. This quintessentially English inn and adjoining mill seamlessly blend the rural charm of these historic buildings with modern design, luxurious comfort and delicious menus crafted from the best seasonal produce. The magical gardens, wild flower meadows and woodland which enclose the mill and inn come alive during the summer months – fishing, walking, croquet and tennis are the order of the day while throughout cooler weather roaring log fires provide a welcome retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan & Minster Mill Minster Lovell, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing