We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Nearby Hotels
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fleece(Witney)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bull at Burford(Burford)(Great Value!)
$172
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
$139
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveler rating
1,236
464
204
64
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,236
464
204
64
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminster millthe riverfire pitgarden roomspa treatmentssloe ginthe pubbeautiful surroundingsbeautiful hotelcream tearelaxing weekendboth nightsbreakfast and dinnerlovely touchsuperior roomlittle touchestwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,781 - 1,786 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked a cosy room and were upgraded to a garden view room. The location is absolutely full of character. The open fires and comfortable chairs lent a cosy feel to the reception and the snug in the pub. This was a bit of a treat to ourselves, so certainly not at the budget end of the market, but we would certainly look to stay there again if we wanted some peace and quiet. Can imagine it would be a lovely place to go walking, our dog (and it is dog friendly although we didn't take him on this ocassion) would have been in his absolute element!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammewolemid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 12 days for a late long overdue holiday & it was everything we hoped for. The hotel manages to find the perfect balance between traditional & contemporary. Beautiful traditional cotswold buildings by a river surrounded by amazing grounds with modcom facilities. The accommodation made us feel like a home away from home- large comfortable bed, big walk-in shower, small library, DVDs, wood log burner on the balcony. The food in the restaurant was tasty & nicely presented. But above all the excellent staff & their customer service skills made our stay memurable.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony in the mill part are great, large & quite with a view over the garden & river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here during the last week of October 2012.
Location: You cannot fail to like the location of this hotel - it is idyllic! The Swan Inn in particular personifies a country pub at its best. Roaring fires, toby jugs, clay pipes its all there.
Room: We stayed in room 109 in the Mill part of the complex. The rooms are small but with an enjoyable aspect over the gardens and outdoor chess set. I suspect though that the view over the river would be better from a first floor room. Rooms near 103 are likely to overlook another building and not the gardens. The bathrooms are small but mirrors are used to clever effect.
Housekeeping: No complaints here apart from mould in the overflow pipe of the bathroom sink.
Food: Imaginatively presented but slightly more expensive than normal pub fayre. Expect vegetables to be really al-dente! Afternoon tea comprises of tea & scones, jam & cream. Breakfast was a treat.
Staff: Welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Swan Inn are apparently larger. If staying in the Mill part be careful that your room does not overlook another nearby building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have plenty of good things to say about this place: it's pretty, the rooms are cosy and the food (particularly the Sunday roast) is delicious. They also give you a little book of local walks to try. We did the first (shortest) one and really enjoyed it.
But, while I would definitely eat there again, I probably wouldn't stay again for a romantic getaway. Mainly because the loo in our room just didn't have enough water pressure to flush properly. It filled with water...but never quite managed to empty... which rather took the romantic edge off things. As did the rather terrifying Sponge Bob Square Pants hot water bottle which appeared in our room each evening. Don't get me wrong, the idea of giving guests a hot water bottle on a chilly Autumn night is lovely - but the choice of cover freaked me out somewhat the first time I saw it!
I think the hotel is probably best suited for families, ramblers and dog owners/lovers. They really are incredibly dog friendly and there were several dogs enjoying dinner with their owners in the restaurant when we were there. Which is all fine, but it didn't necessarily create the romantic atmosphere we were looking for.

So, loads of good points. But not quite what I'd had in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne538, Manager at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest

We are very grateful for taking the time to write a review and also sorry that you didnt flag up your disappointment whilst staying. Our loos all have water efficient technology as we try to adopt green, energy efficient systems throughout our properties. Having said that, they should all work properly and I can only imagine that someone might have put something they shouldnt have down the loo before your visi. If this does occur, we usually come across this during a guests stay or on departure but I'm sorry if we didnt see this before you arrived and do wish you'd let us know.

The hot water bottles are meant as a bit of fun and a welcome turn-down amenity on cooler nights in the winter. We have a wide variety of characters and we put them in all rooms. I'm not sure if it's the hot water bottle or poor old SpongeBob Square Pants you didn't like but sorry if this cast a shadow over your stay.

We do encourage people to bring their dogs and they can stay in some of the dog-friendly rooms as well as dine in the bar and snug but not in the dining rooms. Dogs are not allowed in any other areas but we find the arrangement tends not to upset other guests and in fact, makes the place less stuffy and quite homey. If you are back with us again in the future, do let us know and we can accommodate you well away as we do appreciate dogs are not for everyone.

Please do get in touch directly on your next vist so I can make your arrangements for you.

Best wishes
Ian Solkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have returned from a lovely relaxing 2 night stay over the weekend at Old Swan & Minster Mill which my husband booked for my birthday, and we were accompanied by our Cockerpoo Rosie!
We were made very welcomed from the start, as was our dog with a chew for her whilst we checked in, dog bed and bowls in the room, and also being allowed to bring her into the bar area of the Old Swan which was cosy with a log fire on the go all the time - bliss. Our room was very nice with french doors out onto a little patio, big comfy bed and crisp white bedding.
The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We had 2 lovely evening meals on Friday & Saturday night, and enjoyed more than a few drinks in the bar area in front of the fire!
The location is great for walking and the hotel grounds are fantastic with the river running through them.
We would definitely go back again and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the Old Swan bit which is the older part of the hotel, it was ground floor with a little fenced patio area, but no view. If you want to be nearer the gardens/river or have view more of a view a first floor may be better, or the Minster Mill rooms I think.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews