We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best premier inn we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Reviewed August 31, 2011

we have stayed in many premier inns but this was by far the very best staff were excellent as was the service and the room food was plentiful and great quality

Room Tip: room 2 had a massive bed it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_carter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

We just stayed at the Cross Keys/Premier Inn Middlesborough South for a family wedding. There were 11 of us in the party and we booked three family rooms, two of which were on the ground floor adjacent to one another, which was great, but the third was upstairs, so less convenient for monitoring the 6 children in various states of sleeping/reading in bed!

The staff at the hotel are generally excellent: very friendly and helpful. The rooms are OK, whilst the bathrooms could probably do with updating.

The bar and restaurant are nice, with decent furnishings, which look to have been recently replaced. Do be aware of the s-l-o-o-w service for food though: we waited for 40 minutes for some 'quick' lunches, and then had to cancel the order as we were about to miss the start of the wedding. The manageress though refunded the cost of the meals without a quibble: excellent customer service.

Our first night was marred by the very loud couple in the room next door - apparently I slept through the first half dozen times, but my wife was kept awake for the whole thing. They finally finished at 3:30am and then appeared to pack up and leave. Thicker walls would probably have been a benefit in this case! The second night was much better, and despite our room being on the 'road side' as opposed to the 'land side' the noise was not too bad.

Overall I think 'Average' is about right. In fact the staff deserve better as they were truly excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - it does mean you cannot open windows due to noise. And no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfPatPending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Set on a busy road sadly half of the rooms are right alongside the road and noisy so if you are staying here try and get a room at the back of the hotel.

The reception were friendly and welcoming, no nternet seemed to be available.

Food was ok if basic ... certainly not top class but not terrible either.

Overall, if you can go somewhere else that is probably a good idea!

Room Tip: get a room not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had quiet room at the rear, with a view over a lawn and car park to the hills. Having previously stayed in good B&B's and private hotels in the area, we found this Inn to be better quality and top value for money. A CAMRA listed pub next door has to be a bonus for real ale fans.The bed was comfy, extra wide with 4 supportive pillows and a padded headboard. There were two upholstered chairs and a portable fan, plus the usual hot drink facilities.The digital TV was especially good- - - excellent picture and sound with all the Freeview channels plus the flexible arm mounting allowed total choice of viewing position. The whole facility was clean, nicely presented and had a welcoming feel about it during our 3 day stay.
The adjacent pub provides a top quality individually cooked breakfast- - - as much as you can eat, from a wide range of items.

If you do decide to stay at this Inn and are approaching by car from the East, you need to cross the dual carriageway to its car park. Come to a full stop in the central reservation slip road and take a very careful look, as the vegetation does partly obscure your view of oncoming fast traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maybach2of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Steyed for one night at this hotel(visiting Whitby), booked bed and breakfast and took the £9.99 meal option. Both meals were excellent,service and room both first class. Seven of us going to France in September,need to spend one night in a hotel prior to going to France, will be booking a Premier Inn for that night.

Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinhard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I almost cancelled my booking after reading previous reviews. We paid £75.00 for 1 night 2 adults 2 children with breakfast. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and had everything we needed. There was a bit of a damp smell in the bathroom due to poor ventilation in a room with no windows, however the smell soon cleared when the fan was switched on. I asked for a room away from the road due to the bad reviews but the Hotel was fully booked and we ended up on the road side.We live on a track with no noise at all so i was worried but i need not have been the windows were triple glazed and we all had a great nights sleep.Breakfast was as good as any hotel breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt , cereal and a full English. All in all a great hotel for the money. Don't be put off by the reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

There is very little I can recommend this hotel for. The reception is not manned, and there was no friendly welcome. The rooms are basic - I stayed for business and there was no mention of internet, and not even an iron. The resturant manager did kindly locate an iron and ironing board, but come off it, an iron is a fairly basic requirement, no? Every thing just felt so...basic. Okay bed, okay tv, okay bathroom, just soap for toiletries (shame, as I was, for a change, desparate for the little body lotion bottle you normally get).

The attached pub was awful for dinner and brekkie, mainly attributable to the horrificly slow and painful service. Food is clearly not cooked on site (order the lasagne if you need proof). The pub is also really, really dark. On the plus side, there was an open fire at brekkie, which was nice.

Check out is hassle free, since there is no receptionist to talk to, and the car park is not lit up, badly designed, and chaotic.

On the plus side...there are other hotels in the area. I don't know the cost, since I stay for business and it gets booked for me, but if you can afford it, stay at the Thistle 10 mins up the road in town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiegoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
3.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,535 reviews
7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
242 reviews
4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
560 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys By Good Night Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys By Good Night Inns

Address: Middlesbrough Road, Guisborough TS14 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Keys By Good Night Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cross Keys By Good Night Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Middlesborough South (Guisborough) Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing