We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice property but description slightly misleading.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Guisborough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
noranokes
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice property but description slightly misleading.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked this cottage because it had an enclosed garden and we were taking our dogs. However, the enclosed garden was the owner's garden (they have a dog and two cats) and I felt it was invading their privacy to use the garden so we only used the little patio outside the back door. That was very pretty and I will say we could walk the dogs around the rear of the property and that was very private down a track leading from the public right of way round the edge of the fields so not too much of a problem.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and have renovated the cottage to a high standard. The real problem we had was that our dogs are used to being kept in the kitchen at night and, although we put their beds in the kitchen, if you wanted to go to the loo at night from either bedroom you had to walk through the kitchen which actually meant our dogs had free rein to run around all night because shutting them up was pointless!! They loved it but it did mean they kept coming into the bedrooms and, because the floors, very sensibly, are covered in washable timber lookalike flooring, lots of little noisy paddy paws tends to make for a disturbed night. Again, this was not too much of a problem because the owners kindly let them sleep on the furniture which I did cover so that the dogs would not damage anything. They were very miffed on being returned to the kitchen once we got home!!

I realise this all seems like a whinge but it is not really, just something that needs to be pointed out if you want a peaceful night and do not need to shut your dogs up.

We were a little disconcerted to find that the bathroom had no blind and although it only overlooked the private patio there is nothing to stop anyone from walking past and looking into the window. That might never happen but a little more privacy would be nice!

Unfortunately, like most of this Summer, the weather was horrible and after two nights of putting on the heating we decided home would be more comfortable so left early but that is no reflection on the owners or the property. However, now we know the layout of the property, we would probably not return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpy196...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in fabulous rural setting”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It is hard to describe how good this cottage is, except to say we've already booked a return holiday later this year and it takes somewhere special to make us do that.

We stayed with two dogs who were well catered for (and got on well with Snowy) and if one of the main reasons for looking at this cottage is that you want a dog-friendly cottage then this should feature at the top your shortlist. The walks in the nearby Bousdale Woods (even when the Yorkshire weather played true to form) were varied, interesting and excellent for tiring out our Border Collies. You can choose several routes from the doorstep.

The cottage was clean (and easy to keep clean even when our dogs came in very muddy), well maintained and has probably one of the biggest and best DVD collections we've come across in a holiday rental.

By the way if your dog rolls in something smelly in the woods (as one of ours did) Steve is happy to let you use the hosepipe next door. I think that taught him a lesson (the dog, that is, not Steve)!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanjgemm...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Briliant relaxing wonderful views”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

lovely quiet area lots of walks in the forest dogs loved it .Cottage very clean and comfy courtyard enclosed very good for dogs lovely owners very helpful an ideal base to explore the area and coast thank you ruth and steve for letting us share your home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet locality
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Radnor, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Broxbourne
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PaulMCard...
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and my 84 year old mum stayed for week at the end of July. The cottage is gorgeous set in lovely gardens and just at the edge of Guisborough forest. The cottage had everything you could possibly need for an excellent self catering holiday.
The beds were comfortable, the whirlpool bath was a luxury. Washing machine and dishwasher :0) Wifi internet provided and a Flat screen TV with USB port - Home from home. The Forest trails were of a range of difficulty to suit , bikers, walkers and families of all ages. The owners were really welcoming and helpful.

Aside from the forest areas. there is a pub, The Voyager, within walking or very short drive distance which serves food. It had a different meal and drink deal most nights. Curry night was good and the staff were great.

Guisborough is very near and has a range of shops, restaurants and large supermarket.

The coastal resorts of Saltburn, Whitby and Robin's Hood Bay are within an easy drive away.

Durham and it's Cathedral is about an hour way and ....
Roseberry Topping and the moors and their fantastically picturesque villages are on your doorstep.

A fantastic place for a short break or longer holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing