We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an all round superb hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gisborough Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“an all round superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here 9/2/14 to 11/02/14 and must say the Hotel and the staff and food are nothing short of superb. The rooms are very clean and the en suites are finished very well with lovely power showers. The staff cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable and are all very well trained and all dining room staff were polite and made sure every thing was up to standard. The food both both at breakfast and evening meal was cooked to a very high standard and very well presented.
My only down comment is that the drinks a little on the pricey side but other than that cannot speak highly enough of this Hotel and A BIG WELL DONE TO THE MANAGEMENT AND STAFF.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Chris S

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay here at the hall. I am so happy you had such a great stay here and do hope that you will return again. In regards to the drinks prices, we do carry out regular competitor checks to make sure we are in line with other similar venues , however we are due to have a review again next month with Macdonald hotels and our owner and all comments will be looked at .
Thank you again for such glowing feedback.

Regards
Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    368
    109
    33
    17
See reviews for
162
839
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Would have rated Gisborough Hall 5 stars Excellent.
Beautiful hotel and grounds, welcoming, clean, fresh and bright. Food well prepared and presented and very enjoyable.
However, we were very disappointed because the Revival Zone spa facilities were closed for refurbishment and staff were attending a training day. We chose Gisborough Hall because of the spa and only became aware of the unavailability when we asked to use the spa a few hours after checking in. Also it would help with the ambiance and relaxation in the main hall if staff could choose shoes that are quite on the lovely wooden floors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Daniel S
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am delighted to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel. However, I am so disappointed that you weren’t communicated too when you booked regarding our Revival zone being closed. This was planned months in advance for the training and roll out of our new product, Elemis. All departments were briefed, so this shouldn’t have been an issue, but clearly there has been a communication breakdown. I will be addressing this with our relevant managers to ensure this doesn’t happen again in future.
We do hope you have the chance to return to Gisborough hall and make use of our newly refurbished Revival zone. Please do contact the hotel directly for any queries.
Regards
Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Terrible! Booked in on business. Was not able to get a table for 1 hour in the bar, when I did the starter took a further 30 mins to arrive! It was incredibly poor and massively over priced, after a further 20 mins of waiting for the main I decided to take it as room service. It arrived a further 20 mins later was a terrible chewy steak! The waiting staff told me openly that the restaurant was prioritised over the bar, but there was no space left in the restaurant..!

I spoke with other guests and they were all disappointed and on business. This hotel is completely missing a trick!

Prices were exorbitant and the quality of the food was terrible, the room was cold! I could not check out fast enough and would never ever stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LW12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear LW12014
I am so sorry you have experienced such a bad stay with ourselves, I can assure you that we are deeply saddened by the poor service you encountered and all relevant departments have been addressed and action plans devised to ensure our standards do not drop again. We pride ourselves on our customer care and attention and clearly we have let you down. That night in question was an exceptionally busy evening but under no circumstances do we place the restaurant above the G bar and Bistro and I can only apologise for the waitress who told you that, as this is clearly wrong. In regards to your steak, we are currently in the process of reviewing our meat supplier as there have been some other comments on the quality too over the past few months , which we hope to iron out , due to our commitment to good food and good service. Our prices reflect other competitors of a similar rating and we regularly do competitor checks to make sure we are not pricing ourselves out of the market. However, we take on board all comments and will be re looking at our menus to ensure we are pricing ourselves correctly.
Please feel free to phone myself personally and I will be happy to discuss any of your comments.
Regards
Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a good weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was particularly grateful to Byron who helped me with my Dietary requirements and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwaite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Dwaite7

Thank you so much for your delightful comments regarding your stay the other week. I am glad you enjoyed your experience here and in particular singled out our Assistant Restaurant manager, Byron for his exceptional service with your dietary requirements and in general.

We very much hope you do return again and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Regards

Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and myself have just visited Gisborough hall , we were totally looked after from the moment we stepped through the front door. Julie on reception and the gentleman who showed us to our room were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is beautiful and absolutely spotless, the rooms are very tastefully decorated as are the lounges, bar and restaurant.This hotel ticks all the boxes, but a special recognition has to go to the members of staff, who were all welcoming, helpful, courteous and really professional , special mentions go to duty manager Fiona, Julie,Sarah and Byron and the gentleman who showed us to our room. Byron took our dinner order and answered any queries, he is very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was outstanding, totally worth every penny and the chefs are to be commended. The food is locally sourced and the chefs carefully put together dishes , we had scallops with crab meat and chorizo, which was sublime, followed by rib eye steak cooked to perfection, then a delightful olive oil chocolate cake with marmalade ice cream.The breakfast was just as good and cooked to order, which is always a bonus. The sausages were the best I have ever tasted and the staff replenished the continental food / juice the minute it was running low, teas coffee, toast everything plentiful.We strongly recommend this hotel, we were more than happy with the service we received, the measure of a good hotel is it`s staff and this hotel has the best staff. Congratulations to the hotel, for the 5 star treatment you provide for your guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Rachel C

It was a delight reading your review, particularly the pinpointing of particular members of the team: Byron, Fiona, Sarah and Julie, the man who took you to your bedroom I believe was Steve our weekend porter.
The team makes the hotel; the individuals you have mentioned by name are all passionate. I am also delighted that you enjoyed Chaloner’s Restaurant so much, the food and service. As you are well aware we were exceptionally busy on Saturday evening I am pleased we delivered.
Whitley Bay is close by; we hope that you will return on many future occasions.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a great hotel in a very picturesque setting. The building is beautiful,and tastefully and sympathetically decorated. The accommodation is comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The staff are extremely professional, knowledgeable about the hotel's history and the local area, courteous and attentive, and the welcome was very warm. The food is of a high standard, and is well cooked and beautifully presented. I would definitely return to this hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend it to other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sue O

Thank you for posting this wonderful review of Gisborough Hall on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel; the accommodation, food and courtesy of the staff.
We would love you to recommend us to friends and family, and hope that you will soon return.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my son, as we parked outside the whole place was beautiful the huge building and the gardens, on arrival we were greeted by 2 lovely receptionist who were friendly and very professional, we had a standard twin and it was lovely, the breakfast was really nice, everything was very good about this stay, I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cypress12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Cypress12

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Gisborough Hall.
I am delighted that your stay was lovely and that you enjoyed all aspects of it including the hospitality of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
12.1 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing