We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best in the Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from another two night break at this fantastic Hotel. The combination of excellent food and lovely accommodation together with attentive staff would be hard to beat. We have stayed at several other Macdonald Hotels, none of which have been as good as Gisborough. Little touches that make it special, always something nice to nibble when you have a drink in the lounge and fresh baked bread with your dinner at no extra charge. We like the traditional style of the bedrooms but appreciate the modern touches of good beds,flat screen TV and WiFi. Bathrooms are great with power showers. We are always made to feel so welcome by all the staff and can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the main house if you can, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear RupertB
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure reading your feedback, I am so pleased that you noticed the detail.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another short break.
Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    380
    110
    33
    17
See reviews for
168
862
21
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at Gisborough. We were upgraded to a lovely spacious room with excellent views from the front of the hotel. The food was delicious, at breakfast, in the bar and especially the evening meals. All the staff were very friendly and helpful making our stay a pleasure. There are numerous walks around Gisborough and the coastal villages are pretty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and have returned feeling relaxed. We will definitely go back again and can highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Christine D
Thank you for posting such lovely comments on tripadvisor following your 4-day break at the hotel.
I am pleased that you found the staff so friendly and that you found all meals to be delicious. Our staff are passionate about the hotel and the kitchen team endeavours to deliver excellence at all times.
We look forward to you returning soon.
Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for a leisure break in September 2012. I needed time out from the hustle and bustle of London, and was just what I needed. Unfortunately got a bad cold, but it really was a home away from home, and a lovely atmosphere. The food was great, the service wonderful, and the staff really helpful, making my stay even more comfortable. If I am ever in that neck of the woods again, will definitely swing by, even though I am afraid of ghosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richbrownowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Richbrownowl
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor following your stay last year at Gisborough Hall.
I am absolutely delighted you found your stay so comfortable, we hope that you revisit soon.
Also, all of our ghosts are friendly!
Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stunning location and stunning building with quality rooms (quiet, nice firm beds with good quality bedding) and a good restaurant. It was very quiet when I stayed mid week and I imagine it is much busier at the weekends. Free wifi was fast enough for the business I needed to do. Just as well as there was virtually no mobile phone signal out there. Staff were courteous without being memorable - I believe they sometimes offer package rates and would certainly consider staying here again if the price was right

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigboroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your delightful feedback on Trip advisor regarding your stay here at Gisborough Hall. I am so happy that you had such a fantastic stay with us and have taken the time to write this review. We offer free wifi in all the public rooms and conference rooms and broadband in our bedrooms . Mobile phone signal is sometimes weak here due to the valleys all around us, but we are looking into installing a mast outside to increase the signal strength for our guests. You can find package rates available on our website and we are currently running both an autumn rate and secret escapes offer, alternatively you can ring the hotel directly and we will be happy to advise you of all our offers. We look forward to seeing you again here at Gisborough Hall.

Regards

Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Gisborough Hall and again it was a wonderful weekend. We were met by the large open log fire as we walked through the front door on a wet and windy evening. We had asked if we could have a room in the old part of the hotel for a change and it was just as nice as previous rooms - classy but still cosy with a very comfortable bed and my favourite fixture - the magnified mirror - perfect for those of us who are longsighted and need to put mascara on! The breakfasts, as always, were first class and we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night at a pre-booked rate of £25 for 3 courses - this is excellent value for such high quality food. The service was good and the staff attentive and friendly but not over-bearing. I look forward to our fifth visit...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a glowing review here on Trip advisor about us at Gisborough Hall. We are so happy that you have once again chosen to come back and stay with us, we really do value our regular guests as this is what makes our team proud to work here. Our real log fires are our Winter treats, we love nothing better than to invite our guests in from the cold outside and tempt them with a delicious tipple by the fire to warm up the cockles and relax after a hard day. Our breakfasts are our signature offering, we source all our ingredients from local suppliers and use only the finest freshest produce. We always try to offer good value for money and it is so lovely that you have recognised all of our endeavours. Please do come back and we hope you have another fabulous stay here at the Hall.

Kindest Regards

Lorella Negro
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights(October 25/26) in a feature room in the main building, overlooking the front lawns & hills. A very high standard hotel - room large, spacious, well equipped and clean. Bed very comfortable, particularly the pillows! Bathroom well equipped with separate bath & shower.
Public rooms very comfortable and the ambience wonderful with open log fires.
Breakfast excellent - good choice and a rarity these days that the cooked breakfast is served at your table. Reception efficient and responsive. I cannot praise the staff high enough nothing was to much trouble for them especially the bar and restauraunt staff who were very knowledgeable about wine and food, they always took the time to tell you about the wine and food.(never having to ask them) A nice touch very well done to them.
In summing up - this is a beautiful, well run hotel and can strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moobmeister387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Moobmeister387

Thank you so much for reviewing Gisborough Hall here on Trip advisor. Your comments are fantastic and it is so delightful when guests acknowledge the hard work and dedication of our staff into making peoples stays here at the hall a truly memorable one. We have done a lot of training recently with our food and beverage and front office teams in regards to product knowledge and service and this is a shining example of our efforts. We truly hope to welcome you back here again and thank you again for taking the time to praise our staff and hotel in such a positive manner.

Regards

Lorella Negro
Operations Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a warm welcome we were directed through a slightly challenging maze of doors, halls and corridors to our first-floor room, which was large, comfortable, very clean, and certainly excellent value at the price which we had paid. We found however that the compact fluorescent room lighting was not bright enough for comfortable reading.

In the restaurant and bistro, food had been prepared from good quality ingredients; the cooking was good but variable. Service at breakfast and dinner was most courteous. Meals were priced up correspondingly: breakfast was at least £17.50 for example. Underwhelmed by the standard fried breakfast, which I would describe as British farmhouse or transport café style, I found an excellent alternative among the £2.50-extra options. At dinner, the highlights were the pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant, and the choice of drinks. The wine list was expertly compiled: even the least expensive choices (at just under £5 for a 175 ml. glass) were very good.

We agree with others that the staff in general are outstandingly friendly. Together with the character of the house (the furniture! the maps and pictures!), this made us feel really comfortable and at home. True, one of our nights was disturbed when a few well-lubricated guests made an inconsiderate racket indoors for a whole hour after 3 a.m. ; fortunately someone eventually brusquely asked them to be quiet. On the other hand, there were nights when the only audible sound was the occasional soft hooting of owls in the surrounding parkland.

We would return.

Room Tip: For the best deal. book directly with the hotel on their local phone number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fermi-Dirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Fermi-Dirac

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay at Gisborough Hall.

I am so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you would return. I have noted your comments regarding the lighting.

Thank you for your kind words describing my team as outstandingly friendly, we put all comments on our notice board and comments such as this really lifts them.

I was a little concerned that our cooked breakfast was likened to that of a farmhouse or transport café? We use the finest local ingredients and all breakfasts are cooked and plated to order: The breakfast usually gains very positive comments: Wensleydale bacon, black pudding from Thirsk, free range eggs, Northumbrian smoked haddock, Craster kippers and more.

I was happy to read your comments regarding our choice of drinks and wine list compilation, I am happy this complemented your meal so well.
We look forward to you returning soon.

Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing