We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much enjoyed revisiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gisborough Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much enjoyed revisiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our second visit having visited as a couple in about 2005. This time we visited as a family for a wedding but stayed for 4 nights.We really enjoyed our visit and the hostel was as good a we remembered. Friendly staff, very helpful and great service. The food was seasonal and of excellent quality and taste. The rooms were clean and of a very good standard. We stayed in the woodland wing which in the newer part of the building and slightly further away but the great design means it's an enjoyable walk and close to the main function room. However the design of the lay out of the Hotel meant that we could not hear the entertainment once we went to bed.This visit we enjoyed the grounds with our son plenty of space for him to have a run about and in the room for him to play. I also had chance to look as some of the rooms in the main house which were exceptional and as the pictures show. I also enjoyed the spar, this was the only slight disappointment, I would suggest treatments are booked in advance as the spar was fully booked and could not accommodate the treatments I wanted to book. I managed to fit in one short treatment and this was of good quality.
Over all this was an excellent stay in what I would recommended as the best hotel in this part of the country. The hotel is also within 30 minute drive of lots of good places to visit inc, Staithes, Whitby, Middlesborough, Grosmont, Roseberry topping, Great Ayton to name a few.
Also the views are stunning and natural.

Room Tip: For a feature room or if you don't want to enjoy a walk around the hotel chose one in the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Bluebellbutterfly
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, following your short break at Gisborough Hall.
I am delighted that you had a lovely stay at the hotel with friendly staff, great food and service. I am disappointed that the Revival Zone was busy and you were unable to book the treatments that you desired, next time that you stay and I trust that there will be a next time? Please call in advance and book spa treatments.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the future.
Best wishes
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    370
    109
    33
    17
See reviews for
163
843
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have yet to stay a night at Gisborough Hall, this review is for dinner at Chaloner's Restaurant. My husband and I went for dinner on Friday night, it was fabulous!

The front of house staff were friendly and attentive but not overbearing. We took G & T in the drawing room, which arrived with olives and almonds. We were given ample time to browse the menus and wine list. We ordered a glass of prosecco and a bottle of red to go with the meal.

The restaurant itself was already quietly buzzing with other diners, and was warm with a pleasant atmosphere. We were formally seated by the staff, and had ordered our meals before being seated, so awaited our starters. My husband had scallops with black pudding and chicken crackling, I had vegetable terrine with quail eggs and olive tapenade.

Our entrées were monkfish with samphire, accompanied by tomato and fennel risotto. Also duck breast, with fondant potato, asparagus and cauliflower purée. Both were very well cooked and flavoursome.

For dessert, my husband took the cheeseboard which was very good, I delighted in the chocolate tart, which was oh sooo good, accompanied by chocolate and thyme ice cream, and tiny vibrant cubes of blood orange jelly.

We only wished we could retire upstairs to one of the rooms! Maybe next time......

Thank you Gisborough Hall, we're looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadylawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Shadylawns
It was lovely reading your review of Chaloner’s Restaurant on Tripadvisor. We are more used to reading hotel reviews, it was great to read yours relating to dinner on Friday night.

The restaurant has been recognized with 2 AA rosettes for quality and seasonality; I am so pleased that you have found us!

Depending on time of year and day of week, we have fabulous deals at the hotel, it would be lovely to have you stay with us sometime and enjoy the restaurant, room and perhaps the spa?

Thank you once again for your lovely comments.

Best wishes

Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want a Great two or three day break, then you could not have a better hotel than this on the East Coast, The staff and level of service are excellent, rooms are great, and the food in the Restaurant is very good, at Breakfast it's not Buffet for your main course it is cooked to order and served. This was our first visit to McDonald Hotels, but it certailly will not be our last. Give this Hotel a try you will not regret it.

We are a Couple of Seniors, enjoying what we can.

Room Tip: Any room in the Hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callawaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear callawaygolf
It was kind of you to post such a positive comment on Tripadvisor following your recent short break at Gisborough Hall.
I am so pleased that you found all aspects of your stay so comfortable and pleasing; we will look forward to welcoming you back to Gisborough Hall and Macdonald Hotels in the future.
Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We only stayed 1 night on this occasion but will certainly be staying longer next time. We arrived after a long very foggy drive from Lincolnshire too early to check in but enjoyed relaxing over coffee and sandwiches in a very comfortable lounge. Our room was in the woodlands wing, as already mentioned a bit of a trek but caused no problems to us. The bathroom was huge and the bath was fantastic. Room was comfortable and very quiet. We had a meal in the Bistro which was very nice (the ginger Parkin & ice cream was to die for!!). Breakfast was fantastic only problem the choice was too large for me. The view from the restaurant was lovely over to the moors, all the more fantastic as we saw none of it the day before due to the thick fog.

Room Tip: Check where you room would be if have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Sue S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Gisborough Hall. I am delighted that you will be returning, hopefully the sun will shine and you will enjoy other dishes in our restaurants as tasty as the Ginger Parkin Ice Cream!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend recently and treated ourselves to two nights in the Admiral's room, which is in the original building and just above the front entrance. We loved the room with its porthole and forecastle. It also had the added benefits of a firm bed, powerful shower, a makeup mirror and complementary sherry! We were very impressed by the standard of service we received throughout our stay, especially in the Chaloners restaurant from Ashley. We were disappointed to find we couldn't make a reservation for dinner around 7.30/8.00pm when we arrived and had to wait until 8.45pm, so I would recommend prebooking your dinner reservation. It is certainly worth eating in the restaurant as the food is delicious and perfectly presented. Breakfast is also one of the best I have had recently, my eggs benedict was perfect! We visited Ormesby Hall, Yarm and Saltburn by the Sea during our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel based on our enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Perfumelady1
Thank you for giving us “top marks” following your recent stay at Gisborough Hall. I am so pleased that your stay in the Admiral’s Room was comfortable.
The restaurant tends to be very busy between 7.30pm – 8.30pm. Our meals are cooked freshly and to order and we can only cater for a finite number of guests at any one time. Pre booking a time for dinner on your next stay is an excellent idea.
I am pleased that you will be recommending our hotel; we hope that you will soon return.
Best wishes
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay. This was our first visit to this hotel but, hopefully, won't be the last. It is a lovely hotel with its own unique style. Standard of service is consistently high supported by well trained staff who are also friendly and pleasant in manner. The Chaloner Restaraunt is worth a special mention for its fantastic cuisine which is "a beauty to behold" in its presentation as well as tasting wonderful. Breakfast was excellent also.
All in all, a good quality hotel which goes the extra mile in providing good standards and fine dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_B499552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear John_B499552
Thank you for posting your review of Gisborough Hall and Chaloner’s Restaurant on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that your recent 2-night break was so successful.
Thank you for all of your kind comments, particularly regarding our high standards of service and excellent cuisine.
We hope that you will return in the near future.
Best wishes
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am currently a guest in the hotel as I type this, the hotel is HUGE the walk from reception takes about 10 mins which is fine for me as I am young able, so top tip if your not the walking type don't stay in the woodlands wing. The hotel is very luxurious and steeped in history but to be honest I find it a bit too 'posh' ie the food in the restaurant is very fussy and in some cases over presented and the average client base seems to be ''George and his hunting friends'' who seem to speak too loudly and belly laugh a lot, which is fine if you like that sort of thing. That's not a bad point I am just saying the clientele are either upper middle class or desperately want to be, the only bad point I can honestly think of is that room service is sandwiches only which is not much good when you finish work late and have missed dinner.

* Also there is no WI-FI in the woodlands wing its a cable connection only- not much good for the IPad !!!

Room Tip: if you stay in the woodlands wing and arrive back at the hotel after 10pm you'll find the rear d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copta_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Copta_Doctor
Firstly, I am delighted to read that you “would certainly stay again”, though a little puzzled by some of your comments.
We endeavor to deliver service at the highest level of the 4* market, the dinner in Chaloner’s Restaurant has been awarded 2 AA Rosette’s for quality, seasonality, locality… A simpler though no less tasty offering is served in the G Bar and Bistro.
Our customer base is widespread, from guests on short leisure breaks, to week long holidays, corporate guests and those attending events at the hotel or in the local area.
We offer free WI-FI in the public areas, the bedrooms simply offer free internet access via cable, and however BT Openzone is available throughout however this is chargeable.
I would be grateful if on your next visit you discussed with my restaurant manager your comments on our late night offerings, we would look at alternatives for you that the night staff could prepare, e.g. soup or perhaps a pre-ordered salad.
Kind regards
Kim Yardley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
15.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
13.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall Hotel

Property: Gisborough Hall Hotel
Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors in the market town of Guisborough yet close to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn-by-Sea is Gisborough Hall. A stunning, ivy-clad, period building with all the features to make you feel like Lord and Lady of the manor. When you're not exploring the fascinating local area, back at the hotel, our attentive team are happy to run around after you, serving our renowned afternoon tea or deliciously cooked evening meals, prepared using the freshest finest ingredients. A picture perfect wedding venue both inside and out, special memories are created at Gisborough Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Gisborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing