We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of The Fox & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox & Hounds
Ranked #2 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent stay.
OK - no mobile signal, but alright in carpark. Internet connection was good though.
Room was very comfortable (no noise at all!), clean and well appointed.
Food was very reasonably priced, tasty & plentiful.
However - single lady with three heavy bags - no offer to help carry, even up the stairs.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed a last minute business stopover and this was recommended. I thought it would be a Premier Inn until I arrived to book in. At £42 with breakfast it was less than half the cost of a P inn the previous night, but lacked some of the amenities.

Room 9 was large, clean, warm, bright. A couple of times in the night I heard a loud noise - possibly an industrial fan kicking in as I was over the kitchen.

There was no discernible mobile signal in the pub or general vicinity - a big negative for me. There was a 'Walkinwifi' signal but my IPhone would not connect so I had no emails.

The food is good. The Thursday night Calvert is popular at about £7 for a good main course. I ate a 10oz sirloin and trimmings in the bar for under £20.

I drove to a nearby town to get a signal and make calls. Returning at 11.10pm I just made it inside as the landlord locked up. Otherwise there is a key to the fire escape!

As a cheap local solution for one night, it would have been fine if I hadn't needed mobile/ email.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bootsontheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Fox & Hounds looks as if it seen better days. The decor looks dated and shabby in places but everything was clean and tidy.
In terms of plumbing, the shower was luke warm and a fast dribble, the bathroom fan was noisy (as was the adjacent rooms which was clearly auditable during the night)
The room was small but perfectly adequate which couldn't be said for the TV, which had a screen the size of a laptop screen and unfortunately could only pick up 9 TV channels (apparently TV reception is poor in that area, so forget "Dave" etc)
No radio, no ironing facilities
The floorboards are shocking - despite being carpetted, everywhere you walk you cause the floorboards to creak. All night you will here the dance of elephants as fellow guests move about the hotel (more of a big guest house really)
The food isn't bad, good range on offer at night, ample cooked breafast in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there one night during a storm. It is currently undergoing some external remedial work so there is scaffolding up, but that was not a problem except you didnt feel safe to leave the window open in the room. The place was full so we did get the last room in the extension which had a bit of a damp problem. They really need to look at the plumbing! The rattling was really loud in our room and our neighbours whenever we turned on the taps. Also every step on the corridor outside and every door creaked. It didn't help that there was a large party there who decided to come to bed loudly at 12.45am. The food was really lovely. It is cooked to order, so we were over an hour from ordering to eating as the large party was served first. I think the small kitchen was overwhelmed that night and we probably should have had the remains of the carvery, but at 8pm it didn't look at its best. Some staff were lovely and had good customer service skills. There did seem to be a bit of tension amongst them, perhaps because of the number of guests. We would probably look for somewhere else if we went to Guisborough again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we are a family of 2 adults and 2 boys,we have stayed here a few times when we go to redcar family race days,its a lovely friendly place to stay,the rooms are very basic but its ok for 1 night,staff are lovely and friendly,the garden area is nice but would be nice to have some swings etc for children,the food is beautiful,weve tried different things but the carverys a must!we would recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A few friends and I stayed here in mid March 2013 as we were attending a wedding ten minutes drive away. Good sized double room with windows to the front, comfortable bed, warm , nice shower in the ensuite.
Had a very nice breakfast the next morning, fruit, cereal, porridge, toast and a full english were all selected from our group of four. The dining room was light and filled with sunshine on the morning. The lass at reception and the young lad who served breakfast were both very helpful and friendly. We were amused that for about half an hour the background music was stuck on an Adele track that was played over and over. This did make us giggle a bit. We all enjoyed are stay and if we are over that way again would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durhamhiker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed just one night but would not stay again. Firstly on arrival at 2pm, i had to wait ages to get some attention to register. No-one seemed remotely interested in customer service at this place.

The only positive was the fact i was given the Bridal Suite which included the huge french tub. This made for a gorgeous deep bubbly bath which was superb. Outside of that - the room was awful. Dated and damp, uncomfortable bed, and unbearably creaky floorboards. Every time i moved i felt i was waking up the whole hotel!

No plugs anywhere near the mirror in the room, so had to drag a really heavy mirror from the bathroom so i could dry my hair.

Free WiFi is promised but is so slow its simply not useable and the location means that virtually no mobile telephone signal either.

Breakfast promised fresh fruit bowl - but it was just tinned grapefruit and prunes as the fruit offering.

I would say the staff need some training in customer service and the whole place needs a complete upgrade and makeover!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
4.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
1.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,508 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#3 of 5 in Guisborough
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Hounds

Address: Slapewath, Guisborough TS14 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Hounds 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fox & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing