We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Clean Relaxed home from home feel”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very Clean Relaxed home from home feel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here whilst working away (i work away alot) it is not the biggest room ive had but very clean and relaxing. The bar and food was enjoyable lots of home cooked stuff. the staff were very friendly and welcoming. a real classic home from home inn

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilly5384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    13
    10
    13
See reviews for
12
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our third visit for Sunday lunch within the last 6/7 weeks. We returned because we found the meal tasty, plentiful,with fresh vegetables and reasonably priced. I particularly like a carvery because I can have good portions of vegetables. But I won't be going back after yesterday's performance. A good meal absolutely ruined by the ambiance The chap who was in charge conducted business with a noisy group in loud voices.[ surely this should have been done in private] Then he proceeded to throw empty bottles into a tub behind the bar making a hell of a din. But then we had to endure extremely loud music blaring out. We left and so did the other couple on the next table..A desert was out of the question. I won't be going back..The barmaid was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
682 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst walking part of the Cleveland Way. The rooms were fresh and pleasant to sleep in. I didn't have an evening meal here but the breakfast was fine, I particularly liked the pre orderin concept on arrival, which I realise wouldn't suit everyone, but for those like me who are set in their ways and have the same thing for breakfast each day and are able to state the time they want it then it works a treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Fox Inn on a Groupon deal and it was good value for money, 2 nights B&B for two what more could you ask for for £59, and the breakfast was excellent and so were the staff, yes it was noisy on a night time but you could always go downstairs and join in with the karaoke, our shower wasn't working properly but the staff were very obliging and we used the one in another room, the place is in an excellent location as well a few restaurants around and the Main Street around the corner, all in all we had a very enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For the price we paid there can be no complaints. As the other positive review suggest the staff are very friendly and polite. We could bot rave over the food as it was basic pub grub and maybe are tastes are a little bit more refined than the Teeside culinary classic of breaded chicken with bechamel sauce, hmmmm.
We were told the the best place to go for a drink was The Anchor pub as it was/is very cheep Samuel Smiths drinks. Go it the locals are friendly.
As for The Fox, yes for the price we paid £45 for two x2 including breakfast both days it was value for money but not for the rack rate advertised. Guisbourgh is a lovely place for pubs, charity shops and friendly locals but not for good food, shopping or cultural excursions. Lets hope the high street doesn't close completely.

Room Tip: Get an en suite room or you will have to share a toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynpaulNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we stayed at the fox inn a couple years ago, yes was bit noisy but great staff and excellent value for money, the food was fantastic full english was amazing, only thing that put me off staying again is the ghost of a girl that freaked me out a bit, but i guess its an old pub so to be expected.
but i guess id defo stay again as it was worth it and we had a great time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much for them,the food was excellent. I was informed when I booked about the late disco and reminded again upon arrival. I would happily stay again. Tracey, Stuart and all the staff are without doubt the most welcoming group I have encountered in a long time. In fact anyone thinking about a short break I highly recommend the fox 5 stars

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andywri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
0.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,448 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
427 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
498 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Bow Street, Guisborough TS14 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing