We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went the extra mile”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Guisborough B&B and Inns
pinder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went the extra mile”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

It was our first stay here and we had heard it was under new management. Booking was very friendly and efficient and we were given a lovely room. It was a family room and more than adequate for my friend and myself.
The hotel and its staff were really friendly, we loved the bar and were aware of the disco which we missed unfortunately. All was quiet and peaceful on our arrival back to our room (though to be honest we wouldnt have minded a boogie if it was stil on lol)
The following day the staff were great with our breakfast having it all ready when we were, this is where they excelled and the food was gorgeous.
Our experience of this hotel was great and we will certainly be back, thankyou so much

Room Tip: We liked the familt room even though there was only two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolePinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    13
    10
    13
See reviews for
11
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Tracey & the tram are very friendly, always a smile, food is hot & tasty, room clean, I think the fox has recently changed hands, looking at other reviews I was worried, but all was fine, I would stay again, good value & warm

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived and had to wait 10 minutes in the bar during a disco before we were shown to our room. A very basic room, towel rail fell off once towel was placed on it. There was a disco downstairs which continued until 2am each morning with the vibrations of the bass felt through the floorboards and a noise level that compared to loud speakers in the bedroom. An adequate breakfast but nothing special. Friendly staff but this did not make up for the other inadequaces. Not recommended for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraggle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guisborough hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Arrived to check in with only one girl available to serve at the bar and deal with guests. The room was shabby and there was mould in the shower. On both nights there was a disco downstairs that went on until after midnight. We would not have heard a nuclear explosion 50 metres away . Every moronic thud of the disco could be felt as we were elevated with each bass beat. On the morning of departure the duvet cover opened; my dog would not have slept on that duvet. It was filthy. The breakfast was edible if the plastic sausages were avoided. The staff themselves were very friendly. NEVER AGAIN EVEN IF FREE.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank HinInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

From the moment i arrived to the moment i left i wish i had booked longer than two nights,all the staff were excellent,especially Chrissy and her fella,great company.kitchen staff were brilliant.Nice room, comfortable bed,in fact everything you would wish for.thankyou so much.Bill Moffat

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billmo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This was my first trip to the UK and Guisborough, the Fox Inn is located just off the high street and is a wonderful B&B stay, the staff and owners are warm and charming. This was the beginning of a RTW trip I did, so I was back packing, when I asked the owner where to find a laundry mat, (sorry I have forgotten her name), she told me if I could wait a bit they would let me use their W & D, very personable service, you feel like you are staying with your favorite relatives. The food at the pub is good at a reasonable cost, but do make sure you try the Indian restaurant up the street and Peter and Collins Chinese around the corner. Loved the High street market on the weekend, great to experience the sites and sounds. When I return to Guisborough the Fox is were I'll stay. The Fox Inn is bloody champion!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunSunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Rooms were clean, staff friendly and all meals were of a very high standard.

I was welcomed by friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble.

A good value hotel which was just what I was looking for - when in North East on again I will be going back to The Fox.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelvisitorSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guisborough
0.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
4.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Bow Street, Guisborough TS14 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Guisborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing