We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judge for yourself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Judge for yourself!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

For me, luxury is about attention to detail - you will have to make your own judgement on this place - which incidentally is a £7 taxi ride to Yarm, probably more when the traffic is busy.

Mmm.... Stayed in the new "stable block" it has been done up to a high standard - but that is not kept up. The tiled floor is high gloss, but with mop marks all over it - which does somewhat ruin the desired effect.
We had a 2 night stay and the room was not 'done' after the first night, so we made our own beds and cleaned out cups etc. The tea and coffee basket had a bus ticket in it dated 3 weeks earlier - so no one had checked it for a while..which does not say luxury to me!
The breakfast is a choice of cereals and on both mornings out of date muller type yogurts, the cooked breakfast was a no choice affair with some cheap ingredients, but not the sausage which was good. Also, worth noting that breakfast is an added extra of I think £7.50 each - not worth it - go into a cafe on Yarm main st and you will get better and cheaper

The downer for me was the fact our bathroom had not been cleaned I know this because the previous occupant's shampoo and conditioner were still by the basin and - this is not for the squeamish - the previous occupant's poo was in the loo - only a small amount, but it should have been cleaned. There is no soap in the bathrooms, we know this as our friends also commented on it.
You do get offered a drink of wine or a beer, the wine itself was not very nice, but it is a nice gesture.
I know it is a family home - but I didn't really expect to circumnavigate the large pile of shoes at the bottom of the stairs to their living areas?
Oh and what you should definitely know is that there are interconnecting doors to the rooms on either side- through which you can hear a little too much! We had a drunk couple rowing about 2-3 am - I got so fed up that I just banged on the door and shouted back at them.
I will try and up load a couple of photos, but may to ask for help from hubby for that. We paid £183 for 2 nights, not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulcaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    88
    48
    31
    58
See reviews for
37
226
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

cannot believe any reviews...
don't be excited as you won't be staying in the mill building. it's an extension to the rear and it's seriously outdated (not talking about antique/beautiful)
i was mislead to believe that i am getting a luxury(as stated) double room for my first date night with a beautiful french gf but ended up splitting up that very hour we entered this cheap place.
beds were not clean, linens were not changed. there was food particles and stains of blood and tissues under the pillow
as well that they gave me a twin room knowing that a well presented couple are checking-in.
complained -reply was i just came on shift, i will let them know
asked for a iron, told to bring the clothes down all the way from outside to the iron belongs to a house(not hotel i understood) with lot of holes on the ironing board which i had a convince her and take it myself upstairs and was asked to bring it back when done.
clean shower rooms but i wont be staying inside the shower room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RooEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yarm hotels

Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed for the 2nd time at The Old Mill and I'm very happy to report my stay was a lovely as the 1st time if not better! Andy and Zoe were as welcoming as ever. I stayed in room 1 this time which is adjoining the windmill, great room and spotlessly clean.

This time we went into Yarm rather than eating at the pub at the end of the lane, ate at Santoros restaurant can't recommend it enough, not cheap but really worth the money!

Having stayed before we brought out swimming things to have a dip in the outdoor jacuzzi which was nice after we got back, bottle of wine in the spa went down a treat.

Andy looked after us for breakfast which I must say was even better than last time I stayed, Andy was telling me they'd found a new local farm supplier for there bacon and sausage - a1 breakfast and too much to eat. As always nothing was a problem, really after great hosts, I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irisheyesaresmilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The staff made us all feel welcome with the complimentary drink on arrival. We where shown to our room which was room 2 family room, very comfortable, and nice modern bathrooms. Breakfast spectacular with lovely local sausages which I believe makes a decent breakfast.
Thanks again for making our stay great, the hot tub in the garden was lovely and you are allowed to take your own alchol with you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would just like to thank all the staff at the old mill for a wonderful stay, really enjoyed the set up of breakfast which we all shared a very large breakfast table, the rooms are modern and clean and I would recommend the local pub for food.

Room Tip: Book Room 1 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs503721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here on NYE 2012. I worked late and got to the hotel around 8:30. I received an email from the reception that my key to the room would be behind the door on the reception because the reception would be closed after 6pm. We weren't doing anything special in the night, It was booked late minuet just to get away for the evening. The room itself was really quirky. We didn't actually go into mill but it did look really cute and quirky. The bathroom in the room was brilliant. Lovely and warm. Had everything we need. We will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this lovely B+B with two colleagues and was delighted with the quirkiness! My room was warm and comfortable with a good bed and crisp, clean linen. A flat screen TV and hospitality tray completed the room. The bathroom again was clean with a power shower in a stand alone cubicle (no bath) and the towels were large.

You won't find your little extras here like a ironing board and hairdrier in every room but these are available from reception. If you are fussy about what you wash your hair with, you'll want to bring your own too but then I do that wherever I am going!

Breakfast was lovely; the full English is cooked to order and there is yogurt, cereals, toast and jams if you're going continental. Take time over breakfast to chat with the owners, they are lovely people who genuinely want to make their guests as comfortable as possible and have an amusing story or two to tell as they go!

Not to be missed is the pub down the lane - we only went for a drink but the food looked good!

Will be back...

Room Tip: Speak to the owners directly and tell them what you need, they are so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love-the-weekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
869 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
391 reviews
2.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#7 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
48 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Yarm, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing