We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absalotuley amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My stay at the old mill was fanstastic. Zoe and Andy were very welcoming and lovlely. i felt very much at home. i would definatley reccomend it and stay again. not only was it a lovely stay but the site is amazing, the staff are well trained and extremely helpfull. Zoe and Andy sat and drinks in the guest lounge with us and we certinly will be visiting again with our friends, one good thing is that you can take your own drink and just sit with your friends and have a really cost effective night, the reception staff allowed us to light the fire and gave us some glasses you enjoy the guest lounge. Apparently you can use the barbeque area in summer and have your own

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 398 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The biggest let down is the anticipation being changed to disappointment i suppose.
It is not that bad a place, about like a Travelodge, but you get the idea that it is going to be all about a lovely quaint room in a windmill, when most people have a very basic room near, i say near, a windmill.
I live near a windmill, for goodness' sake so i could have stayed at home!
The management have a bad attitude, also and the staff were poorly trained and poorly selected.
It's not actually in the lovely village of Yarm either.
Enough, i think you get the picture. We will not be going back this century.

Room Tip: Find a better cheaper room elsewhere i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liveonelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night as a mid way stop, we hoped to stay in the mill, but it was not possible, we had Room 2 just outside. We were able to park our car right outside which was good, the room was fine as was the breakfast. The only downside was that the towels were very worn, better towels would be nice and decent toilet paper! Only small things but they make a big difference. The Fox Covert just down the lane serves excellent food, and the service was also good. All staff at the Mill were lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polarlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

on our way home we decided to stay out one more night and came across The Old Mill. Zoe and Andy were lovely and welcoming. We felt at home. The room was lovely. Our son (who is only 6 and very excited) thought the room was "Woooooooonderful". The English breakfast was beautiful. When we got home our son was in tears because we had left the Bed and Breakfast and wants to go back for his birthday in February rather than have a birthday party. Would we go again ?- yes

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is advertised as an unual place to stay but you do not stay in a windmill but what looks like a barn convention.
On the plus side it is well kept and the breakfast full English.
A very reasonably priced Evening meal can be found at the Fox Covert PH which is about 50 metres away are good and serve a good pint of Deuchers or Black Sheep.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the old mill mid week, my daughter had an interview at Teeside uni at 8,30 am , we were only driving from scarborough but deceided it stay over the night before so she could get a good nights sleep and we wouldnt have to leave home at 6am . We arrived at about 730pm checked in and were shown to our room i have to say the furniture and certainly the carpet had seen better days (really badly stained ) time for a wash and brush up i think ! but .the room was really WARM and the bedding clean . My daughter was not well with a sinus infection so we just stayed in and watched tv the room got hotter and hotter we tried to turn the thermostat down on the radiator but it didnt work :( by 11 30 we were both so hot we thought we were going to human combust !! .and my daughter could barley breathe..we had to open the door for for 10 mins to cool down the room..... so much for a good nights sleep! We went to
breakfast exhausted at 7.15am .. to my amazement ,we sat at a school hall table with strangers drinking mugs of tea (quit strange ) although i have to say the cooked english breakfast was very good ! and gentleman and the young man serving it were very pleasant too,.... would i stay here again ?,,,,,,,, probably not .!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e7wlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

this has to have been the best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in. it was very friendly and welcoming, the lady on reception was very chatty and the owner went out of her way to accomodate us(i forgot to pack a clutch bag to go out on the evening so the owner lent me one of her own which i thought was very nice of her). we stayed in the cranary which was lovely and very clean, we got complimentry drinks on arrival and were invited to join the owners for another drink before we went out for the evening. breakfast was a full english cooked by the owner herself and it was delicious. overall i would rate it 10 out of 10 and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
2.1 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
380 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#15 of 21 in Darlington
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range: $57 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Yarm, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing